Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sand crabs.
i saw this film on e4 a few years ago: it was early morning and I was doing a nightshift with an older woman who had kids. The experience didn't shock her, nor me, and served only to grip us both.

What else can be said about this film?

It's a product of a man who came from a photography background, it can be expected that he'd have a tendency to let...
Published on 24 Aug. 2008 by D. T. Brunetti

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortable Viewing
Larry Clark has made another film that continues his apparent obsession with the disassociated youth of America. Young, angry, directionless people having sex, taking drugs and committing vicseral acts of violence.

It is hard, painful and unbelievable to watch. But equally compelling. Being from a rural, middle class background this world these kids live in...
Published on 30 July 2009 by Mr. A. CLARK


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bully [DVD] (DVD)
Good dvd from this period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hm., 28 May 2005
This review is from: Bully [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Kids was brilliant because it was gritty and realistic. Clark was pretty outrageous in his depiction of such young actors, but it worked because he seemed to know what he was doing. Now that he has become famous for his 'realism', he has tried just a bit too hard in this film - upstaging the actors with his close ups, particularly of the girls and this homoeroticism which he peppers over *every single* boy in the film.
The plot is based on a true story (though, how true, I'm not sure), about some kids who kill a boy, Bobby, because he pushes his supposed best friend, Marty around. First, how much of an idiot do you have to be to kill someone for such a pathetic reason? And second, although Clark is trying to avoid 'moral condemnation', I doubt ANY teenager on earth would talk as openly about their plan to murder as these bozos did.
The result: very 'unrealistic'. Farcical is the better word. Clark's obsession with sex and tender budding adolescence doesn't save this hole of a film.
That said, the soundtrack is very good. It was noticeable particularly near the end when everyone was trying-to-deal-with-their-conscience and pretending to go insane. Its not as tongue in cheek as the music used in Kids, however, and Marty trying to rap along with Eminem is cringe worthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, 11 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Bully [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Having watched Larry Clarks Kids, which I found to be gritty, realisitic and well acted by the cast and, whilst not really having a detailed moral or message, evoked quite shocked feelings in me, I was expecting more of the same from Bully. Instead I was shocked by how awful this was, the acting was rubbish, the kids this time were just totally brain dead and gormless and I spent the majority of the film wishing the girls would just wear some clothes! The gratuitous shots of girls anatomy did nothing for the subject matter or the film and made we wonder what the hell Larry was doing! I have come to the conclusion that Kids was so good because of Harmony Korine, not Larry Clark! Dont waste your money, porn is cheaper and better if your just after the sex scenes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful, 18 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Bully [DVD] (DVD)
We should kill him.
I dunno.
Have you got a gun?
Yeah
then we should do it
ok

This is just an extract of the God awful dialogue that prevails throughout the film, let alone the atrocious acting. As i'm sure you already know the storyline, i hope that what i can do is discourage you from buying this film. Trust me, you will regret it. Yes it does have sex, yes it is mildly violent, but it's so boring and unbelievable that nothing has any psychological effect whatsoever. The point it's trying to make ends up being ridiculed and not taken seriously at all, the plot is not even that bad but Clark makes it seem ludicrous and unfeasible, and i repeat, the acting is TERRIBLE. Ed wood would have been able to do a better job. Watch this as one of those 'so bad it's funny' films. And please trust me, i have seen MANY films, from the mainstream to the most obscure, and i am telling you, this is one of the worst films i have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars larry clark is overated hype talk this is proof, 1 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Bully [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This film i have to say is at nothing more than a standard level, its extremely unrealsitic is places even though it is meant ot be based on a true story im sure clark added plenety of extra drama for good measure.
Its so fake and phony in places i cringed , when the girlfreind asks a freind , " hey can i borrow your car ", "WHY" , well dont tell anyone but we just killed bobby, i smashed and squished his face and now hes in a dicth !!! ok cleaver thinking hey !
seriously this is a lame film kids is OK, another day in pardise is ok, larry clark is not that good as a director as peeps say he looks like he just goes out to shock, in sum a very avergae film probablt not worth watching to be honest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars trashy, 11 Jan. 2007
By 
This review is from: Bully [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This film was awful and trashy. Some of the nudity and sex was inessential, and was a misrepresentation of teenagers. The film failed to gain my full attention at points, I often found myself not fully involved with the characters or the story line. It lacked that punch, that attention. Watching this film was a waste of my time. I do not recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BRAINLESS!!!, 7 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Bully [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
What? This was actually based on a true story!!
It is about a group of brainless teenagers who decided to kill a lad because he is a bit of a bully.
I can't believe how lightly the take murder and not one of them seemed to object about the whole thing. One girl even asks a friend across the street afterwards can she give her a lift to where they murdered someone last night as the forgot to push the body far enough in the lake. She then gets mad when her friend won't help her out and thinks it wasn't unreasonable to ask for some help with this.
I'm not kidding - it is that insane!
The movie has lots of nudity from the so called actresses if you want to buy it for that. Boy when you compare such actresses to ones like Thora Birch who I watched in THE HOLE recently you see the difference in ability. She wouldn't even touch this kind of movie. I am surprised that anyone would.
A silly movie, but you can forgive it seeing as it is telling a true story. There was nudity not essential to the plot though.
If you do buy it - then you will probably agree that Heather (Feather) is the one we feel most sorry for. She only came to town for a bit and due to her stupidity doesn't get to leave for 7 years!!!
My Rating: 29.0%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mindless sex, violence and bad language, 11 Aug. 2013
By 
A. Murphy (Dorset, England England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bully [DVD] (DVD)
From the first minute its clear the film depends on constant bad sexual language and mindless violence to get attention. It tells the story of a group of incredibly thick teenagers who enjoy sex, bad language and killing. Simply one that is sad and pointless even if based on a true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars surely not a masterpiece, 15 May 2010
By 
F. Panin "FabioStar" (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bully [DVD] (DVD)
Someone may be enthusiastic about this one, but surely it is not a masterpiece. The story may well be based on true facts, one can believe that, and the various characters are played quite naturally - meaning they kept out of any actor's studio. The dialogue is not overwhelming - "y' know" - but again, this reflects some slice of society. Nudity shots abound to the benefit of male audience eyes, and most of it could be spared without loosing a bit.
It will keep you busy for one evening, which in fact is already an achievement for any movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars save your money, 3 April 2010
By 
keddycat (south yorkshire england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bully [DVD] (DVD)
most exciting thing about this film is opening the the box,after that its all down hill.i usually buy a dvd to be educated or entertained.I'm afraid i found this film totally boring.the most memorable thing about this film is the box it was delivered in,really neat and if you open with care,you can use it again within the hour to repack it,ready for sale on eBay.
this is not to say all low budget productions are rubbish,indeed,the recent production of "Feel The Heat" kept me enthralled from start to finish.although a different category to the above film,it did what the film maker intended,it entertained me,unlike BULLY which failed to arouse any interest what so ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bully [DVD] [2002]
Bully [DVD] [2002] by Larry Clark (DVD - 2003)
£8.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews