Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frantic death metal
Despite the change in line-up, with second guitarist Doug Cerrito leaving for the reformed Suffocation and ex-Nile member Derek Roddy taking over the drumming duties, Hate Eternal's second album continues to follow the frantic high-speed death metal template of their debut album Conquering the Throne. With every single song consisting of wall to wall 100mph blastbeats...
Published on 13 July 2005 by Jane Aland

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dont get too excited
well i think that people seem to be giving this album too much credit for what it's actually worth. I think that the only reason people feel the way that they do about this album and band is the fcat that it has Eric Rutan in it (ex morbid angel). Whilst i must admit that the vocal arrangements on this album are impressive and well thought out the overall album isn't very...
Published on 18 Jan. 2004 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frantic death metal, 13 July 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: King Of All Kings (Audio CD)
Despite the change in line-up, with second guitarist Doug Cerrito leaving for the reformed Suffocation and ex-Nile member Derek Roddy taking over the drumming duties, Hate Eternal's second album continues to follow the frantic high-speed death metal template of their debut album Conquering the Throne. With every single song consisting of wall to wall 100mph blastbeats Hate Eternal don't exactly have much to offer in the way of variety, but the sheer mind-numbing force of their hyper-speed metal ends up bludgeoning the listener into submission. Erik Rutan's vocals are a little generic, but King Of All Kings boasts an impressive number of twisted guitar riffs that stand up to Rutan's classic work in Morbid Angel and Ripping Corpse. A little too one-dimensional to truly rank as a classic death metal album, nevertheless if high-speed death metal is your cup of tea you'll be hard pressed to find a more brutal example than King Of All Kings. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evil, Monolithic, Vicious, and Superb!, 17 Sept. 2003
By 
This review is from: King Of All Kings (Audio CD)
Oh yes! This is where its at folks! This is one of the most brutal death metal albums ever produced. The previous Hate Eternal album was OK, pretty decent and well-produced death metal, but this has to stand out as one of the best albums I have ever heard. For sheer brutality, this album totally rips your head off from start to finish.
All the usual death metal nonsense is there (lyrics about Satan, childish artwork, lyrics about Satan, ridiculously fast blastbeats, did I mention the lyrics about Satan?), yet instead of sounding like a throwback to Obituary and Deicide, this album sounds fresh and invigorating.
Erik Rutan (previously of Morbid Angel, amongst others) handles all guitars and the vocals on this album, and boy can the man play! The massive sounding production means that, played at a reasonable volume on a decent stereo, this album sounds as loud as standing at the end of the runway at Heathrow airport. Derek Roddy's drums are impeccably mixed, my only complaint would be that Jared Anderson's bass sometimes gets a little lost in the mix.
The title track alone would be reason enough to buy this album, it is quite simply one of the best metal songs ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely powerfull death metal, 3 Jun. 2004
This review is from: King Of All Kings (Audio CD)
This album is extremely heavy. Only Cryptopsy can compare with the sheer weight of intensity of this music. All tracks here are
very solid songs. 'King of all Kings' is especially catchy. The production is highly flattened but everything is quite audible.
This album ranks as one of the top five death metal albums I've ever heard. Downsides are extremely corny, satanic lyrics and cover art but if you can get past that I would strongly recommend
hearing this, it's simply a level above most death metal in both musicianship and polish. By the way, this is also unrelenting, there are no slow interludes but still the music stays highly origional and complex even on full speed. If you don't like modern fast blastbeat style then forget it and buy metallica or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They are good... very good!, 3 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: King Of All Kings (Audio CD)
Death Metal perfection...
Rutan, Roddy and Anderson (now gone) can be proud of this relentless and crushing energy which they have translated onto CD for us fans to enjoy for ever more... thanks guys!
Stand out tracks: The Obscure Terror, In Spirit (The Power Of Mana)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars death metal saviours, 19 July 2005
This review is from: King Of All Kings (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
death metal was dying, no one can deny that, i hate to admit it my self but it was, then rutan left morbid angel and we all thought him very silly for doing so. oh how he made us look stupid when this beast of an album appeared and melts away your face in the opening 10 seconds of king of all kings. this album just doesnt let up its a relentless barrage of hate and continental sized riffs. bet hes laughing now at the sorry state of morbid angell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dont get too excited, 18 Jan. 2004
This review is from: King Of All Kings (Audio CD)
well i think that people seem to be giving this album too much credit for what it's actually worth. I think that the only reason people feel the way that they do about this album and band is the fcat that it has Eric Rutan in it (ex morbid angel). Whilst i must admit that the vocal arrangements on this album are impressive and well thought out the overall album isn't very listenable. First of all the drummer seemingly only does blast beats which after a while starts to make the music very repetative. Same with the guitar. It may be technical of whatever but it has a tendency to sound the same and when the two come together (drums+guitar) you get a mash of noise thats not very listenable at all. And i thought that this drummer (Derek Roddy) was meant to be the real deal! How dissapointed was I when i heard this performance. Wheres his variation? And Eric must have used up all his riff making ability with morbid angel cos i hear nothing worth my time here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Of All Kings (Limited Edition)
King Of All Kings (Limited Edition) by Hate Eternal (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews