Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Comedy!
"Open All Hours" is a sometimes overlooked Ronnie Barker / David Jason masterclass in well written and wonderfully observed comedy. Similar in some ways to Porridge, with the two main characters tucked away in the shop, but good enough to stand on it's own two feet as a genuine British classic.
Set in a small corner shop in Doncaster (the exterior shots were actually...
Published on 12 Dec 2003 by davefoster1

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Granville, fetch your cloth!
Arkwright is a tight-fisted shop owner in Doncaster, who will stop at nothing to keep his profits high and his overheads low, even if this means harassing his nephew Granville. Arkwright's only weakness is his love - Nurse Gladys Emanuel.
Published on 5 Jun 2012 by Lord Anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Comedy!, 12 Dec 2003
This review is from: Open All Hours - Series One [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
"Open All Hours" is a sometimes overlooked Ronnie Barker / David Jason masterclass in well written and wonderfully observed comedy. Similar in some ways to Porridge, with the two main characters tucked away in the shop, but good enough to stand on it's own two feet as a genuine British classic.
Set in a small corner shop in Doncaster (the exterior shots were actually of a hairdressers salon, expertly disguised, with the exterior filming being mainly done during the owners summer holidays!) and scripted by Roy Clark, the series is a hark back to a time that had practically passed when it debuted. This is part of the charm though.
Barker plays the tight-fisted but loveable Arkwright, owner of all he surveys from behind his grocers counter. He constantly pursues the affections of Nurse Gladys Emmanuel who lives opposite his shop, but with little success!
David Jason plays Granville, the down trodden shop boy. Although Barker is clearly the star, Jason often steals the scene with wonderfully scripted one-liners.
The extras include the original pilot (complete with a totally different Nurse Gladys!) which is worth the price alone. the quality is good too, considering that the pilot episode is now 30 years old.
I would recommend this comedy to anyone - great comedy doesn't age and the humour is real and warm. Ronnie Barker is a national treasure and every comdey fan should won at least one of his DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C-C-C-Classic Comedy, 5 Sep 2008
By 
Vicky Welsby (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Open All Hours - Series One [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful comedy series. Well written and superbly acted. I remember watching it as a child and it's as funny now as it was then. Set in a northern corner shop, it reminds me so much of a shop my mother used to work when I was about 6 or 7 years old. Ronnie Barker is faultless as the the stuttering Arkwright as is David Jason as his down trodden nephew/errand boy, Granville. The two of them are so good, even as a born and bred northerner, I forget that the northern characters actually being played by two southerners, they both sound so natural. It has some classic one liners and catchprases (f-f-f-f-fetch a cloth Granville). Arkwrights constant lusting after Nurse G-G-Gladys Emmanuel is also hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G-G-Great C-Comedy!, 23 Nov 2003
This review is from: Open All Hours - Series One [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I first seen this series on UK Gold a couple of years ago and it really made me laugh. It is set in a corner shop with a stuttering selfish old man named Albert Arkright and his nephew Granville. Arkright is engaged to Nurse Gladys Emmanuelle, who lives across the road. Arkright is always trying to save money and rarely spends a penny. Granville delivers goods to peoples houses on the luxury shop bike and is not very happy with his life.

The DVD transfer is very good. Not a great deal of extras but I wouldn't suppose there's much that could've been done in the way of extras. Anyway, there's the pilot episode which introduces the series and is quite good. There's also a biography of Roy Clarke, the creator of Open All Hours.
You should get this DVD. If you like Porridge and Only Fools and Horses, you'll love this. G-Granville, F-Fetch a cloth!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comedy., 29 Oct 2002
By 
Carlos Grosso (Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open All Hours - Series One [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I rate this item with only four stars cause my top comedies are ¨Fawlty Towers¨ and ¨Only fools and horses¨ .What can i say about this nice comedy? You will laugh a lot with David Jason and Ronnie Barker characters,the script is intelligent and both actors talk with their gestures and faces.
Having born and brought up in Argentina i feel something special for this comedy cause it reminds me during my childhood about the funny situations and anecdotes in a grocery round the corner so sometimes when i watch the comedy i feel as if it all happened here and not in England.
Thank God the dvd contains English subtitles cause the accents sometimes are hard to understand for a foreign person.
B-B-Buy it,you-y-you will enjoyyy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slab of nostalgia., 9 Mar 2009
By 
C Scognamiglio "Chris" (United Kindom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open All Hours - Series One [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
It is truly astounding how things have changed since 1976. Watching this really does show how much too, although - as was pointed out to me - things in the south of England were perhaps already much more as they are today. However, once upon a time life in the UK was much like this (although perhaps less comical!). It's a shame that the extras are so slim here, but the original pilot is interesting to see and the episodes themselves are very funny. A real slice of nostalgia, especially at a time when there is a call to go back to older ways of doing things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb comedy for all generations, 25 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open All Hours - Series One [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Some of the new comedy writers should watch this and learn. It deals with Sex, Drugs, Alcohol and human emotions - without a single swear word and whilst bringing the viewers to tears of laughter.

Englands two greatest Sitcom comedians together in one show - t...t..t..t.....t..t.timeless c......c..c..c.comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!, 20 Mar 2010
By 
L. McAdam (home,scot) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open All Hours - Series One [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
A classic british sticom set in a small grocery shop, run by the bossy and untrusting Albert Arkwright and inexperienced nephew Granville.

Out of all the classic british comedies through out the years this one surely has to be hanging around at the top with the likes of porridge and only fools and horses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ronnie Barker Triffic !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 27 Sep 2009
By 
Geordyboy (Wolverhampton UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Open All Hours - Series One [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Not Just this series ,, BUT ANYTHING with Ronnie Barker in floats My boat ,, it was a Very Sad day when He departed this life and NO-ONE could replace Him as Master of Comedy ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Show, 21 April 2003
This review is from: Open All Hours - Series One [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this show back in the late 1980’s on my local PBS station. I really like the characters. I am glad it has finally came out on DVD.
If you have not seen this series, it is about a frugal, studdering grocer, his daydreaming nephew, and his nurse neighbor. When Arkwright's is not saying “Granville, f-fetch your cloth,” he is making moves on his neighbor- as cheaply as possible. Arkwright's never leaves his shop, and on the one occasion he did, he nearly injures himself with a tight money belt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open All Hours - Series One [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
just the job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Open All Hours - Series One [1976] [DVD]
Open All Hours - Series One [1976] [DVD] by Ronnie Barker (DVD - 2002)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews