Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MY ENGLISH DAUGHTER...
This is a well acted, quirky period piece with an unusual story line. Here, an English gentleman (Stephen Dillane) is looking for a weekend of fairly anonymous sex in hopes of fathering a child, as his invalid wife is not up to the task. An impoverished Swiss miss (Sophie Marceau) is desperate for money due to her family's circumstances. She passes muster during the...
Published on 15 Dec 2002 by Lawyeraau

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money
The film itself is one of my many favourite love stories ("50 First Dates" is another). A nice little tale about how a woman in desperate need of money to save her father from economical trouble, ends up carrying this man's child for a--at the time--large sum of money. It also has a very good cast. Sophie Marceau, perhaps being the most widely known to an international...
Published on 6 Aug 2012 by Qruqs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MY ENGLISH DAUGHTER..., 15 Dec 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Firelight [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a well acted, quirky period piece with an unusual story line. Here, an English gentleman (Stephen Dillane) is looking for a weekend of fairly anonymous sex in hopes of fathering a child, as his invalid wife is not up to the task. An impoverished Swiss miss (Sophie Marceau) is desperate for money due to her family's circumstances. She passes muster during the initial interview with the English gentleman and is hired for the job of potential surrogate mother. Their nights of anonymous sex turn out to be a surprise for both of them, yet they part with the understanding that they will never again meet. Their union having proved fruitful, she ultimately gives birth to a child, their daughter, who is taken from her immediately after birth and given to the father, as contracted. For seven long years they are seperated. They are then all brought together, causing upheaval and tumultuous changes in all their lives.
This is a well acted drama with fine performances by the entire cast. The only wrong note is struck by the child who plays the seven year old daughter. She is simply odious and obnoxious, making the viewer itch to slap her. There is nothing that the child does that makes the viewer feel the child's desire for a mother. The other performers, however, more than make up for this one dimensional child actress. Moreover, the cinematography is quite beautiful, with stunning shots of a fairytale lakehouse. All in all, this is a film that those who love period pieces will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 2 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firelight [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best films I have ever seen. Outstanding performances by Sophie Marceau and Stephen Dillane. Marceau is a superb actress, and here she really shines. The film has subtle yet simple and intelligent plot line(s), I discovered new finesses also at the fifth viewing. There is one medical implausibility, but I am willing to accept that in view of it's contribution to the unfolding of the story. I would have preferred a less abrupt ending (and would have loved to listen to Elisabeth and Louisa in the lake house), but that may only be a sign that I would like to have more of the kind of emotional experience that this film gave me. Since it is a period piece set in the 19th century, it will endure and not grow old for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superbly atmospheric, haunting and a heart-warming film!, 1 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Firelight [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie has a lovely feel to it and the lead actors are both mesmerising. The story is rather unlikely, but nevertheless I was spellbound by the film. The child actress is also brilliant, none of that trembling lip acting which spoils a film. I can truly recommend this film as one of the best I have seen for a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic, 20 Aug 2005
This review is from: Firelight [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of the best films I have ever seen, and sadly enough, one of the least well known. It's funny, moving and well shot, the acting is superbe and the story is just plain brilliant. It's a shame that there doesn't seem to be a DVD...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll be surprised..., 24 Jun 2009
This review is from: Firelight [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
.. by its beauty and intensity. The acting is the best imaginable. More leading roles for Stephen Dillane, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This One Is Unforgettable!, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firelight [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the most touching films I have in my collection.
A upper class man wants a child, but his wife is very sick and can't give him one.
He makes a deal with a poor young woman (Sophie Marceau)that need money to solve some problems in her family.
She`s going to give him a baby, and then leave the castle with a lot of money, and with the promise to never return.
The time she and the man spend together while getting her pregnant, slowly ends up in deeper feelings, but the mans
sick wife is still alive, helpless in bed, and the deal included that the young girl (Marceau) should leave and
never return as soon as the baby was born.
But the surrogate mother is not able to forget the baby, and is still drawn to the man that now is the father of
her child. She see only one solution to be able to be near them, and that is to get job as a servant in the house.
This is already well described in other reviews, so all I can do is to recommend this with all my heart.
You will probably not be able to hold back some tears now and then, but so what...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 17 Aug 2013
This review is from: Firelight [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This review is about the dvd itself, not the actual film. I bought this thinking I would be getting the film in French, however, the dvd is in German, although there do seem to be English and French subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic film, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched this film yeas ago and it didn't disappoint this time round. It was dispatched really quickly and included clear instructions about how to select/de-select subtitles in the envelope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful, romantic and moving film, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firelight [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this period drama, the acting is sensational! There is obvious chemistry between the two lead characters and the child's acting is also extremly moving. It is very convincing. I loved it! I can not believe I had never seeen this one before, being such an avid fan of Period drama's. It has become a firm favourite! You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely, moving story, 6 Jan 2013
This review is from: Firelight [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Although this film is really not well known atall, it truly deserves to be.... Beautifully shot and very evocotive of the period. The casting is superb, with perhaps the exception of the little girl. She does try, but she really isn't right for this particular role, sorry. However this detail is unlikely to spoil the overall enjoyment of the film. It is a good story and is scripted very well, Joss Akland makes the most of his fairly limited time on camera and does a great job as the unsympathetic father bent on his own entertainment and with scant regard for his sons personality. If you enjoy a period film with a healthy dose of romance then you are unlikely to be disappointed here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Firelight [1998] [DVD]
Firelight [1998] [DVD] by William Nicholson (DVD)
£13.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews