Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the 3 series and sequel
Although every series of Porridge is superb, series 2 just about has the edge as the best of the 3 series made. By this stage the writers were so confident in their abilities, that they are able to write an entire episode around the premise of a stolen tin of pineapple chunks. In addition this opening episode also features Fletcher's classic line to his fellow...
Published on 22 Jan 2006 by D. Evans

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Are all the Series 2 CDs defective?
I have the boxed DVD set - each one is wonderful... except series 2. I'm sure it would be wonderful if I could only watch it. I replaced the series 2 DVD with another when the message 'Disc Error' showed. Version no. 2 was also defective. I then returned it and asked for a replacement, this is also defective. The DVD playr works well with the other DVDs in the set and...
Published on 1 Mar 2010 by John David Townsend


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the 3 series and sequel, 22 Jan 2006
By 
D. Evans "dantheman95" (Southport) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Porridge - Series Two [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Although every series of Porridge is superb, series 2 just about has the edge as the best of the 3 series made. By this stage the writers were so confident in their abilities, that they are able to write an entire episode around the premise of a stolen tin of pineapple chunks. In addition this opening episode also features Fletcher's classic line to his fellow inmates, "gentlemen we have a thief among us". Mr McKay's role as Fletcher's nemesis is increased, perhaps at the expense of Mr Barrowclough originally intended to be the central Prison officer figure. Richard Beckinsale is now very much a main character as well, with some of the actors from the first series, such as Brian Glover having been phased out. This is highly recommended and again cements the BBC's reputation for excellent sitcoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star comedy - part 2, 18 May 2004
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Porridge - Series Two [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of THE classic comedy series of all time. It is timeless in its appeal, and its age doesn't show at all. Yes it is 30 years old now.
To say there are no extras is a bit mean. You get the original Pilot episode "Prisoner and Escort" on this DVD, so in effect getting 7 episodes for the price of 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Of The Same Brilliance, 6 Nov 2006
By 
DB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Porridge - Series Two [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Just as comical as Series 1, this is however weaker. The stories are much more centred around Fletch. Heslop dissapears from the face of Slade Prison, Lukewarm and Godber are both seen less, fortunately Blanco is introduced, an old man Blanco, who appears in two of the episodes and does a brilliant job. McClaren and Warren get much bigger parts and Ives can be heard to say 'ere listen as much as ever and even Big Grouty makes an appearance in one episode.

The ideas behind the scripts are however much better seeeing Fletch suffer from constant disturbances throughout the day while attempting to get some sleep to fixing a boxing match which either outcome means he suffers to trying to solve the mystery of his missing pineapple, which he stole from the kitchen to tricking Noris into searching for some hidden treasure of Blanco's.

Well worth it, still as enjoyable as ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vintage slice of charming classic golden comedy, 19 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porridge - Series Two [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
To call this a golden nugget is a bit of an understatement. I think for my money this is probably the strongest of all the series's, with a lot of the best episodes on it for example: 'Just Desserts' (the one about the missing pineapple chunks which probably rates as the best known episode ever), plus 'Disturbing The Peace' (the surprisingly likeable, but yet, still a complete b*stard Mackay gets sent on a course and is replaced by an even bigger b*stard of a governor) and 'No Peace For The Wicked' which is about Fletch quite simply needing some quality time on his own and not getting it. Porridge was so strong, that I could practically rate nearly every episode from every series as one of my favourites, as it's all five star stuff.

To top it all off, as one reviewer has mentioned, you even get the pilot 'Prisoner & Escort' which is a well written and very touching episode, that only features the three characters of: Fletch, Barrowclough and Mackay. Even at this stage, before the series had been commissioned, this was already a fully formed comedy classic. Credit to the writers Dick Clement & Ian La Frenais, plus credit to anybody who owns this on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant., 11 Feb 2003
By 
Nigel Drake (Ipswich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Porridge - Series Two [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD picks up where series one left off, with Ronnie Barker, in his greatest role as the indomitable Fletcher, who uses all his nous and experience to try and conjure up an easier life. Supported by an excellent cast of characters this series is quite simply BRILLIANT, great scripts, great acting, great laughs!!
A must have for anyone interested in British comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A testament to British comedy - at it's VERY best, 25 April 2008
This review is from: Porridge - Series Two [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
More from Fletcher as he uses all his cunning to score "little victories" and make his lot in Slade as easy as possible (Harry Grout allowing of course!).

Classic comedy - AGAIN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mean, Moody, Magnificent., 21 Dec 2008
By 
John Meanwood (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porridge - Series Two [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
I inherited season one from my brother and decided to buy season two because my favorite ever episode is 'Disturbing The Peace' in which Mr Barrowclough is tranferred to the prison farm and the inmates stage a riot in order to get him transferred back.

Season one feels like it really just got the program started and the fan base established, it's season two that have the better episodes and more depth to the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless, 10 Feb 2004
This review is from: Porridge - Series Two [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Another great series and possibly one of the greatest British sitcoms. More of the same laughs, scrapes and musings from inside Slade prison.
If you have looked at this review because you remember porridge and remember it being funny but are worried because its 30 years old (blimey!!!!), well have no fear, it IS as funny as you remember it, and can definitely hold its own against some of today's 'modern' comedy.
No special features again. But considering the BBC had a habit of binning a lot of it's programme's episodes (Dr Who is a prime example) it is of no surprise that no out-takes or archival material survived the BBC purges and found a new home on a BBC DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Jan 2005
By 
C. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porridge - Series Two [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best british comedies!! Anybody who is a fan of yes minister and all the other golden oldies should have this in their dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Ronnie Barker, 4 April 2009
This review is from: Porridge - Series Two [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
I have recently bought the three Porridge series. This, the second series also includes the pilot episode which I had never seen. Which is a definate bonus.The humour is cheeky, lighthearted and completely inoffensive.Ronnie Barker has one of the most expressive faces in comedy and his facial gestures are a joy to behold. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Porridge - Series Two [1975] [DVD]
Porridge - Series Two [1975] [DVD] by Ronnie Barker (DVD - 2002)
£3.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews