Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stoned Again?
As re-releases go, this one is super-smooth. It looks good, it sounds good and it's Stone Sour, what more could you ask for? Although most people would never consider buying an album they already own, this release should make them reconsider. Imagine a CD full of good songs, some melodic, some heavy rock, and a spoken word track...among others. Now imagine having extra,...
Published on 21 Oct 2003 by Fks Reynolds

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting
This album is the debut of Stone Sour

the Stand out Tracks are definatly
Blotter
Inhale
Bother

however the album is got a quite a miserable overtone to the whole thing it sound depressing to listen to
the heavy songs are good and heavy and fast and everything but they just sound depressing as well. But the songs are good on there...
Published on 31 Aug 2010 by Cubby Kovu


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stoned Again?, 21 Oct 2003
By 
Fks Reynolds "sparkly_spike" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stone Sour CD + DVD (Audio CD)
As re-releases go, this one is super-smooth. It looks good, it sounds good and it's Stone Sour, what more could you ask for? Although most people would never consider buying an album they already own, this release should make them reconsider. Imagine a CD full of good songs, some melodic, some heavy rock, and a spoken word track...among others. Now imagine having extra, never before heard tracks from a band that look as unmatched as Black Sabbath would if they sung about flowers. You're beginning to imagine the band Stone Sour, and their re-made self-titled CD.
With a DVD to accompany the album, you can't really go wrong. Featuring the video for the US single "Get Inside", the hit "Bother", and the recent single "Inhale", Stone Sour do not disappoint. They assure us they're not in it for the money and with a release this good, you have to believe them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rock... with meaning, 14 Mar 2003
This review is from: Stone Sour (Audio CD)
This album is really superb. Showing the natural talent and versatility of Corey Taylor's voice, as well as genius songwriting and heartfelt lyrics. This will be a real winner with a lot of Slipknot fans, (the ones who are accepting to Taylor developing a more mellow style with this band), but also with a lot of Slipknot critics. Taylor can no longer be accused of having little talent, demonstrating a seemingly unnecessarily overload of growling, or writing lyrics which are 98% offensive. No, this stuff is quite different.
The obvious standout track is 'Bother' - so totally different to any of Slipknot's music that it's hard to believe it's the same guy singing. A really beautiful, melodic rock ballad with orchestration and gentle harmonies that almost make you want to cry.
Other good tracks are Monolith (personal favourite), Take A Number and Blue Study. The songs vary from downbeat and melancholy, to brutal and angry. Get Inside is a great opener for it's sheer energy, and tracks such as Inhale (possibly next single) show a more emotional and personal side to Taylor's songwriting, although not in the same vein as his Slipknot lyrics of negative childhood experiences which, understandably, can be a bit depressing at times.
This album takes a couple listens to get into but it really is sooo f**king good and definitely worth buying, also a band worth seeing live as they are incredible and have a wonderful clientele of fans. So yeah...god...BUY THIS ALBUM! It doesn't matter if you love or hate Slipknot, this is universally appealling and a real gem....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant!!!, 1 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: Stone Sour (Audio CD)
I was pleasently surprised when I heard this album. At first I was worried that it would just be another slipnot album since I'm not their biggest fan. I was also worried that Bother and Inhale were just one off songs and the rest of the album was going to be full of shouting and screaming. But after listening to it again and again I just can't get over the differences between the two bands. Corey's voice is infectious and fantastic. The mix of melodic singing and heavy guitar riffs works amazingly. The worst thing about listening to the album is that its impossible to sing along the way Corey sings. One word INCREDIBLE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The moment of truth... can they cut it without the masks?, 5 Jun 2003
This review is from: Stone Sour (Audio CD)
The answer is yes they can. This album is every bit as good if not better than all the Slipknot albums we have had to date. In Stone Sour Corey and Jim have the opportunity to do things that just wouldn't cut it in Slipknot.
Opening track 'Get Inside' tears you apart right from the word go with its monsterous riffs and roaring vocals. A sign of things to come? Almost not quite.
Songs such as 'Inhale' and 'Orchids' take a different, more mellow at times, stance to 'Get Inside' and who can forget the amazing song 'Bother' where Corey shows a completely different side.
Stone Sour has given Corey and Jim a new voice and room to express themselves in different ways to screaming lyrics and violent guitars. But lets not forget about the other members who complete the band so perfectly. Joel Ekmans subtle drum beats blend in beautifully with the bass of Shawn Eckonomaki completed perfectly by Josh Rand who is every bit as capable of a great solo as Jim (each guitarist plays 2 solos each on the record)
Spoken word piece Omega tops of the album brilliantly. While listening to it the first time you may think 'what the hell is this guys talking about' but once he is done the realisation dawns on you that what Corey has said is very true!!
A guest appearance for Sid Wilson (0) from Slipknot adds a special touch on the tracks 'Orchids', 'Cold Reader' and 'Monolith' All in all a thoughtful record beautifully performed, quite possibly my favourite album in the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perpetually Stoned, 10 Mar 2003
By 
Joe (Birmingham,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stone Sour (Audio CD)
Okay, so i purchased this album slightly worried it might be sounding like Slipknot with new members..I went a tad red in the face when i heard it, this album slays.
My standout tracks are Monolith,Get Inside and Bother.
I went to the gig and Bother was done as a solo, my god it was lovely to hear. Corey has one super voice. Buy This you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Corey Taylor Era, 17 Sep 2002
This review is from: Stone Sour (Audio CD)
As a Slipknot fan, I expected to find Stone Sour as a simular style of music but I was completely wrong. Stone Sour expresses a different unheard Corey Taylor which is alot better to listen to. An example of this is 'Bother' (track 8) and it highlights singing and intelligent lyrics. As expected, adrenaline songs as with Slipknot are there like 'Get Inside' (track 1) and 'Tumult' (track 12) are on the cd and have a bit of a different sound to them as songs like 'Wait And Bleed' and 'Spit It Out' by Slipknot. This is because the words are easier understood and the chorus stands out more because it is shouted compared to the rest of the song which is more sung. A couple of songs that caught me by supprise were 'Monolith' (track 6) and 'Inhale' (track 7) because it is a mixture of great tune, excellent singing and fantastic lyrics. In my opinion, these two songs stand out above the rest and are easily the best two ever created so far by Stone Sour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply great, 23 May 2007
This review is from: Stone Sour (Audio CD)
Right. I'd heard 30/30 150, through glass and reborn and they're all good, but I didn't expect so much from their debut album! Only got it yesterday, I haven't even heard it all yet, but it's very good. Then again, the last CD I listened to was Megadeth's Risk, so anything sounds better than that! No, but seriously, all the tracks are solid, I haven't really identified the standout ones yet. There's some cool riffs and ripping solos, Corey taylor sounds as good as ever, he really is a vocal chameleon, and now you can pick it up on the cheap, so there's no reason not to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this album to bits, 24 Oct 2006
By 
Ms. K. Norman "Kazza" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stone Sour (Audio CD)
when i started listening to stone sour, i had no idea that cory taylor was also the lead singer in slipknot, and i have to say whenever slipknot came on id change chanels, coz frankly they scared the hell out of me. but then when i realized, i got to like slipknot too.
this album is amazing, and in my opinion better than any of slipknots. ive listened to it death on danceage, and one of my friends finally got it for me for my birthday, so now i can anoy my mum with it on full blast on a regular basis.
i love all of the songs on it, but most of all 'bother' 'inhale'(My absolute favorite song ever) 'get inside' and 'orchids' AND you get a weird little poemy thing at the end of the CD, which sounds like coreys very depressing views on life. what more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this now!, 21 Nov 2004
This review is from: Stone Sour (Audio CD)
I have come late to the "Maggot" farm, and whilst not liking all of Slipknot's offerings,l do admire Corey Taylor.I have to say this is a BRILLlANT album, from his other band, whether you like The Knot or not! You really do have to listen to this, satisfyingly heavy, with Coreys growly sexy voice...not a bad song on the whole album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eep, 8 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Stone Sour (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best heavy rock albums this year, I guess you could say it's metal, but that doesn't matter, all that matter is how good it is. I really love Corey's voice, I think he can sing better than most vocalists around at the moment, he manages to sing tunes that can make your heartbreak, then growl as if it doesn't matters as the world 'ain't to great.'
The guitar riffs and drums are also amazing, they show that bands today can be talented, the tunes are so amazing its hard to describe them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b55864)

This product

Stone Sour
Stone Sour by Stone Sour (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews