Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime against humanity
Go into your local CD / DVD superstore and gaze for miles at the host of indifferent movies and yawn-inducing TV sets that are available for instant purchase. Then ask yourself this question; how can western society call itself civilised when the fabulous 'Malcolm in the Middle' is not released in any form either here or in the states, bar this Region 1 edition of the...
Published on 29 July 2006 by Dennion

versus
13 of 324 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Glorified child abuse and other family sitcom cliches
I have tried to like Malcolm in the Middle since its inception. There are certainly funny moments, and the cast is talented and occasionally extremely charming, but I just can't stomach the overall premise. It's a tired rehash of the mamma knows best theme that has been visited in Rosanne, Momma's Family, Married with Children, and even Friends. The underlying message is...
Published on 27 Dec. 2003 by Andrew Parodi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malcolm in the Middle rocks my world, 12 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Malcolm in Middle: Season 1 [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This DVD is the complete first season of Malcolm in the Middle and it will have you roaring with laughter. Malcolm, Reece and Douie are the sons you never want to have and they spend every waking moment thinking of new ways to toy with their parents emotions. Sibling rivalry is not the word, there is nothing the trio won't consider doing in the name of trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please release me, 16 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Malcolm in Middle: Season 1 [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This isnt a review i know,its just me joining in the never ending
requests here at Amazon for this hilarious and wonderful American
comedy to be released on REGION 2 DVD.
Please..please..pretty please!Its abundantly clear there is a huge
audience ready and waiting for it,and im quite confidant this would
sell in droves.
I came across this side splittingly funny gem of a series by accident
on a Sky channel earlier this year.I am now hooked completely,my life
is arranged around the screenings,i even find myself scouring the TV
listings to see when its on.
A sort of live action version of "The Simpsons",but in my opinion much
funnier.This is a programme that can be viewed on many levels and can
be enjoyed by every member of the family from the tiny tots to your
granny.
So,now that i have got that off my chest,lets just hope that we dont
have much longer to wait.Fox,or whoever is responsible for clearence,
distribution of the DVDs...PLEASE PUT US OUT OF OUR MISERY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Release a Region 2 of version., 3 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Malcolm in Middle: Season 1 [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
And please release all of the series. I love Malcolm in the Middle, i was sad it had to end. But i loved the way the made it now the older kids had left it was all starting again. I feel if you had all this lovely series you can watch them over and over and watch the kids grow. I enjoyed it the first time i saw it, and i still enjoy it now. Pity there is no power that be to release this on a UK format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and inspired, 3 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Malcolm in Middle: Season 1 [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Best TV DVD compilation yet. Funny as it gets. Just hope they release the follow on series on DVD soon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why why why, 6 May 2007
This review is from: Malcolm in Middle: Season 1 [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is unequivocally my favourite programme in the world. I would happily trade my entire dvd collection for the complete series on REGION 2. Somebody help me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars malcolm in the middle, 19 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm in Middle: Season 1 [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have been serching the web for a long time and i cannot seem to find the box set available in region 2 format. I can truly say that this is the best tv comedy in a long time and i give this product a 5 star rating. If you are prepared to wait for a uk release dvd you may have to wait a while, however the ntsc version is available to buy. I hope this review is helpfull to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sort it out!, 14 Jun. 2007
By 
M. haslam "markymark" (braford w yorks uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm in Middle: Season 1 [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is intelligent comedy that can be appreciated by young and old and it needs to be made more widley available. Like many others before me I would like to see it released on region 2 DVD asap - even just Series 1 would be a start.

its not much to ask - the demand is there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "When life gives you lemons, make lemonade" (Dad), 13 Jan. 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm in Middle: Season 1 [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This set of season one episodes comprises all fifteen as well as the original pilot, in which Malcolm is diagnosed as `gifted'. I too come from a family in which I was gifted with, let's say a `precocious intelligence' at an early age (look where it got me!) and in which the only female was Mum: hence, I can identify with some of Malcolm's problems. But, hey, the series is wickedly funny anyway, and this is partly down to its willingness to embrace the realism of modern family relationships.

In addition, the series was not studio-based and therefore did not have a studio audience; instead it went out into the surrounding neighbourhood and into the schoolyard to add realism. Additionally, the series eschewed canned laughter (a great blessing). Malcolm's own direct addresses to the camera are the icing on the cake for me, following in a long line of such comic set-pieces going back to the resigned stare of Oliver Hardy. I crack up every time I watch Malcolm's similar frustrated stare to camera as Stevie Kenarben tries to tell his joke.

Many of these features are highlighted in the generous extras that accompany the DVD set. These include commentaries made four years after the first season aired. The commentaries are by the creator of the series, Linwood Boomer, as well as some of the actors, the writers of the shows, and directors of the episodes. Boomer himself explains how much of the series is based on his own family childhood experiences. We also learn such things as Frankie Muniz actually being younger than Justin Berfield, and that the part of Kenarben terrified the network.

Other extras include a forty-three-minute documentary on the series, some bloopers, deleted scenes, and a portrait of Erik Per Sullivan. There's also a behind-the-scenes preview of season two, but at the time of writing (2011) none of the later seasons is available on DVD due (bizarrely) to "music copyright issues" (Wikipedia). The fact that the story of the last episode of season one is "to be continued" makes this all the more frustrating (*stares at camera*). Ah, well, after all, "life IS unfair".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Region 2, please!, 23 Aug. 2011
By 
V. A. Donaldson "V. Donaldson" (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Malcolm in Middle: Season 1 [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
My whole family love this show! Unfortunately have only been able to view it on T.V. as, after several years of waiting, have still been unable to find 'Malcolm in the Middle' DVDs suitable for viewing on the European format! Does anyone know why we still can't buy Region 2 format and whether it will soon become available?
The comedy in these shows is fantastic...so quick-witted and the actors are terrific!
Let's hope more of the U.K.(& European) public will soon be able to experience this American humour...I thoroughly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malcolm in the Middle series 1, 14 Feb. 2004
By 
Debesh (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Malcolm in Middle: Season 1 [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Fantastic!! Get it. There are things you see which you missed the first time through. Consistently well written and funny.
Why is Britain (where there is a loyal fan base)always the last to get these DVD issues? When is series 2 out? A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews