Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars18
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2009
This was the first bolan album I bought in 1976. I was just becoming a T.Rex fan. A bit late in the day by everybody elses reckoning. But the fact Marc was out of fashion at the time made me love him even more!! I devoured this Lp playing it over and over again. At the time it was thought a poor result for Marc, but it has stood the test of time and in fact could be considered up there with all the recent songs that use repetitive lyrics and beats. In that sense Marc was ahead of his time. The unique lyrics and visual metaphors created by the unusual songs such as 'golden belt' and 'girl in the thunderbolt suit' will suit anybody into the surreal sound of Bolan in the 1970s.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 August 2005
Bolan's Zip gun may not be the best T.Rex album (it's certainly not the most famous - it failed to chart on its original release), but I believe it's ripe for rediscovery.
It's a short, stripped-back album (produced by Bolan himself without Tony Visconti for the first time), from the mid-70s period when Bolan's fans had all but forgotten him. However, along with "Zinc Alloy" and "Futuristic Dragon" it contains some of his most interesting work.
Yes, it's flawed. The lyrics are often repetitive, with choruses often consisting of the song's title repeated again and again and again. It also contains the horribly lumpy "Zip Gun Boogie". It's certainly not the first T.Rex album I'd recommend to the casual listener. But it's still Good Fun.
There are some great songs on here: the sweet "Light of Love"; "Till Dawn" - a 50s drive-in style ballad (the last Visconti collaboration) and the deliciously rude "Think Zinc" ("On the telephone, you should hear me groan"). There's also the great morning-after dirge of "Token of my Love", which sounds as though it's being played too slowly by a band on a bad come-down (as Bolan was relying heavily on cocaine and champagne at the time, this may be true...). And throughout there are the great backing vocals from Gloria Jones, et al, adding a blast of funky soul to every song. This copy also includes Pat Hall's lovely cover of "Dock of the Bay" that Bolan produced.
This album deserves to be remembered as part of the overall Bolan canon. If you already have other Bolan albums, give this one a shot.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2002
Although not considered one of Bolan's best albums, and a commercial failur by Bolan's standard. The album is wortn a listen to show the diversity of his talents. At times the music is overcrowded, but the content varies to the heavy Think Zinc to the sweet ' Precious Star' The CD shows the black american influence that Gloria Jones brought in. I think had it been mixed by Viconti then it would have been a much more polished album but it is still excellent
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
How would marc recover from the disaster that was 'zinc alloy'? that was the question on my mind at the time when i was awaiting the release of this album. Zinc alloy defintely polarized a lot of his fans and his career nosedived dramatically thereafter. Marc was obviously in a confused state of mind as to what direction to take. His decision was to go into all-out pop mode

I mean, the songs themselves aint THAT bad - 'light of love' especially is catchy enough. But this album is so lightweight that it could be floating away on the breeze. Marc threw rock out of the window here and in my opinion it was a bad decision. Combine that with the dreaded gloria jones on backing vox and this album remains unlistenable to me as a bolan fan
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2000
Marc Bolan. The guy was a musical genius. Marc Bolan plus Tony Visconti was pure magic. This is Marc's first album after parting ways with Visconti in 1974. The result is mixed, but often disappointing. The only glimmer of the former T. Rex sound shows up in "Till Dawn" and "Think Zinc". The production is very weak and suffers throughout. Songs such as "I really Love You Babe" and "Golden Belt" are utterly unlistenable in my opinion.
This would be an album for completists only. If you're looking for a good place to start, in my opinion, this is the best route:
1. Electric Warrior
2. The Slider
3. Tanx
4. T. Rex (Self Titled)
5. Unicorn

That's good for a start!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
Probably the album which did the most damage to Marc Bolan's career with the lead track and first single, the wonderful Light of Love, failing to make the top 20 and the next, the overwrought and much ridiculed, Zip Gun Boogie, failing to chart at all only two years after Bolan dominated the UK and European charts. Recorded in the USA during Bolan's tax exile period it was his first self-produced album and continued his exploration of black US soul music with honking saxes and girl backing singers. It bombed in the UK and, at the time, was seen as some sort of 'proof' that he had lost his musical direction. However, its stripped back production and mostly strong songs (Light of Love, Solid Baby, Till Dawn, Think Zinc, Space Boss, Precious Star, Girl in A Thunderbolt Suit, I Really Love You Babe) has meant that it has stood the test of time and, in my view, is well worth four stars. Probably not the place to start if you are exploring his music for the first time but nor is it one to write-off on the basis of reviews back in the 1970s because there are lots of great songs here which showed that his experimentation was ahead of public taste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2007
I love Marc's music but would be the first to agree with the widely held consensus, that this is the poorest of the lot. The production suffers from the loss of Visconti & the songs themselves are not the greatest showcase for Bolan's talents.
That said, Marc was trying a new direction & for fans, this in itself, makes the album worth having.
There are some very funky tracks on the album ("Think Zinc" probably gives the best illustration of the rock / funk / soul fusion Marc was trying to perfect) & you can see what Marc was trying to achieve, it just doesn't quite come off all the way through.
This is an innovative album that doesn't always get acknowledged as such (was any other British artist trying to master that kind of sound at the time ??) but often, it almost sounds like an experimental set of recordings & as such, doesn't always cut the mustard, as well as you might like.I still think it's a pretty good record, just not one of Bolan's best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
This is my least favourite T.Rex Album, there are some good tracks on it, and Zip Gun Boogie is a better listen "live". It also has my least favourite Bolan song "Light of Love" i hit the skip button every time with this song.
I think there was too much influence from his girlfriend and he missed Tony Visconti.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Was once a massive T. Rex from 70 to 72 then this weird creature from out of space landed. His name David Bowie. Sadly it was goodbye Bolan for a few years. I missed out on this album until recently having heard it at a friends home I just had to invest in it. Recorded in 74 and released in 1975 some two years before Bowie's Low album. OK the first thing that struck me was the sound on some of the tracks were very similar to sounds on Bowie's Low. So hats off to you Bolan for obviously having an influence on Mr Bowie. On the low side I would say that this album clearly misses the magic touch of producer Tony Visconti. It is over produce, too much happening on most of the tracks. I love the track Space Boss. I am informed that it is a nod to Marc's friend David Bowie. In all it is a album worth investing in. Sure Bolan was ahead of his time with this one!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
First let me say, that this is my least favorite T. Rex album, just beating Zinc Alloy to that award. Now i'm not going to give a lengthy disposition of this album,just to say it basically sounds as if Bolan couldn't be bothered and used some left over's from Zinc Alloy. Now it does have a couple of great tracks but A LOT of ho-hum filler. Think Zinc is the stand out track on Zip-Gun, followed closely by the single release Light of Love. I wouldn't go so far as to say this album was bad, it was just the low point of Bolans career and the only album T.Rex released that didn't chart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£5.99
£17.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)