Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comic Genius
Great mocumentary. A must for spoof fans or fans of the Office.

Example:
Interviewer: How long have you worked here?
Worker: About 16 years.
Interviewer: And did you imagine you'd be working here for 16 years.
Worker: No, I really have been working here.

Well written and performed brilliantly, it helps cement your faith in British...
Published on 1 May 2009 by A. Alves-Areias

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ON THE WHOLE, DISAPPOINTING
Having previously seen 'The Vicar', which I considered hilarious, I ordered the whole series. Apart from 'The Vicar', and possibly the airline pilot episode, it really wasn't what I was expecting. Most of it really wasn't very funny, almost boring in parts. Disappointing.
Published 15 months ago by Mr. E. D. Payne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh, Laugh Laugh, 2 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 1 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
If you enjoyed The Office, 2012 or other spoof fly on the wall, you will love this as it is the same very funny genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's series two???, 21 Jun. 2006
By 
Brad Frank (Tulsa, Oklahoma USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 1 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is one of my favorite comedy series of all time. But why haven't they released series two???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, 3 April 2013
By 
J. Farnhill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 1 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Even though this is now looking a little dated, it's still got some excellent episodes in it and even for those that aren't quite so good, there are great moments in them. Well worth getting the DVD as you can watch the episodes again and again and pick up new things each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best comedy program of all time, 22 Mar. 2003
By 
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 1 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Dry, subtle, and packed with more comic quips per second than any other. Viewing on DVD is especially worthwhile as it allows for discovery of just how much wit goes into these episodes. Every character, every line, flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really funny, 1 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 1 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I keep finding more jokes in it, although the running joke about "are you REALLY married" doesn't work so well given Chris Langham's recent court case.
Still wish they would issue Series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest video in the house, 14 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
Just the best TV programme and now video/DVD I've ever seen... so when is Series 2 going to be out on video/DVD?.. because I'll be the first to buy it! It makes me laugh just thinking about some of those wonderful 'throw away' lines - comedy at its best! Please make another series!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, 29 Jan. 2015
By 
Biff - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 1 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Really very funny mockumentary.

Well written and acted.

Chris Langham is excellent in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well worth seeing, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 1 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Very funny, slightly dark comedies, starring just about everyone you can think of from the world of comedy (Julia Davies, Bill Nighy etc) and quite a lot of 'serious' actors, such as David Tennant (series 2). Full of in-jokes and densely layered - I think I'll have to watch a few more times before picking all the jokes up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ON THE WHOLE, DISAPPOINTING, 8 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. E. D. Payne (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 1 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Having previously seen 'The Vicar', which I considered hilarious, I ordered the whole series. Apart from 'The Vicar', and possibly the airline pilot episode, it really wasn't what I was expecting. Most of it really wasn't very funny, almost boring in parts. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chris Langham cracks me up!, 22 July 2004
This review is from: People Like Us - Series 1 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
People Like Us was a superb TV spoof documentary. Since buying it on DVD I've watched at least three times. Absolutely hilarious!
Chris Langham as Roy Mallard is fantastic with his off-camera poorly worded descriptions and commentary.
My favourite episodes are: The Estate Agent; The Policeman and the Photographer - in no particular order. I loved the clueless female police constable thinking the woman had been bashed around by her boyfriend when they'd been having sex. Her comment to the camera is hysterical - I won't spoil it by writing it here.
A DVD that never gets old. Can't wait for series 2...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

People Like Us - Series 1 [DVD] [1999]
People Like Us - Series 1 [DVD] [1999] by John Morton (DVD - 2002)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews