Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brillance
Genius comedy! I remember my parents watching this and never 'getting' it. I was fortunate enough to catch an episode at a friend's house and now I'm hooked. The scripts are so sublimely clever and the acting just brilliant. It is quite amazing how the politics of the past has so much relevance today. It may be 25 years old, but you'd never know.
Published on 16 Jun 2004 by JessicaSeven

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Still waiting
After a 6 weeks recieved nothing. All my emails (4) have been ignored. I won`t be using `Lost DVD` again. Appauling service.
Published on 23 July 2009 by C. P. Fryer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brillance, 16 Jun 2004
This review is from: Yes Minister - Series Two [1981] [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Genius comedy! I remember my parents watching this and never 'getting' it. I was fortunate enough to catch an episode at a friend's house and now I'm hooked. The scripts are so sublimely clever and the acting just brilliant. It is quite amazing how the politics of the past has so much relevance today. It may be 25 years old, but you'd never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 29 Mar 2003
This review is from: Yes Minister - Series Two [1981] [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Jim Hacker and his antics get a worthwhile Season 2 release on DVD. In my opinion, some of the episodes on here are the show's finest, including "The Compassionate Society" and "A Question of Loyalty". Sir Humphries wily behaviour and witty remarks get more attention. You can classify every episode in one of two categories - whether Humphry gets his way or whether the Minister gets his way. The former are far more amusing but is is quite funny to see Sir Humphry quietly fume to himself when things do not go his way. The "Weasel" is no longer with us but Bernard, who can't quite see why Sir Humphry does the things he does - is, looking as confused as ever!
Overall some great entertainment by the BBC. No special features on the disc except for subtitles but is is nevertheless a worthwhile release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic political comedy., 3 Dec 2002
By 
This review is from: Yes Minister - Series Two [1981] [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Yes minister is deservingly beeing brought out on DVD. Eventhough the series is over twenty years old the comedy has not turned old. The stories told in each episode might have just as easily happend today. The way both civilservants and politicians try to win one over on each other is hilarious. This DVD is recommended by anyone with a passing interrest in (making fun of) politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the most intelligent comedy ever, 24 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Yes Minister - Series Two [1981] [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Perfect script, perfect acting, plotlines that are completely plausible and, incredibly, as much out of today's headlines as thay were way back when.
This is not your average sitcom. If you want to be engaged and amused both intelligently and intellectually, this (or any other disc from the 'Yes, Minister' and 'Yes, Prime Minister' series) is a 'must-have'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes Minister Series 2, 14 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Yes Minister - Series Two [1981] [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
I love this series! Even though it is about 20 years old, it is still very funny and pertinent to our day. Brilliant actors too! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes Minister, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes Minister - Series Two [1981] [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
As always this is suberb and does not date. The comedy is most definitely a classic very worth buying and owning for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ever excellent, 1 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes Minister - Series Two [1981] [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Nobody needs me to tell them how great this is, and time doesn't diminish it at all - simply one of the very best sitcoms TV ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Carry on sparring!, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Dr. Peter D. Wilson (Seascale, Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes Minister - Series Two [1981] [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
The manoeuvres of impatient Jim Hacker and wily Sir Humphrey to enforce or thwart changes in the conduct of government business continue their irreverent way - as before, not (according to one formerly in such a situation) totally true to life but not totally divorced from it either. Don't look for great depth of character, or any practical solution to the nation's problems, but enjoy an occasional half-hour of hilarious entertainment leaving some food for thought in its wake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More brilliant political comedy, 4 Dec 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yes Minister - Series Two [1981] [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
This second series of Yes Minister contains another seven episodes of this excellent show. This series is pretty much the same setup as the prier series with Jim Hacker being stonewalled by Sir Humphrey, but when the formula works this well there is no reason to change it. Even now Yes Minister remains one of the most intelligently written, well performed and simply one of the funniest shows that I have ever seen. This second series does include some of my favourite episodes from the entire show, including `The Quality of Life' and the brilliant `A Question of Loyalty'. Yes Minister just gets better as it gets older and in many ways, still remains politically relevant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Still waiting, 23 July 2009
By 
C. P. Fryer (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yes Minister - Series Two [1981] [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
After a 6 weeks recieved nothing. All my emails (4) have been ignored. I won`t be using `Lost DVD` again. Appauling service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yes Minister - Series Two [1981] [DVD] [1980]
Yes Minister - Series Two [1981] [DVD] [1980] by Paul Eddington (DVD - 2002)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews