Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars17
3.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£39.95+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2009
This filter is good, well built and it does its job. There are better filters out there but you cannot complain about the price.

Pros:
1) Cheap.
2) Well built.

Cons:
1) Not the thinnest of filters.

I purchased this filter to fit on my 10-20mm Sigma wide angle lens, but have found that although there is no vignetting on its own, if I try to use this on top of a UV filter then there is vignetting and I have to take the UV filter off (not convenient at all). It must be said that this is not the filters fault; it is my purchasing rationale that was at fault here.

I have not experienced any real problems with his filter but would advise purchasing a thinner filter for wide angle lenses in the long run it's worth the extra cash.
66 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
Bought this a while ago and it's done many photos in many overseas locations. Pretty solid mostly, but one day the clip to keep it in place spring out and it fell apart. This was when I was unscrewing it and it was on a bit tight so the sideways pressure obviously popped it out.

I did manage to put it back together though and luckily I didn't scratch anything. Now I am a bit more gentle with it and it's fine.

So overall a good price, and if your gentle with your stuff it'll be just fine, but pros stay away.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2010
Broke two, by lightly just twisting the filter around, Going to another make next time.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
Bought this for my Sigma 10-20 to go on my Nikon D5100. As you'd expect, there's no problem with fitting and operation is standard - twist and shoot. I have no reason not to give five stars other than the yellow cast I get over some lighter objects. I'll happily give the filter five stars if this is my fault for not using it correctly, but as it stands at the moment I'd rate the filter as being 'okay'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
I bought this item, and was originally very pleased with the product. When I actually took it out for use, the polariser glass separated from the ring holding it to the lens, making it unusable. One day is all it took. Shoddy build quality, contacting buyer for a refund.

Avoid at all costs. I see I am the second person to suffer this problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
I bought this lens to go on the front of a Sigma wide-angle zoom. I wanted a screw-on circular polariser so that I could still attach the lens hood. Filters that slide into slotted holders don't allow this. It works a treat and I'm delighted. It works well to remove glare, saturate colours and 'blue-up' the sky. I recommend it, and why pay more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Hoya is a good make of optical glass and I have already bought other Hoya filters. It works as well as you might expect although, depending on the angle of shot in relation to the sun, sometimes the polarising effect is a little trickier to get right. That's experience rather than the lens though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Not the most expensive polariser out there but does a good job on the front of my Sigma 10-20mm lens. I haven't yet taken many shots at the 10mm end but so far no noticeable problem with vignetting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
The screw on for the lense is tricky but it eventually goes on. Their is no change in the view when turning the filter, seems more of a solid rather than circular.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2010
I have two of these filters, both supplied by Camera King, both work perfectly. Excellent valueHoya 77mm Circular Polarising Filter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)