Customer Reviews


328 Reviews
5 star:
 (178)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to make the game great yourself!!!!!
Halo 2 on Xbox live, ofcourse its gonna be quality. If thats your main selling angle for this game then you're in for a real treat. I'm going to hopefully give a fresh angle on single/cooperative mode.
The WOW factor of the first Halo is always going to be hard to reproduce. The graphics are slightly improved (apart from some dodgy pop-up in the early cut scenes)...
Published on 31 Mar 2005 by Mr. K. T. Johnsey

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing
Okay first of all let me start by saying how much of a fan i am of the first halo game. The first halo was excellent and was everthing you want in a first person shooter.
Now the best word to describe halo 2 is disappointing.
When i first put the disc in and watched the introduction scenes i was gobsmacked. i thought could this possibly be the best game i'm ever...
Published on 16 Nov 2004 by Simon Cornelius


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to make the game great yourself!!!!!, 31 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. K. T. Johnsey "kris69" (Newport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halo 2 (Video Game)
Halo 2 on Xbox live, ofcourse its gonna be quality. If thats your main selling angle for this game then you're in for a real treat. I'm going to hopefully give a fresh angle on single/cooperative mode.
The WOW factor of the first Halo is always going to be hard to reproduce. The graphics are slightly improved (apart from some dodgy pop-up in the early cut scenes) and there's a lot more going on in the background. I found myself staring out the window watching the space battle for a couple of minutes extra entertainment, but the game still ultimately looks and feels like halo.
The levels are still big and bad, but the biggest seem to be rolling vehicle battles, another element which has been focussed on and vastly improved, therefore you tend to get through them quicker (anyone remember back tracking quite a lot in the first halo?). ALL the vehicles can now be destroyed, there are more of them, and there are more to drive. There are more bad guys to kill, more insight into the covenant side of the story and you get to be the covenant. There are a lot more weapons, including grenade launchers and covenant sniper rifles, but the best part is dual wielding, where you can hold 2 weapons at once, the down side being that you can no longer throw grenades, an extra tactical element.
My annoyance with some of the reviews are that they're saying that the game is too short, then adding "granted I only played it on easy/ normal". Why would you want to just breeze through a game you just spent hardcore money on? put it on a hardcore difficulty level. The beauty of halo 2 is that there are checkpoints after every mini-battle, and once you get to a checkpoint progress is saved, so why not make that mini-battle hard as nails? At the end of the day, yeah multiplayer is good fun, but there is no better fun than playing co-op with a mate on the single player game, on LEGENDARY setting, and within 20 minutes you're screaming at each other until you get to the next checkpoint where the relief is as much as completing the whole game on easy level. Its the only way to play halo 2 and get the proper experience. It'll take forever to complete, it'll boil your blood and you wont even notice or care that the levels are slightly shorter in size to the first game, coz they've thrown in a lot more bad guys and this game is a lot tougher than the first, which doesn't make up for it, it makes it a better game. If you're playing halo 2 completely by yourself, do the same thing, stick it on legendary and within half hour you'll be throwing your gamepad on the floor, walking away from it red-faced, then coming back for more within 5 minutes coz you've had time to think about your tactics. Isn't that the sort of emotion a great game is supposed to bring out? Dont play it on easy, whats the point. You'll probably think the games too short and be disappointed. Stick it on legendary, get a mate round and play halo 2 the way it's suppposed to be played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!!!, 3 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Halo 2 (Video Game)
This game is unbelievably AWESOME.Greatest xbox game of all time!! When the first Halo game was released for Xbox only it was a whole new experience. It had a great plot, it was gruesome and had incredible graphics , It was just a great game.... until Halo 2 was released. The Halo 2 plot is even better than the first one. Covenant forces attack Earth in order to get revenge for the first halo being destroyed. Human forces on Earth are outnumbered- this is where MasterChief comes in! He is a genically modified super human- armed and dangerous!! You play the game from beginning to end as MasterChief whether you fight along side with other humans or alone. This game is definitely worth getting even if you don't like first person shooters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halo 2 better or worse?, 15 Oct 2005
This review is from: Halo 2 (Video Game)
I'd say a definatley better game than the original. Yeh the levels may be the same in some peoples view but it offers a vast range of new capabilities.
The weapons and viechles!!! Amazing from road to air - in my opinion one of the best parts of the game.
And the multiplayer doesnt loose its touch either, so many maps, and with the map expansion you won't get bored for hours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 16 Nov 2004
This review is from: Halo 2 (Video Game)
Okay first of all let me start by saying how much of a fan i am of the first halo game. The first halo was excellent and was everthing you want in a first person shooter.
Now the best word to describe halo 2 is disappointing.
When i first put the disc in and watched the introduction scenes i was gobsmacked. i thought could this possibly be the best game i'm ever going to play.
The intro really gets you into the game immersing you straight into the storyline.
The first level aboard your space station is excellent and is just what you might expect from the game. The space station is being boarded by the covenant and you must defend it. Straight away you get to see the much improved A.I. with the marines taking cover and actually managing to kill a few of covenant.
The next few levels are again quite good as these are set on earth which really provides a guerilla warfare scenario. The marines drive you around in the warthogs which allows you to man the gunner turret.
I thought at this point if this is what the first few levels are like then what am i in for later.
Unfortunately i wish i hadnt had asked myself that question as i was soon to be very, very....very disappointed.
The later levels offered very little in terms of variety and especially as you HAVE to play as the covenant which is not what im interested in doing.
When you play as the covenant the game seems to drag and you cant seem to get into it.
The replay value of the game seems to have dropped severly. I still play halo 1 and have completed it on every difficulty setting yet i can still go back and find it engrossing.
I have only had halo 2 for less than a week and cant see myself playing the levels ive done again. The levels get boring very quickly.
Many of the new features such as dual weapon hold and boarding which allows you to kick someone off a vehicle are quite good but not really enough to keep you going. I was especially disappointed with the melee attacks in this game as they are extremely weak. This especially shows during multiplayer games when melee attacks are used when charging down players.
The multiplayer levels are good as you'd come to expect and i can only say that this game was made for xbox live.
Ratings:
Graphics: 10/10 this area cannot be faulted
Sound: 9/10 again this area is excellent
Gameplay: 6/10
replay value: 5/10 not vey replayable
A definite try before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why to buy an Xbox, why to play games, why to live, 18 Sep 2005
This review is from: Halo 2 (Video Game)
Halo 2 answers all of the above questions, simply, it is amazing. For every one gamer out there, whether you like Fps's(First person shooters) or not, Halo 2 has something for you. If its not the raw intensity of chasing down a group of covenant grunts, it will be the depth of the storyline, the superb graphics, or the compelling music.
It is simply a MUST buy for any Xbox owners, and will be enough to convert many Ps2 player to the great black box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best and most importanty most FUN multiplayer ever, 26 Feb 2005
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halo 2 (Video Game)
If there is one thing I can't stand its a hype machine. I tried my best to stay away from the original Halo, for one it was on a MICROSOFT machine and two, the magazine lead hype machine was sickening. So a fair while after its release I found myself in my house, my housemates away for the weekend and an Xbox with Halo sitting there tempting me. So I booted the thing up to give it a blast. Now I'd not found an FPS that was so immediately fun since Goldeneye, it was supreme... plus it was backed up with an intense story driving the action on. Fully immersive gaming. I was grabbed.
Its a good while later and Halo 2 has surfaced AGAIN on a massive wave of hype. By this time I've added an Xbox to my GC and PS2 setup but decided to steer away from the hype machine again, frothing fanboys and whatnot. I waited a couple of months down the line and finally picked it up. So what does Halo 2 offer?
Well for one the storyline aspect of the game has been fully ramped up, all gloriously realised in one of the best graphics engines I've seen in a long time. I like a nice adventuresome one player game and Halo 2 does the business. Twists and turns are thrown in to the story line to great effect. Greater depth in exploring the motives and characteristics behind the Covenant and the Flood give the Halo universe an added dimention. While I played the game through I realised why it was a good decision NOT to investigate every morsel of information that there is out there for the game. The joy is in the experience, hence not dissecting the plot details here in this review. Some of the cut scenes such as the descent to Earth and the battles down on the planet are mindblowing.
The vehicles play a much greater part in proceedings. Scenes with many Warthogs buzzing around fighting with Ghosts and Wraiths are more frequent and a nice diversion to the foot based action.
When it comes to the mechanics of the game, its pretty much the same. The dual wield option for weapons is a nice new touch and something that adds yet another tactical play to the 'you can only hold two weapons at one time' approach. Pick up two handheld guns and you can start loosing off some serious damage, you do this at the expense of being able to chuck grenades around.
The health meter has been abandoned, your Master Chief has only his shield to protect him. If it goes down and you start taking flack, you're going to cack it so you have to take advantage of the terrain and hide. New weapons have been added to the game with grenade launchers, Covenant sniper rifles (which are LETHAL if you're on the recieving end of them) and fuel rod cannons giving a bit more depth to both sides methods of attack. Also you encounter a new breed of Covenant, the Brutes. Big viscious ape like creatures which are NOT fun to encounter when they bezerk.
The difficulty is nicely pitched, the levels again granting you a wider array of bad guys, weapons and scenarios to test you as the game progresses. Normal mode only provided a few stumpers and is pretty much on a par with the originals Normal mode, Heroic took me about 2 weeks to get through. Tactics have to be modified for this difficulty level, you just can't go wading into the action with any weapon and guns blazing. Legendary is a bit TOO nails for me right now! But there is something to challenge all out there.
The best addition to this game may even take this FPS past Golden eye in the legendary stakes. Not only can you gather around a TV with your mates to play, but you can take advantage of the Live online play. Ace. I love this because it gives me a chance to take on my mates who are scattered around various towns in the UK. Plus nothing beats taking on real people rather than a computer AI.
Now try your best and avoid all hype and opinion about this game. I've scanned through the reviews on this site to see some UTTER pish being spouted about the game ... if this can win over someone who HATES the hype engine then there has to be something to it. The game IS just as long, the one player mode IS just as good if not better for the added cinematic style, it IS just as challenging and it IS more rewarding. Some of the arguments against the game are about as superficial as you can get. If you're going to lay anything against this game it is the occasional pop up that happens in the cut scenes and the VERY occasinonal slowdown when everything gets a bit too hectic. This is all far and few between and such a little gripe to take away from what is essentially a simple yet rewarding experience.
Grab it, be astounded and don't let anyone tell you any different... you will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original, 15 Nov 2004
This review is from: Halo 2 (Video Game)
I was really looking forward to Halo 2 coming out. It arrived on November 11th, and I'd completed it within hours (spread over a couple of days). The game just isn't long enough. It's far too easy to fly through areas without having to fight anyone - simply run. I've heard that the online play is outstanding, but as I don't have access to XBOX live, I don't know. All in all, it's not as good as the original - yes you can drive more vehicles, play half of the game as one of the aliens, but it's just far too short. And as for the ending...there's never been such an anti climax in the history of gaming. Oh, and by the looks of it, there'll be a Halo 3 coming soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extreemly Dissapointed......, 12 Nov 2004
This review is from: Halo 2 (Video Game)
....that there will probably not be another game of this calibre for quite a while, nor probably on this generation of consoles. :-)
The intros between sections have a strong cinematic feel which that big film production feel. After only getting to the 3rd level up to now the sudden twist that occurs here supprised me. I won't put it here as it would be too much of a spoiler on an excellent level.
Graphically this game is simply stunning, DOT3 mapping with, from the looks of it view dependent mapping is fantastic. The only down point is that it is Level of Detail based (i.e. further away less detail) and some objects suffer from sudden increase in details. I can live with that though.
Sound is phenominal. From the brrdddppp of the SMGs, to the voice work of the Elites who have been to the James Earl Jones school of voice coaching.
The most important bit, game play. Well what can I say, smooth, think smootheness of Project Gotham Racing in an FPS. The weapons pull as you fire meaning you can't just aim and hold the trigger. The sword is excellent fun. Thankfully the jumping isn't OTT so the game isn't going to be an UT heavily armed pogo-ing ninja shooter.
And on top of that the live play is fantastic. After two hours of on line play I was suppised to find I really liked it (Ghost Recon and RS3 are more my on line game). The nice bit of hearing the opponents voices when near by is sweet. Creeping up behind someone they shouting boo before sticking them with a sword is groovey. Its fast,lag free with some very clever maps and some very good game modes. Up to now I've been playing slayer and capture the flag, I am looking forward to playing odd ball with swords on line.
The only down bit is a lack of co-op online and I would drop a star, but then you can't give a game 6 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halo 2 rules, 18 April 2006
By 
S. Walmsley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo 2 (Video Game)
Whoever on this earth doesn't have HALO 2 don't know what there missing. It is the best video game EVER made. The fast pace shooting action is thrilling and exciting. The storyline is dark and complex, with many twists and turns. The characters are diverse with the Master Chief, clad in green SPARTAN MARK V armour, the coolest and most awesome video game character. The Arbiter a troubled, duty filled ELITE who can turn invisible and silently exstinguish his enemies with his deadly energy sword. The enemies are tough and smart especially on difficulter level settings. With the alien races of Grunts, Jackals, Elites, Hunters, Brutes and Drones. Along with some forerunner sentinels and the divulged, sickly looking Flood. The weapons at your disposal are many from human rifles, rocket launchers and shotguns to alien sniper rifles, plasma guns and sticky grenades. Commandear vehicles like Warthogs, Ghosts, Wraiths, Scorpions, Banshees and Spectres, each with its own unique firepower and manuverabiliy. There are many levels to finish with hardcore FPS action. And if not all thats enough the multiplayer is SO AWESOME. Battling out against friends on FFA matches or working together in Team Games. You can split screen, system link or even test your skills to their fullest on Xbox live the best internet gaming thing ever. So if your reading this and you don't already have Halo 2 or 1 then get out there and buy it. Believe me if First Person Shooters are your favourite video game types then Halo will seem like a gift from god hence the title 'Halo'which is a ring weapon. So please don't waste time, please buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same from Bungie..., 18 Nov 2004
This review is from: Halo 2 (Video Game)
The original Halo game was a groundbreaking installment in videogame history, casting a shadow over all other first person shooters to date. The much-hyped sequel is no exception.
Halo 2 is basically a tarted up version of its predecessor - no more no less. The graphics are smoother and the sound is more atmospheric, yet in both cases they are near identical copies of the original character designs and soundtrack. You can play as a covenant elite in single and multiplayer, but there is no real difference to playing as the master chief. Its the same old first person gameplay at the end of the day. Oh, except you can turn invisible for 5 seconds instead of having a flashlight. Id say 85% of the game has been seen and done before in the orignal.
But to be fair, if you had never played Halo 1 before (problem: who hasn't...), then Halo 2 would leave you speechless for a month after five minutes of the rich scenery and classic gameplay. The scale of some of the battlefields in the sequel is something yet to be seen in any other video game. Think of the epic battle scenes in the first game and multiply. The detail and sheer size of some of the environments truly exhibits the XBOX's claim to the title King of the Consoles. Aint no way a PS2 could cope with some of the stuff witnessed here.
There are also nearly twice as many weapons and some imaginative new enemies with which to tango. As a result, even if you have played Halo before, there are a few new tricks and tactics you will need to develop to get through. As a veteran of the first game, having completed it on the most difficult setting, I started Halo 2 not on normal but one grade higher (heroic), but still managed to finish it within a week. Probably about 25-30hrs gamplay all in all.
The one and only fault with Halo 2 is that it is too much like its Pops. The four star rating above is an average of two marks. Five stars (and beyond) if you have not played Halo 1, three stars if you have. Either way, however, you will not be disappointed, and there is also a whole world of multiplayer to discover and extend the lifespan of this very accomplished and technologically advanced game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo 2
Halo 2 by Microsoft (Xbox)
27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews