Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy R'n'B Collection
"After The Storm" is Monica's follow up to her smash hit album "The Boy Is Mine", which as it's title suggests contains the biggest hit of 1998 in the USA, and arguably in the UK, "The Boy Is Mine". The song, which Monica performed alongside Brandy is her biggest hit to date. Such high standards are hard to follow, but quality is something hasn't eluded this album. The...
Published on 18 Mar 2004 by swhit270

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars After The Storm - what a mess!
More off the mark than 'off da hook', Monica returns after years of silence with a disapointing (and much delayed) double disc disaster. Failing to include the rather bland 2002 single 'All Eyes on Me' on the album looked to me like an admission that the track wasn't up to scratch but now having heard 'After The Storm', 'All Eyes on Me' would have been the album's finest...
Published on 27 Jun 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy R'n'B Collection, 18 Mar 2004
This review is from: After The Storm (Audio CD)
"After The Storm" is Monica's follow up to her smash hit album "The Boy Is Mine", which as it's title suggests contains the biggest hit of 1998 in the USA, and arguably in the UK, "The Boy Is Mine". The song, which Monica performed alongside Brandy is her biggest hit to date. Such high standards are hard to follow, but quality is something hasn't eluded this album. The album kicks of with an Intro featuring Missy Elliot, the appearance of such a high calibre music superstar is testament to the standard of this record. Next up is "Get It Off", which became the After The Storm's third single in late 2003. It's not hard to see why it was picked as a single - totally irresistible and faultless vocal's from Monica are complimented by a infectious and well-positioned sampling of the Strafe track "Set It Off". An example of this album's strengths - pure R&B music with a modern day edge to keep it modern and funky. And following that is the album's lead single, and a huge hit for Monica which silenced any critics who declared her career to be over. "So Gone" is an insanely addictive and superbly produced song that describes the pitfalls of a relationship, and the suspicions that lead to obsessions, and ultimately break-ups. Monica's vocals are totally on form once again, and there is a level of soul and emotion pouring out from every note she sings, such feelings that are a rarity in modern day popular music. Following this is a song I have failed to appreciate in the several months I have owned this recording. "U Should've Known Better" wants to be a soulful, beautiful and honest ballad. In reality it falls somewhere between bland and pretentious. The lyrics are clearly very personal, yet as a listener I cannot take them seriously. The whole song appears to be trying so hard it becomes everything opposite to what it wants to be. Mediocre, at best. The album picks itself up next though, with DMX featuring "Don't Gotta Go Home". The album moves onto more Hip-Hop flavoured grounds with this song, but the transition is seamless. This track's predecessor may have been unbelievable, but this one definitely is not. DMX and Monica have real chemistry on the song, and once again slick production makes the song an undeniable success.
But things are about to get even better still, in the shape of "Knock Knock". The lyrics of the chorus, as the title suggests, are incredibly basic but they are infectious and give the song a real sense of realism and believability. The instrumental and edgy vocal arrangement here is reminiscent to that of "So Gone", but this track can easily stand out against it's more famous counterpart. It's absolutely no surprise this song became a successful second single from the LP. But the album goes downhill once more with "Breaks My Heart" my comments about "U Should've Known Better" stand for this one too, only this time Monica's good vocal's save it from being a total disaster. "I Wrote This Song" is a simply stunning piece that captivates the essence of Monica definatively in just 4 minutes. The song is for me, the most lasting track on this release and years down the line, it will be the one I play first when listening to this CD. The great music keeps coming with "Aint Gonna Cry No More" which is a great choice for a single, in my opinion. Personal, Vocally excellent and very, very radio friendly the song is another highlight from the album. Another song with a guest appearance follows, this time with Tyrese. I have never been a fan of his, but he was a perfect choice for this silky, sexy and smooth track which has some real quality lyrics and a great hook to it. Slick production value's make it yet another possible single, and if not certainly a selling point of the album. "Hurts The Most", well we are back in mediocre's ville! Simmilar to both "U Should've Known Better" and "Breaks My Heart" in terms of appeal, some may like this pop-influenced slush, but for me its just a skipped track. The album finishes on a high, though with the edgy, raw and very under-produced (in this case, an excellent thing) song "That's My Man". Classy lyrics and another stella vocal from Monica make it the final high to end the album on.
But, for owners of the second edition of the album, like me, there is more still on offer. A bonus disc, which features four bonus tracks lifted from Monica's Japan Only release "All Eyes On Me" is a nice addition to the album. It kicks off well with the Jermaine Dupri track "Too Hood" which incorporates a catchy instrumental, some nice production and a sexy vocal from Mo. Things continue on a high with the sultry "Down 4 Whatever" which showcases the sexiest side of Monica's persona and vocals. The last two tracks "What Part of the Game" and "Searchin" are forgettable, and will leave most pretty much unsatisfied. They could be great, but they have ended up being wafer thin and totally void of any soul or emotion. And then a very nice extra reveals itself, the "So Gone" video, for playback on a PC or MAC. Probably, Monica's best directed video and therefore her most memorable. A nice addition.
This is my favourite Monica album yet, and I feel for the first time we have all seen the REAL Monica and she has finally shed her "R'n'B Chick" image to reveal herself through her beautiful music. Sales for the album have been lackluster, and it will most likely go unnoticed on the most part. This is totally unjustified, and it's such a shame that most people will never experience it. Don't be one of these people, buy it and enjoy the greatness this recording has to offer you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM (WoW) !, 23 July 2003
By 
This review is from: After The Storm (Audio CD)
After The Storm by Monica is the R'n'B album of the year 4me, jus ahead of 'Luther Vandross' & 'Beyonce'. I can't stop playin it. Monica has had alot 2deal with in the last 4-5years especially with her X killing himself in front of her. Her voice is a tribute 2 R'n'B in a Big way & at only 22yo she has alot 2come. This Double Disc is well worth it & although i love the whole album these tunes grab me ALOT: CD1: 'So Gone', 'Don't Gotta Go Home', 'Knock, Knock', 'Breaks My Heart', 'Ain't Gonna Cry No More', 'I Wrote This Song'(Monica's 1st ever song she wrote herself & the words in the song are very personal & touching)& 'Hurts The Most'. CD2: The Standout Track 4me Is 'Down 4 Whatever', I really love the production & Monica's vocal style on this song. Also 'Seachin', this is a lovely Gospel song & Monica shows so much variation of her vocal ability (Wow). Both Cd's Have Cool uptempo tunes so look out 4 'Get It Off', 'Too Hood', 'What Part Of The Game' & The Hot 'So Gone' Remix.
The Album Guest Stars: Missy Elliot, DMX, Tyrese & Busta Rhymes & Mia X.
TRUST ME MUSIC FANS THIS ALBUM DOESN'T DISSAPOINT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'SO GONE' ? NO, MONICA'S BACK !, 10 July 2003
By 
This review is from: After The Storm (Audio CD)
Monica is definately back & creating a storm after her own personal one. Well produced Hot album with da help of Missy Elliot makes it a welcomed return 2da scene after albums 'Miss Thing'(jus 14yo then) & 'The Boy Is Mine'(At 17yo).
I love da whole album, it definately shows the growth of a 22yo Woman with a voice of a young (True) diva. Songs 2 look out 4 in Particular i'd say is So Gone(No.1 U.S R'n'B Single), Don't Gotta Go Home (ft. DMX), Knock, Knock, Breaks My Heart, I Wrote This Song(A Very Personal Track, Hear Da Words), Ain't Gonna Cry No More. I've probably put near da whole album but thats how much i love it. There is also a bonus Cd with a few tracks & 'So Gone' Video. On This Disc I find myself keep on repeating a song called 'Down 4 Whatever' (LOVE IT !), Also Look 4 DA GOSPEL hit 'Searchin', a testament 2 Monica's vocal ability.
AFTER THE STORM (Peaked at No.1 in the U.S Billboard Album charts), is a must buy if you LOVE music PERIOD! The album(No Weak Songs) & artist are definate QUALITY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Monica-After the storm, 22 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: After The Storm (Audio CD)
You may know this soulful, aspiring young singer for her collaboration on the song the- boy is mine with Brandy. Since then she has gone on to release successsful solo singles and now shocks us with this piece of art. With each song having a meaning throughout the whole album you cannot help to relate with the music. Songs like U Shouldve Known and Breaks my heart are so smooth and sleek with a hint of beat are the perfect chillout song. Whilst with more collaborations with dmx we see her delve into a more heavy r&b genre, but with her svelte and beautiful voice it makes all of the songs as good as one another. This girl has come a long way since The Boy Is Mine, and will go alot further. A great Album, A great singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monica Stands Strong, 15 Dec 2007
This review is from: After The Storm (Audio CD)
Monica sets it off with an album filled with party vibes, thumpin' bass-lines, rap featured artists, slow close-to-the heart songs, and excellent musical productions! While the road to life has not been easy for Monica that has not changed her disposition to sing or perform. Instead she channels her energies to get her feeling, and life experiences out to others and at the same fulfilling her God given talent to do what she loves and enjoys! She is a beautiful person with a lot to give!

Each song is great with the up-tempo, mid-tempo, and slow jams. Tracks like "Get It Off" display much club ambiance, heavy bass, rap, and dance effects. Other songs to kick back and feel some relation [provided you've been there] would be "So Gone" making it clear that bad boys can be quite annoying sometimes. If your latest Victoria's Secret outfit is not being noticed then this is the song to play and vent out rather than take scissors and rip them. "U Should've Known Better" is another excellent track proving that love is not about feeling insecure but believing in your lover! Some lyrics: "It don't matter if your rich or poor". One of my favorite tracks is "Knock Knock" displaying the strengths of a woman in full force! it's a dangerous game to play with a strong woman! Her vocal pitches, musical accompaniment, raps, and styles are catchy, infectious, and slamming! "Ain't Gonna Cry No More" is another powerful song that shows the strength to let go and love oneself.

Beautiful ballads include: "Breaks My Heart" showcasing Monica's vocals comparable in style to Brandy. There's soft, styles definitely appealing. "Hurts The Most" with similar melodies bringing her singing to flow more smoothly, peaceful, and even spiritual. The part where she sings, "Baby what hurts the most is letting go...I thought for sure you'd always wait for me... I hate that there someone new coming in... I know I'm the one to blame for losing you/I really really wish that I could be happy for you."

This Japan Import has the bonus track "All Eyez On Me", with lyrical booklet, obi-strip, and collector's item worth. The added song is definitely worth it and is about stepping in the club and having all eyes staring. It has references to the dance floor, meeting that person who glances but doesn't take the chance to make the first move. Some lyrics: "I can feel your eyes on me you're watching and off up in the club tonight is popping and I can tell you're feeling it too... Come on let me see you work it out... we can turn it out party all night till the light out working it out till early morn." The beats on this added track are mid-up tempo with pop/dance/R&B blends.

*There is a Double Disc Edition that has MIA X, Jermaine Dupri and other extras not found here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars After The Storm - what a mess!, 27 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: After The Storm (Audio CD)
More off the mark than 'off da hook', Monica returns after years of silence with a disapointing (and much delayed) double disc disaster. Failing to include the rather bland 2002 single 'All Eyes on Me' on the album looked to me like an admission that the track wasn't up to scratch but now having heard 'After The Storm', 'All Eyes on Me' would have been the album's finest moment. Up tempo track stutter along like a truck on the brink of a breakdown while heard-it-all-before ballads cry for you to hit the fast forward button. The one higlight of 'After The Storm' is the Brandy-esque 'Ain't Gonna Cry No More' and while its pure Darkchild-by-numbers, the song stands head and shoulders above the rest of the album. Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

After The Storm
After The Storm by Monica (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews