Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humourous listening
Ok, firstly-don't take Scruff's music too seriously. Secondly-it's not getting 5 stars because of the few tracks that let the album down ('Beyond' for example). However...... Trouser Jazz is an amazing follow up to Keep It Unreal. It takes a while to get into it and does feel quite slow on the first few listens but quoting 'Cheeky' from Unreal "Just open up your mind, let...
Published on 11 Feb 2003 by bunty_sm

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Future Of Adverts
I am a fan of Mr Scruff but like his last album "Keep it Unreal" this is a bit too basic for home listening. The tracks sound good for twenty seconds or so but don't go anywhere and so you find yourself hitting the 'skip to next track button' too often. This is bound to be the soundtrack for endless future adverts and TV trailers.
Confusingly some reviews say this...
Published on 24 Sep 2002 by Ian Kelsall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humourous listening, 11 Feb 2003
This review is from: Trouser Jazz (Audio CD)
Ok, firstly-don't take Scruff's music too seriously. Secondly-it's not getting 5 stars because of the few tracks that let the album down ('Beyond' for example). However...... Trouser Jazz is an amazing follow up to Keep It Unreal. It takes a while to get into it and does feel quite slow on the first few listens but quoting 'Cheeky' from Unreal "Just open up your mind, let the music inside" The tunes miraculously seem to get funkier the more you listen to it. Don't you always find the best albums are the ones that get more enjoyable as time goes on?
I do admit that a few on the tracks are quite repetitive and yes, the advert thing-I know. But don't let a hint of commercialism spoil your enjoyment of Mr McCarthy's music. All in all the album is definately worth owning. It's an uplifting mix of funky beats and happy sounds in true Scruff style.
Not heard any Scruff before? I recommend having a listen to a friends first. My flatmate hates this album, but then he likes commercial 'house' ; ) (miaoow) It does make me wonder though, without meaning to quote the Unreal album too much; "Do you hear what I hear?" You'll love or hate this album, have you got the ears for it?
By the way-if you are already a Mr Scruff fan and haven't seen him live yet-sort it out man, his sets are amazing. Laters : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The jazz doesnt just come from the trousers., 12 May 2004
By 
Riley (Portsmouth Uni) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trouser Jazz (Audio CD)
This album is fantstic, my first real mr scruff experience was sitting in a flat in brighton with this album playing and the sunshining. It has a great mix of styles your sure how its meant to make you feel. Tracks such as "Sweet Smoke" and "Shrimp" want you to get up and dance and there are some perfect downtempo chilled tunes. "Ahoy There" the avalanche like last song is just crazy. "About the size of a good sardine" "Ha Ha". The World of Mr Scruff needs to spread. Buy it and make everyone listen to it. It great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Having!, 30 Oct 2003
This review is from: Trouser Jazz (Audio CD)
I'm a bit confused by those who say this is slow (check out tracks 2, 3, 4, and 7!) but maybe less so by those who brand it repetitive. There's still a lot of real instrumentation there to keep it interesting, to my mind, but there you go. Also I don't think this album, or any of his other output for that matter, is really supposed to be contemplated with chin-stroking scrutiny.
Rather it is fun, original and diverse, this last being why it particularly appeals to me as my tastes are very eclectic. From the disco-style waa-waa noodling of Shrimp, through to the jazz-laden breaks of Beyond and Valley of the Sausages to the fat basslines ripping through the housy Sweet Smoke and Giffin and the distinctly British rap on Vibrate (my personal favourite) this album laughs at musical conventions whilst still sounding effortlessly integral.
I appreciate that not everything will be to everyone's tastes but the energy, ingenuity and musicality of this effort surpasses, IMHO, many of the other contenders in this (ersatz?)genre of chillout/coffee table/fusion/trip-hop/etc who sometimes seem to take themselves too seriously (Groove Armada, Faithless and Morcheeba spring to mind).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, this is neat. A very tidy piece of work indeed., 15 Sep 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouser Jazz (Audio CD)
Everyone's favourite surrealist from Stockport returns with his second album, and very good it is too. The first single from the album, 'shrimp', is probably the one you will get to know first but don't let this distract you from the others. Braintax's appearance on 'Vibrate' is a lively introduction to one of the UK's hottest up and coming rappers, don't let the accent put you off any rapper who will reference Arthur Scargill is worth a listen. A few may know the fat bass from 'Ug' from Ninja Tunes Xen Cuts compilation which will set an example of the quality of this album. Seaming To pops up on a couple of tracks as per usual for a Ninja Tune release adding some lovely vocal gymnastics. A more accomplished piece than 'Keep it Unreal', more of an uptempo house influenced feel which is kept in check with some good broken beats and some sounds that make you think "where the hell did that come from?" and "when does his next album come out?". Not as soon as we all hope, no doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scruff comes of age in studio, 16 Sep 2002
This review is from: Trouser Jazz (Audio CD)
We all know what the incredible Mr Scruff is capable of doing during a 5 hour dj set in front of an appreciative crowd, but to me his last studio album - Keep it Unreal - lacked balance, and seemed to never quite find its feet. This despite such brilliant tracks as "Get a Move On" and "Fish"! Trouser Jazz seems to me to finally live up to the Scruff name. A superb balance of up and down tempo, playful and serious.
"Sweet Smoke" really kicks the thing off with a bang and the album retains a fresh, funky feel throughout. The more relaxed vocal tracks manage to keep the quality moving, to be punctuated by brilliantly pieced together funkiness like "Come on Grandad" and the fresh hip-hop of "Vibrate"
Of course no Scruff album would be complete without a song about fish, and once again he comes up trumps! "Ahoy there" is equally as good as "Fish" or "Shanty Town" from his last outing.
For anyone who hasn't heard the man before, then you are in for a treat: fresh, groovy, inventive music, with a smile on its face is Mr Scruff's trademark, and this is 63 minutes of pure listening pleasure (oh..and you can also dance to it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No need for underwater weapons......., 10 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Trouser Jazz (Audio CD)
Its a little early to let the music take root but this has all the makings of a graet second album.
I've been looking forward to this for a long time and didn't really know what to expect. Would it be similar to 'keep it unreal' or something a little different? In the end I'm still not sure. It has all the bouncing humour of his first long player but is much more up-beat and energised.
Buy it and find out............I love it already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's as good as Keep it Unreal, 22 Oct 2002
This review is from: Trouser Jazz (Audio CD)
Yes there is the Advertising thing... which somewhat is a bit strange if you think of Mister Scruff himself and Ninja Tune as a non mainstream experimental label.
So what does this proove? Even if you want to keep a low profile, if you do get some immediate success and recognition you're trapped into the "commercial" bracket. It makes me laugh a bit, considering the background of both artist and label.
This is a very good album indeed and if like me you enjoyed Keep it Unreal, you won't be disapointed. Mr Scruff is still mastering these simplistic and efficient grooves, it's childish cartoon house music, garanteed to make you smile. You should just check his website for a laugh mrscruff.com, it's ..... a bit like the music he does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Future Of Adverts, 24 Sep 2002
By 
Ian Kelsall (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trouser Jazz (Audio CD)
I am a fan of Mr Scruff but like his last album "Keep it Unreal" this is a bit too basic for home listening. The tracks sound good for twenty seconds or so but don't go anywhere and so you find yourself hitting the 'skip to next track button' too often. This is bound to be the soundtrack for endless future adverts and TV trailers.
Confusingly some reviews say this is Scruff's second album. Not So. His first and by far the best album simply titled "Mr Scruff" was released on Pleasure records in 1997. However this seems to be a difficult album to track down these days. Go seek and rewarded you will be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap., 14 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Trouser Jazz (Audio CD)
I'll say this is a cheap CD, both in price and in content.So you get what you pay.Of course is a Ninja Tune record and is Mr.Scruff, but nothing more than that and no further or new freshin sound.Is cheap, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahoy There!, 16 Sep 2002
By 
B. W. Hill "ben" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trouser Jazz (Audio CD)
Unreal was a phenomenal album, and trouser jazz really stands up to this, taking this unique sound further. The beats, weaved with skill and tinged with humour, are still there, but moved to a new level.
From the upbeat vibes of "sweet smoke", to the sultry deepness of "beyond", to the jazzy beats of "champion nibble", to the sheer brilliance of "ahoy there" and the journey between. On the first listen I thought that the fish were going to be left out of trouser jazz, but then I got to the last track! Now I have got to get into the fishtank and sing!
As Barry Strepsil discovered; "It's jazz for your trousers!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trouser Jazz
Trouser Jazz by Mr. Scruff (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews