Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was my light of love
This was the first bolan album I bought in 1976. I was just becoming a T.Rex fan. A bit late in the day by everybody elses reckoning. But the fact Marc was out of fashion at the time made me love him even more!! I devoured this Lp playing it over and over again. At the time it was thought a poor result for Marc, but it has stood the test of time and in fact could be...
Published on 4 Feb 2009 by ALANMARK

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rediscover...
Bolan's Zip gun may not be the best T.Rex album (it's certainly not the most famous - it failed to chart on its original release), but I believe it's ripe for rediscovery.
It's a short, stripped-back album (produced by Bolan himself without Tony Visconti for the first time), from the mid-70s period when Bolan's fans had all but forgotten him. However, along with...
Published on 9 Aug 2005 by P. Sanders


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rediscover..., 9 Aug 2005
By 
P. Sanders "prhsuk" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bolan's Zip Gun (Audio CD)
Bolan's Zip gun may not be the best T.Rex album (it's certainly not the most famous - it failed to chart on its original release), but I believe it's ripe for rediscovery.
It's a short, stripped-back album (produced by Bolan himself without Tony Visconti for the first time), from the mid-70s period when Bolan's fans had all but forgotten him. However, along with "Zinc Alloy" and "Futuristic Dragon" it contains some of his most interesting work.
Yes, it's flawed. The lyrics are often repetitive, with choruses often consisting of the song's title repeated again and again and again. It also contains the horribly lumpy "Zip Gun Boogie". It's certainly not the first T.Rex album I'd recommend to the casual listener. But it's still Good Fun.
There are some great songs on here: the sweet "Light of Love"; "Till Dawn" - a 50s drive-in style ballad (the last Visconti collaboration) and the deliciously rude "Think Zinc" ("On the telephone, you should hear me groan"). There's also the great morning-after dirge of "Token of my Love", which sounds as though it's being played too slowly by a band on a bad come-down (as Bolan was relying heavily on cocaine and champagne at the time, this may be true...). And throughout there are the great backing vocals from Gloria Jones, et al, adding a blast of funky soul to every song. This copy also includes Pat Hall's lovely cover of "Dock of the Bay" that Bolan produced.
This album deserves to be remembered as part of the overall Bolan canon. If you already have other Bolan albums, give this one a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was my light of love, 4 Feb 2009
This review is from: Bolan's Zip Gun (Audio CD)
This was the first bolan album I bought in 1976. I was just becoming a T.Rex fan. A bit late in the day by everybody elses reckoning. But the fact Marc was out of fashion at the time made me love him even more!! I devoured this Lp playing it over and over again. At the time it was thought a poor result for Marc, but it has stood the test of time and in fact could be considered up there with all the recent songs that use repetitive lyrics and beats. In that sense Marc was ahead of his time. The unique lyrics and visual metaphors created by the unusual songs such as 'golden belt' and 'girl in the thunderbolt suit' will suit anybody into the surreal sound of Bolan in the 1970s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album to reevaluate, 15 Jan 2002
By 
A. Fronteras (Rochester, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bolan's Zip Gun (Audio CD)
Although not considered one of Bolan's best albums, and a commercial failur by Bolan's standard. The album is wortn a listen to show the diversity of his talents. At times the music is overcrowded, but the content varies to the heavy Think Zinc to the sweet ' Precious Star' The CD shows the black american influence that Gloria Jones brought in. I think had it been mixed by Viconti then it would have been a much more polished album but it is still excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bolan Classic - unfairly underrated, 18 Mar 2008
By 
Long Cat (South Shields, Tyne And Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bolan's Zip Gun (Audio CD)
Bolan's Zip Gun came from Marc's Los Angeles trips and was heavily influenced by the American Soul scene, hence the use of American backing singers - almost gospel like backgrounds but also the writing was under the influence of mindblowing drugs. So in a sense this was Marc's phsychedelia trip that so many other great bands have undergone in their histories (i.e. Rubber Soul - The Beatles & Pet Sounds - Beach Boys) and sadly at the time it wasn't timed right. This should've came out after Tanx and Zinc Alloy to follow. Several of the tracks are deep in brilliant orchestration like Till Dawn (Bonus disc features 3 other takes) - A perfect Bolanesque love song with wild twirling melodies and soaring guitar work. Light Of Love and Zip Gun Boogie are atypical Bubblegum pop hits with a T.Rex reworking, Space Boss,Solid Baby and Think Zinc are normal Bolan hard tracks way ahead of their time where the gospel influence is is clear in Precious Star, Token Of Your Love & I Really Love You Babe. All in all a really deep Spectoresque cocaine trip into the Soul of Marc Bolan & T.rex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag of Bolan..., 4 Dec 2000
This review is from: Bolan's Zip Gun (Audio CD)
Marc Bolan. The guy was a musical genius. Marc Bolan plus Tony Visconti was pure magic. This is Marc's first album after parting ways with Visconti in 1974. The result is mixed, but often disappointing. The only glimmer of the former T. Rex sound shows up in "Till Dawn" and "Think Zinc". The production is very weak and suffers throughout. Songs such as "I really Love You Babe" and "Golden Belt" are utterly unlistenable in my opinion.
This would be an album for completists only. If you're looking for a good place to start, in my opinion, this is the best route:
1. Electric Warrior
2. The Slider
3. Tanx
4. T. Rex (Self Titled)
5. Unicorn

That's good for a start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of Life in Bolan's 'Lost' album, 6 Dec 2014
This review is from: Bolan's Zip Gun (Audio CD)
Probably the album which did the most damage to Marc Bolan's career with the lead track and first single, the wonderful Light of Love, failing to make the top 20 and the next, the overwrought and much ridiculed, Zip Gun Boogie, failing to chart at all only two years after Bolan dominated the UK and European charts. Recorded in the USA during Bolan's tax exile period it was his first self-produced album and continued his exploration of black US soul music with honking saxes and girl backing singers. It bombed in the UK and, at the time, was seen as some sort of 'proof' that he had lost his musical direction. However, its stripped back production and mostly strong songs (Light of Love, Solid Baby, Till Dawn, Think Zinc, Space Boss, Precious Star, Girl in A Thunderbolt Suit, I Really Love You Babe) has meant that it has stood the test of time and, in my view, is well worth four stars. Probably not the place to start if you are exploring his music for the first time but nor is it one to write-off on the basis of reviews back in the 1970s because there are lots of great songs here which showed that his experimentation was ahead of public taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Marc's finest hour...., 7 Oct 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bolan's Zip Gun (Audio CD)
I love Marc's music but would be the first to agree with the widely held consensus, that this is the poorest of the lot. The production suffers from the loss of Visconti & the songs themselves are not the greatest showcase for Bolan's talents.
That said, Marc was trying a new direction & for fans, this in itself, makes the album worth having.
There are some very funky tracks on the album ("Think Zinc" probably gives the best illustration of the rock / funk / soul fusion Marc was trying to perfect) & you can see what Marc was trying to achieve, it just doesn't quite come off all the way through.
This is an innovative album that doesn't always get acknowledged as such (was any other British artist trying to master that kind of sound at the time ??) but often, it almost sounds like an experimental set of recordings & as such, doesn't always cut the mustard, as well as you might like.I still think it's a pretty good record, just not one of Bolan's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nOT hIS best, 22 April 2013
This review is from: Bolan's Zip Gun [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is my least favourite T.Rex Album, there are some good tracks on it, and Zip Gun Boogie is a better listen "live". It also has my least favourite Bolan song "Light of Love" i hit the skip button every time with this song.
I think there was too much influence from his girlfriend and he missed Tony Visconti.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars marc goes pure pop, 15 Nov 2012
This review is from: Bolan's Zip Gun (MP3 Download)
How would marc recover from the disaster that was 'zinc alloy'? that was the question on my mind at the time when i was awaiting the release of this album. Zinc alloy defintely polarized a lot of his fans and his career nosedived dramatically thereafter. Marc was obviously in a confused state of mind as to what direction to take. His decision was to go into all-out pop mode

I mean, the songs themselves aint THAT bad - 'light of love' especially is catchy enough. But this album is so lightweight that it could be floating away on the breeze. Marc threw rock out of the window here and in my opinion it was a bad decision. Combine that with the dreaded gloria jones on backing vox and this album remains unlistenable to me as a bolan fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bolan's off tune, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bolan's Zip Gun (Audio CD)
First let me say, that this is my least favorite T. Rex album, just beating Zinc Alloy to that award. Now i'm not going to give a lengthy disposition of this album,just to say it basically sounds as if Bolan couldn't be bothered and used some left over's from Zinc Alloy. Now it does have a couple of great tracks but A LOT of ho-hum filler. Think Zinc is the stand out track on Zip-Gun, followed closely by the single release Light of Love. I wouldn't go so far as to say this album was bad, it was just the low point of Bolans career and the only album T.Rex released that didn't chart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bolan's Zip Gun
Bolan's Zip Gun by Marc Bolan & T Rex (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews