Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Return To Roots, 3 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
Like most people who are interested in The Jeevas' debut solely on the basis of Crispian Mills' involvement, I was itching to see what the master would come up with. After an absence of 3 years or so, this is an awesome breath of fresh air. The tag line that will most likely pop up in the press is "'K'-era rock" which, I can say, is not totally accurate. While "K" rocked in an old-skool way, it maintained an edge of psychedelia that is missing from this record. Mills and his new bandmates (ex members of Straw)have produced an honest, clever and very thoughtful and thought-provoking record that plays to Mills' strengths - catchy, simple rock. Tracks like "Virginia" show that Mills has not lost his talent for an awesome riff and lyrics that drag you along to the end, while "Once Upon A Time In America" is pure melody and inspiration , bottled into 3.5 minutes of joy. The album closer, "Edge Of The World", shows a hint of Mills' old songwriting, and is simply a joy to listen to. Fans of rock rejoice - the King is back. Buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crispian still rocks!, 5 Oct 2002
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
i was a huge kula shaker fan, and was crushed when they split up. but crispian mills is back, still with the same genius. and this does sound like the same crispian but with a different edge. he still makes great music and writes great lyrics. but the jeevas are different. the indian influence in kula shaker is gone, and some of the weird instruments used in k are gone. the jeevas make simple music here and somehow they remind me of rock in the 60s-70s. u should buy this album and give them a try, cause they're really good. my fave songs were: "virginia", "teenage breakdown", and "silver apples". Crispian's back and he still rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 6 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
I bought this not knowing what to expect, having been a huge fan of Kula Shaker in the past. I thought that Crispian Mills had displayed such great song-writing skills and musical ability that the Jeevas might be worth checking out - I was not disappointed. Not quite as majestic a sound as Kula Shaker, but the music has moved on in a good way, and Crispian's vocals/guitar is unmistakeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jeevas - 1234, 13 Oct 2002
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
The first album by Crispian Mills' new band is a change from his days with Kula Shaker. There is a lack of Indian influence. But the things that made that band so brilliant and unique are still here - sublime rock melodies. Right from start to finish the album is basically rock anthems pure and simple with a very 'live' sound and all sounding as though they are from a past era. The only bad thing is that it's difficult to pick out any of the songs that should be obvious single releases as any of the 10 could be.
Buy it and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jeevas Rock!!, 18 Nov 2003
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
No they are not Kula Shaker, but they ARE brilliant! I have seen them play live and they are as good live as they are on cd. The fantastic 'Virginia' is so addictive that you have to listen to it again and again!
Yup, this is dance in your living room whilest trying to do the housework rockin music!
The whole album is full of vitality and fun, a joy to listen to. I cant believe anyone would not enjoy owning this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cowboys in the (music)..., 27 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
1234 by the Jeevas. A mixture of 70s rock and facial hair, Crispian Mills returns with his new line up (Dan McKinna and Andy Nixon) to create an album filled with energetic guitar riffs, catchy solos and beautiful melodies. Outstandingly good tracks in Once Upon a Time in America and Ghost (the up and coming single) make this album a fantastic buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only regret is that I didn't get this sooner..., 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
So glad I came across this while browsing for Kula Shaker material. Rock, pop, humour, poignancy... has it all in a ten perfect tracks. Straight into my all-time favourite albums-chart of all-time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy follow up, 17 Aug 2012
By 
furiouszed (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
I was a big fan of Kula Shaker all those years ago and, like other reviewers, bought this album on the strength of Mills's involvement. Now The Jeevas aren't Kula Shaker (and this album isn't 'K') but that's neither a good nor a bad thing. The style is different enough to distinguish The Jeevas as a separate band but similar enough to make sure Kula Shaker fans will almost definitely enjoy this too. 'Once Upon A Time In America' and 'Ghost (Cowboys In The Movies)' are stand-out tracks and I would also urge you to find a copy of 2003's Cowboys And Indians for a decent version of 'Have You Ever Seen The Rain?'. I wish Mills would get back in the studio but, while we wait, this is a good addition to his catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique., 31 July 2006
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
I'm quite picky in music, and this really hit the spot. They are immense, and all the songs in this album are 5 star in my media player. Highly recommended. Quality stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The daddy is back....., 27 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
If you loved kula shaker then you need this album! buy it!! buy it now! It is fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1234
1234 by Jeevas (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews