Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars14
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:£12.09+ £2.03 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2002
Having never owned a Flight Simulator before i didnt really know what to expect from this game. But what i got has had me hooked ever since i bought it. The graphics are superb and the game play magnificant. Sure there are annoyences, like when you have just come back from a dogfight, downed 3 fighters and a bomber. Been riddled with bullets your engine is just about to pack in and your guns arent working. You approche the runway, are just about to touch down, when one of your wingmen, whom you have kept alive all through the mission just so you can have his expertise on the next "hop", ploughs straight into the back of you!! But dont get me wrong this only happens occasionly and you can put it down to one of the incoviniances of war. The online play is brillient. Pitting your skills against other humans over the world wide web is great fun, and highly addictive. The training missions are very good, and supply you with all the basic skills you will need to know to get started. Also the quick combat mode offers hours of practice and fun. I dont regret buying this game at all, and if you are like me a first time buyer this is deffinatly the game to start you off.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2001
As an avid user of CFS1 I looked forward to the launch of CFS2
As previously stated the excellent graphics, which are true to life, can become boring because all there is to see are the pacific islands. But this is where the realism kicks in.
Life was like that in the latter stages of WW2
If you prefer the european battle ground terrain you can import CFS1 scenery but why should you want to when the in-built mission builder allows you to simply create the mission of your choice ,totally self created..
I have never witnessed such a better combat flight sim
This is a world beater if only for the realistic sound effects
Well done MS
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2001
The scenery really is very realistic, and has hundreds of possible missions complete with medals, commendations, letters of condolence etc. It can be difficult to learn your way into initially, as I was test-flying the Microsoft Sidewinder FF 2 joystick at the same time (highly recommended for this, by the way). I had no experience with US or Japanese planes of this period, and found them quite challenging to begin with. The options for flying different planes are fun, and trying to take off from a carrier with a fully-laden Lightning just illustratates some of the problems they may have faced!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2001
Open architechture design, the ability to import aircraft and design missions along with the realistic flight emulation all make this a truely brilliant flight simulator. The MSFlight sim engine together with guns make this a fantastic experience for the flight sim fan. For once MS seem to have got it right! Amazing
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2001
Ace game which enables you to become part of the action . Can get tedious at times starting of with the crap wildcat but it gets better . Brilliant detail on all visuals . If your thinking of buying a combat sim , get this one and you wont be dissapointed .
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2000
A fantastic flying experience, much better than the oringinal Combat Flight Simulator
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2000
I've not played it for very long yet, but one can already say this game is one fine simulation in the same veine as the traditional Flight simulator. Very realistic (but this can be tuned down), beautiful graphics (although the sea and the islands of the Pacific get a bit boring after a while). Due to its realism I think this will mostly please realistic simulation fans (the satisfaction of mastering your plane and bringing down the bad guy), whereas those who prefer fast and easier action (more 'fun' maybe) should rather go for Crimson Skies (very good as well).
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2000
On first appearances this game seemed great. Unfortunately, once you get over the nice graphics you realise that there is something terribly wrong with the AI (usually about the fifth mission in a row that all your bombers crash into each other before reaching their target). As a flight sim it's great. As a combat simulator it isn't in the same class as something like Microprose's European Air War which is much older.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2000
EXCELLENT SIM,GOOD GRAPHICS(NEED TOP CARD),BETTER REALISM THAN JANES,TOUGH MISSIONS.COCKPITS AND EXTERNAL VIEWS NEARLY AS GOOD AS JANES WW2 FIGHTERS,OVERALL A GOOD EFFORT FROM MICROSOFT.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
I bought this fo the second time because I fancied a flight sim game. I had it a few years ago and enjoyed it for the most part, good missions, pretty good story-line. Unfortunately it doesn't work on my current computer - still XP but a quad intel with GT9600 graphics seems to be too much for this little game. Make sure it's compatible before you buy. But a good game when it works.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Customers also viewed these items

£14.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)