Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dogs in drag
This has to be one of the worst (best?)B-films ever made. I love it! (Move over, Ed Wood, your competition is here.) Set in a storm in the Everglades or maybe the Bermuda Triangle), the inhabitants of a wooden shack (in other words, the mad doctor's laboratory)are terrorized by the doc's experiment gone wrong. In just this one film, you have all the ingredients of a...
Published on 5 Feb 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit silly
This film is a bit silly, but for the time it is OK, the shrews are just dogs in shrew costumes.
Published 4 months ago by David Cross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dogs in drag, 5 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Killer Shrews (B&W) (REGION 1) (NTSC) [DVD] [1959] [US Import] (DVD)
This has to be one of the worst (best?)B-films ever made. I love it! (Move over, Ed Wood, your competition is here.) Set in a storm in the Everglades or maybe the Bermuda Triangle), the inhabitants of a wooden shack (in other words, the mad doctor's laboratory)are terrorized by the doc's experiment gone wrong. In just this one film, you have all the ingredients of a totally great 69 minutes - bad acting, bad special effects (classic - the killer shrews of the title are dogs with bits of fur strategically placed in blobs on their legs and backs!), bad stock storm footage, and the bad dialogue to boot. The film was directed by Ray Kellogg, who was once a special effects master - the mind boggles...Starring in this cult-classic are none-other than James Best, Ingrid Goude and Ken Curtis (the producer), only the best of Hollywood. This is a definite one to watch, great for the inanity of it all. Buy it! (& don't forget the popcorn!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rugdogs-The Movie, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Killer Shrews [DVD] (DVD)
Thorne Sherman(James Best), arrives on an island to deliver supplies and pick up a passenger. Accompanying him is his first mate Griswold. They arent exactly given a warm welcome. Everybody is acting very shifty, and with good reason. Dr Craigis(Barach Lumas) and his associates have been experimenting in changing the metabolism and size in animals as part of their research into solving the worlds over population. Unfortunately, one batch of experiments goes very wrong leading to giant carnivorous shrews running amok. Soon the increasingly desperate, dwindling group finds themselves trapped in the research facility, with the hungry shrews surrounding the house on all sides.
This film is much better than its reputation might suggest. It is often labelled as one of the worst films of all time, a label it truely does not deserve. Okay, the giant shrews are just dogs in disguise, and the film might well have one of the corniest closing lines ever, but its a nice little character driven story, with some pretty good performances, and some real moments of tension, such as the hunt for the shrew in the cellar, and the survivors last desperate bid for freedom. Anyway, I thought it ingenious of the director to go down the route of using live animals as the creature menace, surely much more effective than using unconvincing stock projection.
Very underrated, and well worth investing in, especially if your a fan of 1950's creature feature or low budget horror in general. 4 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit silly, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killer Shrews [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film is a bit silly, but for the time it is OK, the shrews are just dogs in shrew costumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dogs in shrew suits, 1 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Killer Shrews [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this in the movies. And let me tell you this is really spooky for kids (or used to be.)
We find our selves on an island where a hand full of visitors, including us, find eerie from the beginning. Of course, from the title we are anticipating "you know whats" at any time. However, the visitors to this island have no idea what they are awaits them.

An experiment with the intent of correcting overpopulation has gone awry, et voilà killer shrews. These ravenous creatures must eat many times their weight daily to keep from starving. Moreover, I must say that Ingrid Goude (Miss Universe Sweden 1956) would make a tasty snack (not that I notices at the movies.)

Well the people are protected by adobe (mud) walls from the poisonous fanged carnivores (did I mention the fangs are poisonous?)

Wait, it's RAINING!

The Taming of the Shrew
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dogs in shrew suits, 9 Feb 2004
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Killer Shrews (B&W) (REGION 1) (NTSC) [DVD] [1959] [US Import] (DVD)
I first saw this in the movies. And let me tell you this is really spooky for kids (or used to be.)
We find our selves on an island where a hand full of visitors, including us, find eerie from the beginning. Of course from the title we are anticipating "you know whats" at any time. But the visitors to this island have no idea what they are in for.
An experiment with the intent of correcting overpopulation has gone awry, et voilà killer shrews. These ravenous creatures must eat many times their weight daily to keep from starving. And I must say that Ingrid Goude (Miss Universe Sweden 1956) would make a tasty snack (not that I notices at the movies.)
Well the people are protected by adobe (mud) walls from the poisonous fanged carnivores (did I mention the fangs are poisonous?)
Wait, it's RAINING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's old aint it?, 23 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Killer Shrews (B&W) (REGION 1) (NTSC) [DVD] [1959] [US Import] (DVD)
Well, I think this film is the most unrealistic plot and story line ever done! The flim starts of crap, to be frank! And the shrews them self, well lets just say don't chuck a bone their way and youl be right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Killer Shrews (B&W) (REGION 1) (NTSC) [DVD] [1959] [US Import]
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews