Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a different Jobim
In this wonderful record, Japanese music man Ryuichi Sakamoto and the brazilian couple cellist Jacques Morelembaum and his wife singer Paula, give us a different, more classy side of Tom Jobim's music. The album was recorded in Jobim's house, in fact Sakamoto used Jobim's piano, and you can almost sense the gently presence of the late brazilian composer. The point of this...
Published on 1 Oct 2002 by bagoas

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully subdued... and too samey
These are good musicians, playing some of the most beautiful music out there -for me, at least- yet the results are uninspiring. I don't know if one can overdo subtlety, or it's me simply "not getting" it. I certainly get nothing beyond a sort of pleasant brush lightly drawn over my ears.
Published on 18 Jan 2010 by Capucine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a different Jobim, 1 Oct 2002
This review is from: Casa (Audio CD)
In this wonderful record, Japanese music man Ryuichi Sakamoto and the brazilian couple cellist Jacques Morelembaum and his wife singer Paula, give us a different, more classy side of Tom Jobim's music. The album was recorded in Jobim's house, in fact Sakamoto used Jobim's piano, and you can almost sense the gently presence of the late brazilian composer. The point of this record seems to be to show that Jobim was not only the father of Bossa Nova! He was a great composer, of classic influence, one of he greatest in the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Jobim, 24 Aug 2008
By 
Ross Grueber (Felixstowe, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casa (Audio CD)
This has to be one of my all time favourite albums.

The material covered on this album contains some lesser known Antonio Carlos Jobim gems and the few better known ones handled with a different delivery by the Morlenbaums and Sakamoto. The other earlier Quarteto Jobim Morelenbaum album is much faster and not so polished as this. They have had time to perfect the style on this second outing.

The first track gives us a taste of what is to come. Ryuichi Sakamoto plays the piano with precision and delicacy whilst Jaques Morelenbaum's cello gently weeps into the microphone giving the feeling of a happy sadness.... If there is such a thing. Paula Morelenbaums vocals add that magic touch as though she is singing the song just for you.

There is a fine line between too much texture, and too little. The balance is perfect. The songs are all handled with the minimum of instruments which makes for a truer representation of the Genius of Jobim's song writing talents.

The album is wonderfully recorded at Jobim's house which adds to the acoustics and if you listen carefully on some tracks, you can hear a tropical bird singing along. The true hallmark of a fine recording.

Although this album is a posthumous collection of Jobim's creations. You can't help that feel that somewhere he is in the music.

If you like Jobim and the interpretations by other artists of his music in his other albums. I beg you to try this one, it has a completely different twist from the Girl From Ipanema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maravilloso, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: Casa (Audio CD)
No hay palabras para describir lo que la música de Jobim, extraordinaria de por sí, es capaz de sugerir cuando es tratada con tanta sensibilidad y ternura como la que aplican Morelenbaum/Sakamoto. Si cierras los ojos te transportas de inmediato a un atardecer junto a la playa. ¡casi puedes sentir la brisa y la sensación de que algo está a punto de pasar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True to Jobim, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casa (Audio CD)
Beautifully played Jobim classics. The mood is very relaxed. The arrangements are beautifully thought out. The performances are spot on and seems effortless, especially the vocals and piano. Apparently all the musicians had collaborated with Jobim and it shows. A stand out track is 'O Grand Amor' but they are all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Addition, 12 July 2012
By 
Alexander Gillan (Tuscany, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casa (Audio CD)
A classic addition to the plethora of Jobim interpretations.
Partially recorded in Jobim's house on his piano, Sakamoto's Debussy-esque improvisations blend perfectly with Jobim's sophisticated harmonies, while Morelenbaum seems to be genuinely improvising, finding those magical notes that make each track come alive.
Always moving, and frequently intriguing melodically and harmonically, with a wonderful sensual atmosphere, to my ears there isn't a weak track among these, and I rate this amongst my favourite albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully subdued... and too samey, 18 Jan 2010
By 
Capucine (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Casa (Audio CD)
These are good musicians, playing some of the most beautiful music out there -for me, at least- yet the results are uninspiring. I don't know if one can overdo subtlety, or it's me simply "not getting" it. I certainly get nothing beyond a sort of pleasant brush lightly drawn over my ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9655330)

This product

Casa
Casa by Antonio Carlos Jobim (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews