Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home made 5 stars food
Nigella has it all and is willing to share with us some of her secrets and recipes.

The recipes on this DVD are quiet simple to achieve yet give a great result and impression. The step by step DVd approach makes it easier than just doing it straight from the book. Having the book helps when it comes to having different recipes on hand but it is not essential...
Published on 27 Jun 2005 by A. Bernard

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not even the complete series 2
Well, I know it is DVD with the series 2 (missing the first 5 episodes of Nigella bites), but not complete series. Shows only about 2 recipes per episode (Nigella's favourites as she says) and I would prefare to have the whole episodes to watch (her favourite recipes are not neccessarily mine). The mood of the series is there, but somehow edited. Pity.
Published on 19 Sep 2007 by beta gamma


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home made 5 stars food, 27 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: Nigella Bites [DVD] (DVD)
Nigella has it all and is willing to share with us some of her secrets and recipes.

The recipes on this DVD are quiet simple to achieve yet give a great result and impression. The step by step DVd approach makes it easier than just doing it straight from the book. Having the book helps when it comes to having different recipes on hand but it is not essential (just a plus).
Nigella's cooking is fun, affordable, sometimes exotic but always achievable in your own kitchen. Her recipes always seem to make a great impression on guests and on other familly members. Cooking with Nigella is never borring and I can't wait for the next DVD to be on the market. I won't miss it ! ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caution! The Euro version and the UK version are different!!!, 1 Jan 2008
By 
Hiro "Tokyoite" (West Hampstead, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: Nigella Bites [DVD] (DVD)
Bear in mind that the Euro Version (Currently the Dutch version is available on Amazon) and the UK version are so totally absolutely different.

Euro version ---- "Nigella Bijt"
is taken from TV series 1 (so recipes are taken from her first book called "How to Eat", not the book "Nigella Bites"). A lot of people think there is no TV series for "How to Eat". But this is the DVD version of "How to Eat". And this is the version which includes her famous "This is my Jean-Paul Gaultier", and "Vegetarians, turn away now!" lines. So witty and so fabulous. This DVD plays exactly same as UK DVDs on any player.

UK version ---- "Nigella Bites" (this page features this UK version)
is from TV series 2 (so all recipes can be found in her actual book "Nigella Bites" ) + Nigella's Christmas Special + two extra recipes (one for pasta and bean soup, the other a stuffed aubergine dish).

I know it is rather confusing. But I believe when the book "How to Eat" came out, it became phenominally successful. So they made a TV series called "Nigella Bites" based on the book "How to Eat". This TV series also became very very successful, so Nigella wrote another book (Nigella Bites) and accompanying TV series (Nigella Bites Series 2) with brand new recipes (or more like she put together a new bunch of recipes that she actually often does - she normally doesn't make up recipes only for books. She just publishes recipes that she regularly cooks at home)

I personally watch Euro version more. But I cannot recommend both of them highly enough (but if they publish complete series, I would be over the moon...)

PS: I recently found out, from Nigella's offical page, that "Nigella - Feast. Food That Celebrates Life" became available on DVD in Australia in March 2008. I got them shipped to me already and very content with it - the two DVDs contain the entire episodes - over 350 minutes of incomparable Nigella!! If you have a multi-regional DVD player, you can also enjoy the DVD. As a matter of fact, I can play them on my computer. But it is safer to to have a multi-regional DVD player, I guess. 25/March/08
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, Great recipes, and Great DVD, 6 Jan 2003
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: Nigella Bites [DVD] (DVD)
What a great DVD package! I am a huge fan of the tv-program Nigella Bites and was delighted to find this DVD containing all of the Season 1 episodes, including the special holiday program, and some additional recipe footage that had previously been cut from some of the episodes. I have made many of the recipes from this series and have enjoyed most of them. Nigella presents her recipes with an approachable manner, using common sense directions and short cuts, yet still manages to provide dishes that have a more polished,somewhat elegant look. Most of her recipes could just as easily be served to dinner guests as well as for ordinary home meals. The DVD itself is very well presented - you can choose to view all of the episodes in order or select each individually. A great feature is that you can also view a list of all of the recipes featured on the DVD in alphabetical order - simply click on the recipe you are seeking and it will automatically go directly to that particular recipe, not just the episode it is in. Also, you can click on any recipe as it plays and gets a full ingredient list - helpful if you don't already have a copy of the companion cookbook. All in all, a fun show to watch, with delicious recipes that work, and an excellent format to view it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 28 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: Nigella Bites [DVD] (DVD)
I am a recent convert to Nigella, and recently bought the DVD as acompanion to the book I received for my birthday. It is an excellentresource. To actually see the creation of the recipes, and how easy shemakes them is so tempting. I tried the bitter orange ice cream and hadalmost perfect results on my first attempt - purely because I had seen howsimple it is to create.
The menu button that reveals the recipe is an excellent idea - anall-in-one resource.
This DVD, like the books, is not simply for the production of meals. Itis pure entertainment value on its own. Foodie Porn -I would thoroughlyrecommend it to anyone who is in the least bit interested in food!
Now, when is Forever Summer going to be released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly different ..., 20 Mar 2004
By 
SecretSweets (Caxias, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: Nigella Bites [DVD] (DVD)
... that is how I would describe Nigella Lawson. She is not the archetypal TV cook. She is stylish, glamorous but at the same time exudes a sense of normality in the way she literally potters about the house in trainers while tidying up behind her 2 kids.
In this DVD, we are taken into Nigella’s house, which I might add looks every bit a normal kitchen with its used wooden spoons and heat stain on the wooden board. This woman uses her kitchen just as most of us do, she chucks egg shells into the sink, she shoves utensils out of her way, she even tastes her own food, several times, tweaking her edible concoctions as she cooks. It is very satisfying to see the cook eat her own food, with wanton gusto. I believe it is what most of us do in our own kitchens, whether we realise it or not.
Perhaps the most annoying thing about it all is that Nigella still manages to look stunningly sensual in the kitchen with steam billowing in her face - that is where reality ends and the miracle of TV takes over.
Enough of Nigella, the DVD itself is very well organised - clear, concise and easily manoeuvrable. The music is bright and sprightly, as if to reflect Nigella’s enthusiasm and fervour for fabulous food.
The recipe segments are fun to watch and clearly explained with an option to view the ingredients. If you have the book - Nigella Bites - even better, although not essential.
If you are not into cooking, this DVD will reveal to you that you don’t have to slave over a hot stove in order to put good food on the table. It might just inspire you to experiment and spruce up old favourites.
What is marvellously unique about this DVD, is that it can be used to tempt a man to step into the kitchen and rustle up a little something. I bought this DVD as a gift for my husband and I am proud to say that while I am writing this he has just walked in with lunch...made with his own hands! Thank you Nigella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not even the complete series 2, 19 Sep 2007
By 
beta gamma (Warsaw, Poland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: Nigella Bites [DVD] (DVD)
Well, I know it is DVD with the series 2 (missing the first 5 episodes of Nigella bites), but not complete series. Shows only about 2 recipes per episode (Nigella's favourites as she says) and I would prefare to have the whole episodes to watch (her favourite recipes are not neccessarily mine). The mood of the series is there, but somehow edited. Pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigella - The Ultimate Domestic Goddess, 15 Aug 2002
By 
L. OMARA "L OMARA" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: Nigella Bites [DVD] (DVD)
Nigella Bites is what inspired me to enter my kitchen and start cooking, rather than reheating. For years, I have lived on takeaways until I found this amazing and inspiring series. Each episode is based on a different "genre" of food, for exmaple foods to eat at home alone, foods for entertaining or simply her favourite childhood recipes. Nigella is passionate about her food and I love the way she eats certain things straight from the pot rather than bothering with a plate! Even the secret peeks you get at her deep freeze are really interesting - she has an eclectic collection of bones, egg whites and other leftovers which she talks about passionately. A must have video for any wannabe foodies. Oh and Ronni Ancona's fantastic impresison of Nigella is spot on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caution! The Euro version and the UK version are different!!!, 1 Jan 2008
By 
Hiro "Tokyoite" (West Hampstead, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nigella Bites [IMPORT] (DVD)
Bear in mind that the Euro Version (Currently the Dutch version is available on Amazon) and the UK version are so totally absolutely different.

Euro version ---- "Nigella Bijt" (this page features this Dutch version)
is taken from TV series 1 (so recipes are taken from her first book called "How to Eat", not the book "Nigella Bites"). A lot of people think there is no TV series for "How to Eat". But this is the DVD version of "How to Eat". And this is the version which includes her famous "This is my Jean-Paul Gaultier", and "Vegetarians, turn away now!" lines. So witty and so fabulous. This DVD plays exactly same as UK DVDs on any player.

UK version ----
is from TV series 2 (so all recipes can be found in her actual book "Nigella Bites" ) + Nigella's Christmas Special + two extra recipes (one for pasta and bean soup, the other a stuffed aubergine dish).

I know it is rather confusing. But I believe when the book "How to Eat" came out, it became phenominally successful. So they made a TV series called "Nigella Bites" based on the book "How to Eat". This TV series also became very very successful, so Nigella wrote another book (Nigella Bites) and accompanying TV series (Nigella Bites Series 2) with brand new recipes (or more like she put together a new bunch of recipes that she actually often does - she normally doesn't make up recipes only for books. She just publishes recipes that she regularly cooks at home)

I personally watch Euro version more. But I cannot recommend both of them highly enough (but if they publish complete series, I would be over the moon...)

PS: I recently found out, from Nigella's offical page, that "Nigella - Feast. Food That Celebrates Life" became available on DVD in Australia in March 2008. I got them shipped to me already and very content with it - the two DVDs contain the entire episodes - over 350 minutes of incomparable Nigella!! If you have a multi-regional DVD player, you can also enjoy the DVD. As a matter of fact, I can play them on my computer. But it is safer to to have a multi-regional DVD player, I guess. 25/March/08
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mouth watering entertainment!!, 22 Jan 2003
By 
Jade Lee-Duffy (Hong Kong, Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: Nigella Bites [DVD] (DVD)
I received this DVD as a gift and had never heard of Nigella. To my surprise, I LOVE the show! As the show is set (presumably) in her home, Nigella presents her love of food with simple to make recipes that are very 'down to earth'. She cooks for all occasions, but mostly, they can be cooked just for you and your family in between a hectic working schedule. (While I find that Jamie Oliver doesn't make food for the average home foodie.) I love the way she explains as she cooks, why a certain ingredient is added or not, which really helps when you are trying out a recipe for the first time. So far, I have made 2 of her recipes and they have turned out delicious! Nigella's passion and knowledge makes for great entertainment and this DVD is a must for anyone that loves food or cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nigella at her best, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: Nigella Bites [DVD] (DVD)
this book is the quintessential cookery book, I've had it for years its the rock that i turn to when stuck in a culinary rut, her writing technique is pleasant and well read, i think that her recipes are simple to follow yet complex enough to leave your guests amazed. "well recommended a must for any foodie"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa60ee2dc)

This product

Nigella Lawson: Nigella Bites [DVD]
Nigella Lawson: Nigella Bites [DVD] by Nigella Lawson (DVD - 2004)
14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews