Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but frustrating for younger players
As new players on PS2 my children have really enjoyed Scooby Doo. The graphics and characters are really realistic and fun. However they have struggled with certain sections which even we parents can't get through. If you cannot finish a section there is no option to save the game - you have to go back out of the section to find a mystery bus which can be really...
Published on 9 Jan 2003 by DebbieS

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Fake
This item did not work and was most likely a fake- awful really got sucked in by the price, didn't return because so cheap
Published 5 months ago by J. Stanley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but frustrating for younger players, 9 Jan 2003
This review is from: Scooby Doo and the Night of 100 Frights (PS2) (Video Game)
As new players on PS2 my children have really enjoyed Scooby Doo. The graphics and characters are really realistic and fun. However they have struggled with certain sections which even we parents can't get through. If you cannot finish a section there is no option to save the game - you have to go back out of the section to find a mystery bus which can be really frustrating. Aside from that my children have played it the most of all the games they received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scooby-Doo!, 20 Mar 2003
This review is from: Scooby Doo and the Night of 100 Frights (PS2) (Video Game)
Don't you just hate it when people take a perfectly good cult kids show and attempt to revamp it? Yep, me too, but you won't be disappointed with this offering!
This game is an essential for fans of the original 'Scooby-Doo? Where are you?' series. It features all the classic characters, including the gang (of course!) and also a generous helping of the series' classic monsters. The game is superbly designed, with an array of areas to search and things to find. The fact that the voices are actually realistic is the icing on the cake. The only down side is that younger players might find some of the areas a little tricky to complete. On the up side though, the game is 100% Scrappy-Doo free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Playstation game I have ever played, 14 Nov 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scooby Doo and the Night of 100 Frights (PS2) (Video Game)
My favourite type of game: adventure. comedy. thrills. but absoloutely no sword thrashing and all those wrestling-type fights. And this game ticks all the boxes, and more. The storylines are hysterical and entertaining, while at the same time requiring you to think. The characters get really wonderful moves too, which makes this game all the more entertaining! If you love scooby doo, and adventure games, how could you resist this?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is great fun!, 19 Sep 2002
By 
J. N. Rendle (Her Majesty's Grand Brittania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scooby Doo and the Night of 100 Frights (PS2) (Video Game)
You don't need to be a child to play this game (well, chronologically, anyway!) This really is a great platform game. Featuring original voices ("Like - watch out, Scoob"!) you play as Scooby Doo where the objective is to munch up Scooby Snacks, and avoid (or bash) creepy monsters in the search for Monster Tokens. ("Row! Rits a Ronster Roken!")
The game gets more and more challenging as you move forward in the game, and players get awarded power-ups to return to levels they couldn't quite complete before. This is such a fun game - buy it and you'll walk away with square eyes wondering where all the time went.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scooby Doo and the Night of 100 Frights(PS2), 21 Aug 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scooby Doo and the Night of 100 Frights (PS2) (Video Game)
I recently purchased this game for my 9 year old son,here are his views.
The grafics are very good,i liked to find the professors inventions,the things that have kept me amused at the moment are trying to get to the super secret lab.I also enjoy getting the monster tokens and then taking them back to the monster gallery.I also like getting the scooby snacks.I do find some levels quite difficult to complete.
This game has kept my son amused for many hours and he really enjoys playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Golden Game, 22 Nov 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scooby Doo and the Night of 100 Frights (PS2) (Video Game)
This Is One Of The Best Games I've ever played.
When i was younger, and just got a PS2.
This is one of the first i got given, and it blew me away.
First of all however i think i should tell you about the PS2 Scooby Doo games in general.
This was the first to come out and is by far the best.

The Second; 'Mystery Mayhem' is entertaining, but does not stand a chance against this game. The object of 'Mystery Mayhem' is to capture different monsters and ghosts in a book that you collect different pages for as you progress through five or six levels. It is fun, but does not let you explore as this game does.

The Third game; 'Unmasked' is worse then all the others. While 'Mystery Mayhem' brought a sense of creativity and new ideas with it. This game simply feels like nearly all children based platform games.
You kill the monsters you find the special things, and then you end it. It doesn't even boast one of the best stories either. A little disappointed with it.

Then we come to; 'Night Of A 100 Frights' (this game) and even though this is the oldest, it is still by far the best of the series.
The story is entertaining and downright funny in parts.
We get to see classic "Scooby Doo: Where Are You" monsters and ghosts,
and best of all you get to explore.
With the other games you feel like the path has already been set down for you, and you cannot alter it no matter what you try.
But in this game there is countless secret passageways leading from one place to another, so that you can be on one side of the map one minute, and be in a locked dungeon on the other side of the map that you couldn't access earlier the next.
There are countless monster tokens to try to discover and collect, and there are Scooby Snacks to collect all over the place (you need these to access another level), and a manner of inventions to discover that means you have to retrace your steps all over the map to acquire things that you weren't able to get earlier (there are even portals to help you get around).
At the beginning of the game there seem to be only three main location settings (excluding 'Mystic Playground').
There's:
"Mystic Manor"
"Hedge Maze" &
"Smugglers Cove".
But as you progress you find more and more places to go, so you can even get lost at times (once for around an hour), not to mention the "Secret Passages" area.

Story: The story is that Daphne's cousin Holly's uncle has disappeared and that she wants them to help her find him.
He was a scientist, and has left countless inventions lying around, just waiting for Scooby to find.
But when the rest of the gang disappear also, it's up to Scooby Doo to help them escape from the plague of monsters living around the manor.
Scooby Doo must journey to defeat three main bosses; "The Black Knight, 'The Green Ghost' and 'Captain Redbeards Ghost' to rescue Fred, Velma and Daphne. With Shaggy appearing along the way.
Before they must confront the evil Mastermind.

Hardness: The games difficulty largely vary for what age you are.
When i first got the game and was an inexperienced gamer, i found it very difficult.
But nowadays i could probably defeat most of the game in about two days, and defeat bosses and levels which otherwise would seem impossible.
Nevertheless, this is still one of the most challenging childrens games around. the Graphics aren't superb like many new generation games, but it is not a simple shoot'em up like so many games today (nothing against that however) but the game play is fantastic, and some of the scenery and backround shots poisitively frightning (especially in the "Hedge Maze".

GOOD POINTS: An exceptional and very deep game that could take forever to fully complete, and will by no means be over in a day.
But will linger on and on, getting more fun and more difficult by every step you take.
FUNNY POINTS: One of the best things of this game is that despite all the monsters, it is very good humoured (i love the lampshade & Bunny Slippers disguise).
BAD POINTS: It can be difficult in places and if you get stuck then there is no simple - go off, level up, and come back again more powerful - aspect to the game. You simply need to keep trying until you get it right.
WORST POINTS: There's not much worse then a bad joke, i can bare these however, as really the game is based for younger players, even if the gameplay is very hard at parts.
GRAPHICS: By no means stunning, but good enough for the game it is.
CONTROLS: There is nothing much different in these controls, then many other controls in these sorts of games. Simple and to the point.
OVER-ALL: One of the best games you could get your hands on. If you like:
Story,
Adventure,
Fun,
Something thats not over quickly,
and Discovery.

This one of the first games i ever got and thank goodness it is.
An exceptional game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scooby doo Night Of a Hundred Frights, 12 July 2005
By 
Skalokos (California,United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scooby Doo and the Night of 100 Frights (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a truly fun game, (ignoring actual storyline) and can be played by people of all ages.Focusing on a new villan,the mastermind,it has all of the old bad guys,including guys like the Black Knight as a boss and zombies,ghosts,monsters,ect. as enemys,your in for a lot of fun.Gameplay is 4/5,adio is 2.5/5.Replayibility is 2/5,buy/rent is totally buy.Overall:5/5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game for everyone, 5 Oct 2007
By 
Jane (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scooby Doo and the Night of 100 Frights (PS2) (Video Game)
Me and my 9 year old daughter have been playing this for some time now... niether of us are hardened gamers so we don't play none stop... but this has been really fun... some of the tasks are quite difficult so I'm really not sure that a 3 year old could play it! but the content is very child friendly and on the whole we have had a lot of fun... there is certainly a lot to do and with a bit of practice we have got through nearly all of it now... if you are a scooby fan then this is great... but for all those parents out there who are sick of buying games that are either too hard for the kids to complete or are so short they only last a day or two... this is a good game... I bought this second hand off Amazon and it has turned out to be great value for money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scooby-Doo: Night of 100...hard levels?!, 30 Nov 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scooby Doo and the Night of 100 Frights (PS2) (Video Game)
I saw the advert for this game on the television one morning when I was 5 and asked my Mum for it. I got the game for my birthday and I must admit that I found it fun. However when you get to later levels, you find one thing: THEY ARE INCREDIBLY HARD!! Even now when I'm much older I'm still stuck on 46% or something like that. It's a good fun game but you do seem to die an awful lot which is annoying when, every time you die you go back to the beginning of the level.

Okay, now that we have the negatives out of the way, let's get on to the positives!
The graphics are brilliant as it's only a early PS2 title and the character voices sound authentic. The levels are funny as the enemies are gormless, and killing them with a helmet is pretty satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Fake, 20 Jan 2014
By 
J. Stanley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scooby Doo and the Night of 100 Frights (PS2) (Video Game)
This item did not work and was most likely a fake- awful really got sucked in by the price, didn't return because so cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scooby Doo and the Night of 100 Frights (PS2)
19.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews