Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex and violence
This was a little known film, only released in selected cinemas, based on a True story about several Florida teenagers who plot to murder a violent Bully.
The film involves many sexual scenes, including a rape, which have been labelled, by many, as gratuitous. The purpose of these scenes is to depict a level of realism (I am sure their critics can not deny that...
Published on 4 Sep 2002 by A Smith

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortable Viewing
Larry Clark has made another film that continues his apparent obsession with the disassociated youth of America. Young, angry, directionless people having sex, taking drugs and committing vicseral acts of violence.

It is hard, painful and unbelievable to watch. But equally compelling. Being from a rural, middle class background this world these kids live in...
Published on 30 July 2009 by Mr. A. CLARK


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortable Viewing, 30 July 2009
This review is from: Bully [DVD] (DVD)
Larry Clark has made another film that continues his apparent obsession with the disassociated youth of America. Young, angry, directionless people having sex, taking drugs and committing vicseral acts of violence.

It is hard, painful and unbelievable to watch. But equally compelling. Being from a rural, middle class background this world these kids live in seems totally made up compared to my youth, but what made this so engaging was the knowledge that this based on a true event.

If you are a fan of Larry Clark films this will be a welcome addition to your dvd collection. But if you are just starting out with Larry Clarks movies I recommend you begin with KIDS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex and violence, 4 Sep 2002
By 
A Smith "a__smith" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bully [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This was a little known film, only released in selected cinemas, based on a True story about several Florida teenagers who plot to murder a violent Bully.
The film involves many sexual scenes, including a rape, which have been labelled, by many, as gratuitous. The purpose of these scenes is to depict a level of realism (I am sure their critics can not deny that teenage sex takes place) and is not glamorized in any way (It was noted in certain review that the actors bodies have bruises and cuts), and the consequences, such as unwanted pregnancies are also explored. However Bully is considerably more graphic than 'Kids' (Larry Clark's controversial 1995 picture)
The camera work is excellent (except for one nauseating scene where the camera is constantly spinning) and an atmosphere is maintained throughout the entire film.
These little known actors (at the time of filming) perform exceptionally well and I am sure they will go on to greater things. The Bully (Nick Stahl) will be staring in a major roll (John Connor) in Terminator 3.
This film must be watched without prejudice to enjoy it to its full extent. If you object to strong language or sex in movies then I do not recommend this movie, but to the rest of us it is a very powerful drama. This film stuck in my memory for days after watching it.
If you enjoyed this film you may also enjoy 'Kids' (Larry Clark) or 'Requiem for a dream' (Darren Aronofsky)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bully, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: Bully [DVD] (DVD)
Bully is a film that grabbed my attention right from the beginning. It's an early film for the likes of Michael Pitt, Nick Stahl and the sadly deceased Brad Renfro. It's an excellent account of a true story and the strength of the film is that it doesn't take sides or force the viewer to either. I found myself able to sympathise and empathise with all of the characters at one time or another. Brad Renfro in particular was excellent in this and Nick Stahl did a great job of evoking sympathy for what was a largely unlikeable character for most of the film. The murder that takes place is actually pretty hard to watch too and has a very strong sense of realism about it. There's nothing glamorised in this film and it's all the better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sand crabs., 24 Aug 2008
By 
D. T. Brunetti "manmadeofjam" (North London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bully [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
i saw this film on e4 a few years ago: it was early morning and I was doing a nightshift with an older woman who had kids. The experience didn't shock her, nor me, and served only to grip us both.

What else can be said about this film?

It's a product of a man who came from a photography background, it can be expected that he'd have a tendency to let his camera linger over beautifully broken subjects.

The 'homoeroticism' within this film seemed to only serve as a device to show the perversion of the character, because while homosexuality is not perverse, the characters reaction showed just how he felt about the action being viewed. The scene in which the two leads are in the gay dance club shows just how the Bobby forces a life onto Marty: how his overall power over Marty not only pushes him into the scene, but to dance and perform phone-sex with older men. While it isn't mentioned again, we see that it is Bobby that does the bargaining.

I didn't believe this was unrealistic as a murder story, granted it could've been more subtle, but then it wouldn't have gripped me so.
I loved this film for it's graphic nature, for everything it oozed. there seems to be a worrying trend of dislike towards films that are overt in these types of graphic nature, whether it be sex or drugs: I can't see why this has to be so, for me you can over do it, push the boundaries of what's deemed tasteful and not lose any of the artfulness.

The performances in this were excellent, some of the action or actions may've seemed too obvious and laid on thick, but when this is up against more subtle pieces of action it becomes clear that it was purposeful for a quick glance of a characters persona.

That said, all performances were dull in comparison to Michael Pitt and Brad Renfro. Both actors just oozed an excellent performance..

Watch it, alone preferably.
You might feel a little embarrassed if you're with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sensational, not sensationalist!, 28 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bully [VHS] [2002] (VHS Tape)
If you've decided to check out this film for its supposedly gratuitous scenes of sex and violence... Well, there are sex scenes (a couple in quick succession at the very beginning) and there is some violence. But are the sex scenes a turn-on? Are the violent scenes the typically comic (some might say "cartoon") violence we've come to expect from Hollywood? Well, to the 1st question I would have to say, "Er... One was, in parts...!" and to the 2nd, "Nope. Absolutely not." The sex scenes are as arbitrary as the relationships & lives of the characters, the violence isn't savoured, it's in your face then gone. This film isn't an easy ride, it doesn't conform & it won't let you enjoy it without making you think about it. I was genuinely moved by the performances, particularly Brad Renfro as the Bully's victim. Not a "popcorn & buddies" kind of film, but one I recommend watching more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The acurate portrayal of teenage life is spot on, 5 Dec 2002
By 
Penguin Egg (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bully [VHS] [2002] (VHS Tape)
The film follows a group of teenagers as they kill an obnoxious bully: starting from the planning stages, through the murder, and then into the falling out and panic as the police close in. Drifting into murder in an almost casual and blundering manner, they turn to a self appointed gangster to help them. Despite the front he puts on, he is as clueless as the rest of them. Clues are left lying everywhere. It all goes wrong, naturally.
The acting from the unknown cast is excellent. Larry Clark's portrayal of teenage life in all its aimlessness and sordidness is effective. The slow unfolding of the story allows you to understand the characters and get to know their backgrounds, so that when they decide to murder their victim, you know why they are doing it, even though the casual (but convincing) way they have drifted into their decision remains shocking. A good film: sordid, but convincing and compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good film, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. R. J. Mclaren (united kingdom (England)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bully [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen some of this movie on tv and decided to buy the movie so I could watch it from start to finish. It was very good and it is a film that I would be happy to pull out of the cupboard and watch again.Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bully [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen this film several times, I felt I just had to buy it. It is one of the best films out there covering bullying, sex and drugs. A real eye opener and not for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very scary , thought provoking film, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bully [DVD] (DVD)
I think this is one of the most disturbing films ever made. Its not a hack and slash horror fil , just a view of america gone bad and the fact its a true story is all the more worrying .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good one, 9 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bully [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Based on a true story this is one of those rare films that leaves you numb at the end.
After years of being bullied by his best friend Bobby (Nick Stahl), Marty (Brad Renfro) and his new girlfriend Lisa decide that the only thing to do is kill Bobby.
There are moments in the film where you expect certain things to happen, like when a dead body is thrown into shallow water, you're waiting for it to jump out for another scare, then you realise that this isn't a teen movie, people don't come back from the dead.
As with Larry Clark's other films; Kids, Another Day in Paradise and Teenage Caveman there is a lot of sex and nudity and some violence.
No commentary on the DVD, but there are interviews with all of the main characters and Larry Clark, a trailer and making of documentary.
Overall a good film, worth watching more than once. Would perhaps make parents think about how much they know about what's going on in their childrens lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bully [DVD] [2002]
Bully [DVD] [2002] by Larry Clark (DVD - 2003)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews