Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Small but perfectly formed"
I've always been fascinated with the Antarctic- I watched this religiously when it first came out & it must have made it's mark as many of the scenes I remembered after 10 years.
There are some incredible moments- the life and death of creatures who's whole lives seem to consist of nothing but hardship, huge mountain ranges untrod by human footsteps and the driest...
Published on 4 Mar 2004 by marcusmuck

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disk is defective
The solitary disk in this package degrades over several years with a misty bloom developing over the playing surface rendering it completely useless.

This is a known issue with this disk and the BBC Attenborough disks in general.

If you've had them for 4 years plus I would suggest you check their condition.
Published 20 months ago by Biff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Small but perfectly formed", 4 Mar 2004
This review is from: David Attenborough - Life in the Freezer [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I've always been fascinated with the Antarctic- I watched this religiously when it first came out & it must have made it's mark as many of the scenes I remembered after 10 years.
There are some incredible moments- the life and death of creatures who's whole lives seem to consist of nothing but hardship, huge mountain ranges untrod by human footsteps and the driest place on earth; where the only living things are algae in the rocks.
It's not an epic like the other Attenborough titles- the episodes are 1/2 hour or so long but what it seems to do is cover a bit of everything.
Not such a bad thing when you consider there really isn't that much there:
birds (mostly penguins)
krill (lots of)
whales (not enough of)
seals (can be nasty)
algae (a bit dull)
man (can also be nasty)
Very well put together with breathtaking camerawork this is well worth having and watching again & again.
My favorite bit of all is the Emperor Penguin, standing in a screaming blizzard for months, in darkness, huddled together in the middle of the continent, incubating his solitary egg and waiting for his partner to return so he can then walk 100 miles to the ice edge to eat himself.
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning masterpiece, 18 Dec 2005
By 
A. Walsh "corkie801" (Orlando, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Attenborough - Life in the Freezer [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I know the March of the Penguins is getting a lot of press lately and there is some stunning cinematography in that piece but anyone who liked that will be blown away by Life in the Freezer. Having marvelled at it a first time, I was actually drawn back to watch the entire series several times. Attenborough is his usual fabulous, inobtrusive gentleman who hooks you in. Everything from March of Penguins I knew already from Life in the Freezer but there is sooooo much more here about so many animals. The antartic is teaming with life and this DVD set is just an amazing discovery.
Don't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let nature be your teacher., 8 May 2003
This review is from: David Attenborough - Life in the Freezer [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Amazing. Sir David Attenborough's contribution to our understanding and appreciation of the natural world cannot be surpassed. As an Englishman in America - life in a cultural freezer you might say - I have really come to appreciate the quality of BBC programming and here it is epitomised.
The photography (BAFTA award winning) is superb and the narration is exactly what you would expect from Sir Attenborough, humourous, informative, and accessible to all ages. I can thoroughly recommend not only this title but all of Sir Attenborough's programs, from Blue Planet to Life of Mammals - They will be a much valued part of your DVD collection for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked masterpiece, 2 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough - Life in the Freezer [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
This little gem has tended to be overlooked between the much lauded "early" masterpieces like "Life on Earth" and David Attenborough's more recent "Life of..." series. The latter have been magnificently packaged together as "Life on Land" and this is the cheapest and most satisfying package if you want these David Attenborough's Life On Land - A DVD Encyclopaedia. In general, the filming of the later series are stunningly good but the actual content of the early series are much more gripping from a scientific point of view; with compelling themes on which to hang the marvellous pictures.
Life in the Freezer has the best of both worlds, being very well filmed in 1993 (but obviously not in the HD class of the ludicrously-overblown "Life") while also telling a compelling story across the six episodes. The series has the unusual format of six 30 minute episodes, rather than the 50+10 minute format that has become ubiquitous since. The shorter episodes are actually superior in terms of pacing and keeping the viewer engaged throughout (and you can fit them all on a single disc!). For example, why would you labour through the ghastly anthropomorphised narration of "March of the Penguins" when you can experience the concise, powerful telling of the same story in a third of the time here? The final episode is unusual in looking at the human involvement in Antarctica; visiting (for example) Scott's hut and exploring the human legacy of exploration in the Heroic Age. I thought that the move away from the wildlife might be an irritation but, in fact, it adds another dimension to the series and ends the six episodes in a very satisfying way. I find this small masterpiece one of the absolute jewels of Attenborough's marvellous career and urge you to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly beautiful and well documented!, 26 April 2000
By A Customer
The "The Life in the Freezer" series presented in 1993 by David Attenborough brings excellent photography, rich details in animals' life of the region (including various breathtaking hunting images) and interesting information on the geological and other characteristics of the Antarctic continent.
No doubt an excellent video to acquire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Watching, 1 Jan 2010
This review is from: David Attenborough - Life in the Freezer [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Words can't express the wonder I feel when watching Life, watch it & see for yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very beautiful and informative, 12 Dec 2009
By 
Arne Antonio Sanche (Salvador-BA Brasil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Attenborough - Life in the Freezer [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
All documentary by David Attenborough is great. This is not different. I love it and you will like this too, if you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars life in the freezer, 3 Mar 2009
By 
A. Jessop (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Attenborough - Life in the Freezer [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
A lovely dvd, made much more interesting after hearing Ben Osbourne speak in Goole about the filming of this dvd .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must watch if you are going to go to Antarctica, 6 Nov 2006
By 
Antony (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: David Attenborough - Life in the Freezer [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Great summary of all the areas most people visit when they go to Antarctica. Deception island was quite interesting, looked a lot different then what I imagined compared to what I thought it would compared to what I've read in travel guides.

Some amazing footage, including footage in the water with leopard seals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little dated but still excellent., 2 Nov 2010
By 
dannunzio19 (st albans, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: David Attenborough - Life in the Freezer [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I was astonished to discover that this was made in 1993 - it is amazing to see how much has changed in 17 years. The transfer is most definitely not a digital remastering and the grainy quality of the film really shows up. There is also a terribly 1980s synth soundtrack and some very basic graphic illustrations and these things are really noticable in comparison to the digitally shot and orchestrally scored recent BBC nature productions. However, to compensate for this you have the pleasure of having Sir David as presenter as opposed to narrator, much less intrusive foley artist work and obviously all the wonders that the Antarctic can offer. A bargain for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51df678)

This product

David Attenborough - Life in the Freezer [DVD] [1993]
David Attenborough - Life in the Freezer [DVD] [1993] by Alastair Fothergill (DVD - 2002)
18.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews