Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just class, absoult (...) class!, 1 Dec 2003
This review is from: Too Blind To Hear (Audio CD)
I first heard of Budapest on a BBC drama as they played themselves in the drama, I thought they sounded fairly good, so I went out and bought there album. Boy was I wrong, they sound amazing! This album is one of my favourites alongside "Damien Rice - O" and "Coldplay - A Rush of Blood to the Head" yes that's how good it is.
They have a Coldplay, Travis, Starsailor type music about them and they have all made it in the big time. The album is quite superb with the opening track "Is this the best it gets" being a favourite and "Life gets in the way" also standing out. The lyrics right throughout the album are really heartfelt and soothing, just what you need after a hard days work. The group just ooze class as the album continues with great tracks one after the other like "Save the day". This band if given the chance will explode to the big time and as long as the keep doing what they are doing I will certainly be a huge fan.
It is really an album to sit and chill out with, but defiantly buy this one its fantastic throughout, well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs that know how you're feeling..., 26 Jun 2003
This review is from: Too Blind To Hear (Audio CD)
The lead singer/songwriter of Budapest John Garrison, sounds really upset about something! 'Too blind to hear' features ten tracks and he sounds equally heartbroken and torn apart in every one, the music is slow, guitar based rock laden with string sections and moving choruses, they sound like Coldplay but with more sensitive lyrics and apparently a lot more sadness! It is however, a very accomplished album, all ten tracks are excellent, in particular 'Evade the pain' and the opening track "Is this the best it gets?" It will make you cry if you're not careful but I find it very relaxing and the insightful lyrics every now and then will sum-up a bad mood, for example "Life gets in the way of what I want to say.."
Pretty intense stuff but brilliant at the same time! You may not have heard of Budapest yet but I think they're heading for the big time, as were Coldplay or Radiohead at this stage of their careers, these are quality songs, definitely worth spending time and money on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely great!, 12 Sep 2005
By 
This review is from: Too Blind To Hear (Audio CD)
This is one of the best CD's I own! I bought it when it was released and it is still one of my favourites! Budapest have released another album after this one, called 'Head towards the dawn' which for somereason only has been released in Spain(!?). I guess they lost their record deal after 'Too blind to hear' didn't sell as well as expected, as well as some tragedies around the band members around the release of it mad them lie low for a while. They are performing live still, latest in January thay played the Garage in London. The new CD is available on some download music shops, but I hope one day to find it here on Amazon!
Anyway, just buy this CD if you haven't done it yet, it's the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year 2002, 19 May 2003
By 
Mr. C. Morris (Bracknell, Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Too Blind To Hear (Audio CD)
The first I heard of Budapest was on a free sampler CD. The track was "Life gets in the way" and from that moment I knew I was listening to a group that deserved to be as huge as Coldplay. Every track is a gem and I'm amazed that first single "Is this the best it gets?" was not a massive hit - then again it was rarely played on the radio so few will have got to hear it. Next single "Wake up call" is another great song but unfortunately is not likely to be the song to break their chart duck - it's just too good! I have a large CD collection but this is one album I have returned to time and again since I purchased it. Buy it and spread the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Debut, 21 Aug 2002
By 
Travis Megale (Calgary, AB, CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Too Blind To Hear (Audio CD)
Any fan of great song writing and melody infused songs will be pleased when they pop Budapest's "Too Blind To Hear" into their CD player. By the time the album's opening track, "Is This The Best It Gets", is finished, one will recognize that this band has that certain something that sets them apart from many of the others out there. Singer/songwriter John Garrison writes introspective and sometimes brutally honest lyrics that he sings passionately from the album's beginning to end with a sincerity that quickly draws the listener in and makes them feel as if they were the only one in the room. Along with Garrison's contributions, each member of Budapest brings something unique and essential to the ten tracks on "Too Blind To Hear". Chris Pemberton's piano is an especially welcome voice on many of Budapest's songs, particularly "Time" and "Nothing New" in which it is at the forefront of the mix. Genre-wise, one might compare them to Travis, Coldplay, or Radiohead, but let there be no mistake, Budapest is a band that others will be compared to before long. "Too Blind To Hear" is a brilliant debut from a band that has only begun to explore all that it is capable of doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Debut, 26 Aug 2002
By 
Travis Megale (Calgary, AB, CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Too Blind To Hear (Audio CD)
Any fan of great song writing and melody infused songs will be pleased when they pop Budapest's "Too Blind To Hear" into their CD player. By the time the album's opening track, "Is This The Best It Gets", is finished, one will recognize that this band has that certain something that sets them apart from many of the others out there. Singer/songwriter John Garrison writes introspective and sometimes brutally honest lyrics that he sings passionately from the album’s beginning to end. Garrison sings and plays with a sincerity that quickly draws the listener in and makes them feel as if he were singing to them and no one else. Along with Garrison’s contributions, each member of Budapest brings something unique and essential to the ten tracks on “Too Blind To Hear”. Chris Pemberton’s piano is an especially welcome voice on many of Budapest’s songs, particularly “Time” and “Nothing New” in which it is at the forefront of the mix. Genre-wise, one might compare them to Travis, Coldplay, or Radiohead, but let there be no mistake, Budapest is a band that others will be compared to before long. "Too Blind To Hear” is a brilliant debut from a band that has only begun to explore all that it is capable of doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 30 Aug 2002
This review is from: Too Blind To Hear (Audio CD)
This album is amazing, I strongly recommend it. In general, it's a quite mellow album and very easy to listen to. The lyrics are refreshingly deep and meaningful. Track 4, Life Gets In The Way, is quite simply the most stunning song I have heard in a long time...I have had this album for months now but that song still gives me goosebumps everytime I listen to it. I am normally left feeling short changed when an album only has 10 songs on, but not with this, each song is entirely different from the last, and each song is substantially long making it a good length album. Budapest are great guys and I'm glad things are taking off for them, they deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where are the talent scouts?, 3 Dec 2005
By 
Bird Man "Barfordian" (Warwick, Warks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Too Blind To Hear (Audio CD)
I first came across Budapest in a BBC drama where they played themselves and I immediately liked the music. We got hold of Too Blind to Hear (not easy) and it has remained a top 5 album for the whole family ever since. My 18 year old daughter raves about them and recently managed to catch them at a small gig in Stratford - but they were only the support band! Every track on the album is fantastic and they deserve to be up there with Cold Play and Travis. If you like A rush of Blood to the Head or The Invisible Band, then buy this - it is every bit as good. Where are the recording companies? They are missing out on a goldmine of songwriting and perfoming talent - look at all the 5 star ratings. I wish they would release another album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this before they're famous, 13 Sep 2002
This review is from: Too Blind To Hear (Audio CD)
This is one to get hold of soon - in no uncertain terms, these guys will be big one day. Rarely is something released that has the depth of feeling and diversity of mood combined with melodies that are accessible and have a really good shelf life. I'm no professional critic, but I haven't heard something like this for a while - and Coldplay should be pleased to be put in the same bracket. Sliced bread, best thing since Budapest. (Well, soon anyway)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album, but where are they now?, 10 Aug 2005
This review is from: Too Blind To Hear (Audio CD)
This album is perfect. I bought this album after stumbling across it in Edinburgh last summer (04). Brings back great memories everytime I play it. This album never gets boring! It's tender,powerful and extremely well crafted. I'd like to know where they are now. Are they still gigging??? Who knows!??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Too Blind To Hear
Too Blind To Hear by Budapest (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews