Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars [Spunge]'s best album to date.
A Solid and well rounded album that shows that [spunge] have become major players in the Ska Punk music genre.
This is a good album that has the same hooks as their previous releases and fans of Pedigree Chump and Room For Abuse should buy this as should anyone who like ska punk legends Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Less Than Jake.
The album as a whole is as good...
Published on 28 Aug 2002 by D. J. Beckett

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Such a let-down
I've always been a massive fan of Spunge (ever since their first album "Pedigree Chump") and have waited ages for them to get the media recognition and chart success that they deserve, along with the already huge nationwide fanbase. I've always imagined seeing them on Top of the Pops (they certainly have the potential to be a Number One band) and telling everyone how I'd...
Published on 28 Aug 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars [Spunge]'s best album to date., 28 Aug 2002
This review is from: The Story So Far (Audio CD)
A Solid and well rounded album that shows that [spunge] have become major players in the Ska Punk music genre.
This is a good album that has the same hooks as their previous releases and fans of Pedigree Chump and Room For Abuse should buy this as should anyone who like ska punk legends Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Less Than Jake.
The album as a whole is as good as the singles already released, 'Ego' (also on the last album), 'Roots' and 'Jump On Demand'.
A must for any [spunge] or ska punk fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album 'rocks', 4 April 2003
By 
Garth (Kidderminster, Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Story So Far (Audio CD)
I had to think a little before choosing my rating for this album. The choice being 4 or 5.
There is no doubt in my mind that this is a cracking album which any [Spunge] fan would want in their collection. Not only that any other fan of punk/ska and rock would probably enjoy this album. Many of tracks on this album have a much broader appeal than those on both "Room for Abuse" and "Pedigree Chump". My favourite songs on this album are "Change of Scene", "Friend Called Fred" and "Too Little Too Late". There is a good mix of the usual witty lyrics and more mainstream rock chord sequences and orchestration.
In my opinion, any true fan would not be disappointed with the slight change in sound. Enough of the old style has been preserved and mixed to create an even more interesting blend. It's good to see the band evolving (like any good thing with aspirations of survival should do). The only qualm being the length. Only 37mins 14secs of music, including a new version of "Ego"; an earlier song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stormer of A Return, 29 Aug 2002
This review is from: The Story So Far (Audio CD)
Spunge are the hardest working band in britain and on the basis of this album they deserve it They just about manage to cover every punk genre out there on this album mixing Pop-Punk, Punk And Ska-punk into all of their songs making this albvum a hoy to listen to time and time over again The band don't let up on this album and there are no fillers here even though it may not be as fast and furious as the other two albums it is still a worthy pourchase capable of propelling the lads to Super-stardom status (this may be a good or a bad thing) Catch Spunge before they Go big and get yourself your album you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Such a let-down, 28 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Story So Far (Audio CD)
I've always been a massive fan of Spunge (ever since their first album "Pedigree Chump") and have waited ages for them to get the media recognition and chart success that they deserve, along with the already huge nationwide fanbase. I've always imagined seeing them on Top of the Pops (they certainly have the potential to be a Number One band) and telling everyone how I'd seen them live well before they were famous. Recently signed to B-Unique records, they've had a Top 40 single with one of the tracks on this album ("Jump On Demand"). Described as a more "Emo" based sound than the punky and raw "Pedigree Chump" or the ska punky, witty and superb-if-a-bit-repetitive "Room For Abuse", this was the album that was going to launch the band into the chart mainstream and world fame.
Not this time though...
This record is such a let-down, I almost felt like crying when I first heard it.
The first complaint is over the length and amount of original content. There ain't a lot. The whole CD is around 35 minutes long - one of the best things about the previous two albums is the 45mins+ length of both. Secondly, once you subtract the two singles, the 9 tracks consist of 7 new ones plus a reworking of "Ego" from the previous album and "Friend Called Fred", which was an old B-side from one of their first singles. I'm not sure whether the record company insisted on a release quickly after the contract was signed, but looking at the lack of material - including the lack of original B-sides on the singles, it wouldn't surprise me.
Other than the two singles "Roots" and "Jump on Demand", there isn't a lot going right on this album. The opening track is a bouncy-ish band history which tries to get the story of the band in 4 minutes. However, it lacks the up-beat ska-punkiness, and the superb and funny lyrics of many of the songs on "Room For Abuse". This theme continues with the remainder of the songs here - the remake of "Ego" destroys the shouty chorus and bounciness of the original on "Room for Abuse" and the rest are just too ordinary. The only saving track is the final "Too Little Too Late", a poetic justice really.
When I was rating this, I swung from the probably a bit harsh rating of one star to the bit more generous 3 stars, as I suppose that as an album, it's not that bad - just compared to the previous albums, it is. I've settled on the in-between 2 rating. If you want to hear what Spunge are really about - get "Room For Abuse" or "Pedigree Chump" and leave this one well alone. The best reason for why this album is such a disappointment could probably be explained in the lyrics to "Too Little, Too Late", where we're told "Never give a good thing up". They did and it failed. Don't give up on Spunge yet (they're still awesome live), just forget about this CD. Sorry, but it's true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Story So Far (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album. If you don't hav it yet , buy it. It didn't get the number o sales it deserved , but every song on this album is awesome , everyone should buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars www.stateofemergency.net, 13 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Story So Far (Audio CD)
Tewkesbury Ska/Punks Spunge have made a name over the course of their career primarily as a live outfit. Their previous releases lacking the songwriting to make them truly stereo worthy for the general public. Their live show on the other hand was, youthful, energetic and above all fun having played over 600 shows in the last two years alone.
So the day that they penned down some songs that not only withstood their live performances, but could also make a comfy little home for themselves in cd racks across the Uk. Given their sudden rise in popularity and a new record contract under their belt.. the world.
Success for this hard working outfit came in the shape of their top 40 smash hit 'Jump On Demand' not disimilar to pop punkers A's 'Starbucks' as it joyfully hits out at the capitalist employer and mindfully defends the working classes, like a loyal old night watchman with only a maglight to defend him and if he's lucky his extremely old jack russel called trevor...Anyway where was i?... Ah yes..Spunge now have their foot in the door of the Uk's again fast rising Punk and Ska movement. Sed movement has been recently helped along in popularity by certain american Punk bands making their way into our great nations pop music charts, bands such as Offspring, Blink 182, Sum41 and most recently Bowling For Soup to name but a few. The other element worth considering is the fast rising success of 'Kerrang TV' The nations favourite rock music magazine in a music video format showing on all digital equipt television sets nationwide (Sky Digital channel 454).
So what can we expect form these UK Ska heroes? Well the answer to that my friends and loyal readers is anyhting and everything. Given that they have proved themselves as a live outfit for years and now have a frenetic, catchy set of songs with a feel good factor thats off the scale the sky really is the limit. Goodluck Spunge!
Standout tracks: 'Roots', 'Change Of Scene', 'Skanking Song'(live), 'Jump On Demand'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could do better!, 10 Oct 2002
By 
50's Gasser (Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Story So Far (Audio CD)
After following [SPUNGE] for a few years now both live and Audio, I have to say that as this is possibly the some of the worst music they have ever produced. To be fare in the old days, their covers were great, but they should really stick to what they're good at and playing cheesy pop punk while still trying to be all "hardcore" isn't working.
If you liked [SPUNGE] in the old days, close your ears and run away. If your one of their younger listeners you may enjoy...
I wish I could be more positive but it is truely hard. There are far better independent bands playing far better music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars That the hell happened?, 16 Sep 2002
This review is from: The Story So Far (Audio CD)
Maybe I'm being extremely harsh only giving one star, maybe if this was the first album i ever heard i might really like it. But the problem is that I've been listening to spunge for a long time now, i love the album 'room for abuse' and i've heard most of the songs from pedigree chump. The songs on these albums were amazing, they had an incredible sound of light bouncy off beat ska, songs like 'get along', 'whitehouse', 'ego', 'kicking pigeons', 'lyrical content' were brilliant. But I heard roots, and was to be honest mortified, how could such a great band just turn around and destroy everything that made their music great. I dont know if they are trying to appeal to the MTV audiences or what but either way, this does not sound like the spunge that i was listening to on room for abuse. If you've never heard of spunge before you might like this, if you are a fan of them then be very wary because whilst you may like it, (this is just my opinion)being a fan of ska for many years, listening to bands like Less Than Jake, Reel Big Fish, the Bosstones, Five Iron Frenzy, this really sounds like sum41 style guitar riffs with different vocals and if i want to listen to sum41 i'll buy a sum41 album. If i want to listen to great bouncy ska, apparently i wont listen to the new [spunge] album i'll got and listen to 'room for abuse' and 'pedigree chump'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An honest review about an album you should own, 5 Sep 2002
This review is from: The Story So Far (Audio CD)
The latest album from this 5 piece ska punk band is something that everyone should own. Containing both the recent single releases "roots" and "jump on demand" as well as a whole host of other new stuff, really old stuff ("Friend Called Fred") and what I believe to be a more polished version of the old favourite "ego". There is no track that stands out in particular on this album but the whole thing merges together making the album very easy to listen to with everything fitting into place nicely. This doesn't mean that the whole album is the same thing repeated 11 times...with recognisable differences noticable in the tracks, the most vivid being for "Dotted Line" which has something almost hardcore about it. This album shows the increasing maturity of the band and I admit that one the whole this album is not overly different to their previous two album releases but if you listen carefully you will notice the occasional new element such as turntable scratching on the track "The Story So Far". I guarantee that within a week of getting this album you will be singing along to most of the songs , with "Skanking Song" and "Friend Called Fred" being two of the most catchy songs i have ever heard. Summing this album up in five words for me it is...Simple, Exciting, Happy, Upbeat, Catchy. Go and buy this album boys and girls, I was impressed and if you like ska/punk then you will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars www.glasswerk.co.uk, 3 April 2003
By 
ricky (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Story So Far (Audio CD)
The new album from Gloucestershire skank meisters Spunge is a collection of melodic skate punk seemingly proclaiming happiness in an upbeat kinda way. All of the songs are clearly influenced by our American counterparts as you would expect from any self respecting skank outfit and in a way that I am not normally inclined to bother listening to, yet I find myself really liking this album. For a start it contains some of the most infectious songs known to man, or woman for that matter. I tell no lie, I am now unable to listen to this album without finding myself subconsciously nodding and bouncing up and down in my seat, that is how catchy these tracks are. Throughout the album the shouty vocals are supplemented by an array of clean reggae style guitars, bouncy bass lines and harmonies.
It really is hard to pick out any outstanding tracks off this album because they are all so damn catchy, but the previous single release 'Roots' does have a particularly bouncy and energetic quality. 'Give it a Try' actually reminds me a lot of the 80's post punk outfit 'Madness' in that I want to break out into the traditional 'Madness' jig every time I hear it due to the severely funky guitar work. 'Change of Scene' features some very effective tempo changes which help to inject yet more excitement and pace into the song. 'Ego' has probably the most memorable chorus of the lot, the lead singer proclaiming that he is "the host with the mostest"; while 'Too Little Too Late' is perhaps the closest that Spunge come to a chilled out tune with more relaxed vocals and a slower tempo, yet still retaining the trademark 'fun bouncy' style. To anyone who normally avoids any type of music even related to punk my advice is to give this a listen, there's a fair chance that you won't be disappointed.
Seph
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story So Far
The Story So Far by Spunge (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews