Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Gilmour in Concert - well worth the wait
This truly is an amazing DVD, and I would wholeheartedly recommend it for any Pink Floyd or David Gilmour fan.
Reminiscent of the "Unplugged" series of concerts by Eric Clapton & co., this features the 1 hour long Meltdown concert and three tracks from the Royal Festival Hall 2002.
The show starts with a chilling acoustic Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 1-5)...
Published on 25 Oct 2002 by R. Hall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
I've enjoyed Gilmour's limited solo career (wish he'd done more) and have been keen to get hold of as much stuff as possible so leapt at the chance to buy this DVD. Sadly the sound is ropey and the visuals aren't a great deal better. It feels like a pirated video but the camera angles suggest otherwise. Viewed as a historical record of Gilmour's career in the post-Floyd...
Published on 22 Oct 2009 by Safari Dino


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Gilmour in Concert - well worth the wait, 25 Oct 2002
By 
R. Hall "--rich--" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Gilmour In Concert [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This truly is an amazing DVD, and I would wholeheartedly recommend it for any Pink Floyd or David Gilmour fan.
Reminiscent of the "Unplugged" series of concerts by Eric Clapton & co., this features the 1 hour long Meltdown concert and three tracks from the Royal Festival Hall 2002.
The show starts with a chilling acoustic Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 1-5). The opening few lines of Coming Back To Life put goosebumps on the back of your neck as if it was the first time you'd heard the song, and High Hopes has been tremedously adapted to an acoustic set with stunning Choir backing vocals.
The brand new track Smile is very Gilmour and very good, and as you'd expect, Wish You Were Here fits very well into this style of concert. I'd best describe Robert Wyatt's vocal contribution to Comfortably Numb as "interesting", but this is more than made up for by the usual brilliant ending. Later on we're treated to Shine On (Parts 6-8) which are, not suprisingly, wonderful.
The Royal Festival Hall tracks are great. Richard Wright joins for his own Breakthough from Broken China, and stays on when Bob Geldof guests on a far better Comfortably Numb. This one has the second goosebump-moment of the disc when David Gimour's delivery of "There is no pain, you are receding" sends shivers down your spine...
The extra's are good (I Put A Spell On You with Jools Holland & Mica Paris is far better than the release on Small World Big Band), Shakespeare's Sonnet 18 is beautifully performed, and strongly reminds me of the opening of On The Turning Away.
The menu style and backing track is pleasing. For the soundtrack, I have only listened to the 5.1 presentation and was very impressed - everything is well balanced and the channels aren't over used.
This is a DVD you'll play over and over again, and would be money well spent.
Until the track list is added to the description:
01. Shine on you crazy diamond (Parts 1-5)
02. Terrapin
03. Fat old sun
04. Coming back to life
05. High Hopes
06. Je crois entendre encore
07. Smile
08. Wish you were here
09. Comfortably Numb (with Robert Wyatt)
10. Dimming of the day
11. Shine on you crazy diamond
12. A great day for freedom
13. Hushabye mountain
14. Dominoes
15. Breakthrough (with Richard Wright)
16. Comfortably numb (with Bob Geldof & Richard Wright)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Hopes!, 26 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: David Gilmour In Concert [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I Bought this DVD only because it was Dave Gilmour and I was curious about it. This a cracking DVD to go with a cracking concert. Gilmour covers his own material as well as the Floyd and some Syd Barrett numbers, all be it acoustically which comes across just as good as the originals. Appearances from Rick Wright, Bob Geldof and Robert Wyatt also add credit to the songs. It offers fans a chance to hear Floyd songs maybe the way Gilmour intended them to be. Highlights are Shine On you Crazy Diamond, High Hopes, Coming Back to life, Fat Old Sun, A Great Day For Freedom and Two versions of Comfortably Numb featuring Wyatt and Geldof singing Waters parts' The extras are also really good but ill leave that as a surprise for you all! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Gilmour in Concert - A Superb Record on DVD, 28 Oct 2002
By 
R. S. East "hearts in croatia" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Gilmour In Concert [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Having been fortunate enough to have attended David Gilmour’s live ‘solo’ performance at London’s Royal Festival Hall, I was anxious to own a record of this unique appearance of the Pink Floyd singer/guitarist on DVD, and pre-ordered the DVD when its release was first announced.
I was not disappointed. The DVD version, in 5:1 Dolby Digital Stereo and 16:9 anamorphic superbly complements Gilmour’s traditionally high production values. The camerawork and film quality give the viewer a more intimate experience of the performance than would be afforded even in a front row seat, with excellent sound, mixing and balancing, capturing every nuance of the range of instruments and voices Gilmour assembled for this rare event.
Like many Floyd fans, old (in my case!) and new, it is a real treat to see how Gilmour’s set, the nearest thing to a “Pink Floyd Unplugged” we will perhaps ever see, reworks Floyd favourites through captivating and refreshing arrangements: Shine On You Crazy Diamond opens the show with a subtle build-up on acoustic guitar, and is joined with superb playing from original Floyd sax man, Dick Parry. Fresh arrangements of High Hopes, Great Day For Freedom, Wish You Were Here, Fat Old Sun are other highlights from the Pink Floyd canon, all featuring sterling vocal and instrumental work, not just from one of rock’s best guitarists, but from a splendid ensemble of players, including Michael Kamen on piano and Chucho Merchan on double bass.
The DVD contains two versions of Comfortably Numb, with singers Robert Wyatt and Bob Geldof both taking the Roger Waters ‘Doctor’ role.
Je Crois Entendre Encore from Bizet’s Pearl Fishers and Hushabye Mountain (from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!) show just how powerful and moving David Gilmour’s singing is. His voice has stood the test of time, and these recordings beautifully capture his range and technique.
Other highlights are not to be missed: The dramatic build up to the second instalment of Shine On is very powerful indeed, with Gilmour’s bottleneck slide guitar solo. Two Syd Barrett solo numbers (Terrapin and Dominoes) make a mellow and hypnotic addition to the set. Floyd keyboard player/singer Rick Wright also performs Breakthrough from his Broken China album, a beautiful and chilling number, backed by Gilmour’s remarkable choir.
The DVD version also features footage of rehearsals, lyrics, miscellaneous filmed performances, and close-ups of guitar fingerings for budding Gilmours and students of music. This selection is really great value.
I can wholly recommend this excellent DVD. Every Pink Floyd fan should have this, as should anyone interested in contemporary music. It records the recent work of one of rock’s most noted guitarists, singers and writers. With the layers of trademarked Floydian technology peeled away, this is a chance to see that excellent song writing and musicianship can still deliver its hefty punch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Gilmour still has that magic touch, 25 Oct 2002
This review is from: David Gilmour In Concert [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This DVD is a recording of the Meltdown concert in 2001 with three additional tracks from the concert in 2002 (that I was lucky enough to attend). Most of the music is played accoustically, and played very effectively. There are a few magic moments where David Gilmour picks up an electric guitar and understandably the audience goes wild. There is a mix of old and new Pink Floyd, some Syd Barrett and a couple of other well chosen tracks that really make this a compelling DVD to enjoy.
Gilmour's singing reaches some real heights, particularly on the Bizet track 'Je crois entendre encore'. Both parts of 'Shine on you crazy diamond' are movingly played. The first part is a complex accoustic piece, on the second he really wails. I really enjoyed the two Syd Barrett pieces, 'Terrapin' and 'Dominoes'. It was good to see Richard Wright turning up to play a couple of pieces, the track 'Breakthrough' from his solo album was well executed. Old favourites 'Fat old sun' and 'Wish you were here' were fresh and full of life. Quite why we needed two versions of 'Comfortably numb' is a mystery, surely this piece of music exists in more versions than any other! Both are good, though, the guitar solos are excellent. There is one new Gilmour composition 'Smile', an easy and mellow number. All of the sixteen tracks from the two concerts are top notch.
The DVD extras are pretty good. He plays a great blues piece 'I put a spell on you' with Jools Holland and Mica Paris and sings a Shakespeare sonnet really well. Additionally there are some home videos of rehersals, close ups of his guitar solos and the lyrics to the songs.
This DVD shows that David Gilmour is not too old to play or sing with skill and style, it would be great if he could produce at least one more CD of original material before he finally retires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Ozric Tentacles Fan, 5 Nov 2002
By 
Mr D Murphy (Ramsgate, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: David Gilmour In Concert [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
In my opinion, Music on DVD makes you explore the music you enjoy in a totally different way, its a dream to have such quality & sound in your own living room. I only buy Music DVD's cause you dont get bored of watching them over & over again. "David Gilmour in Concert" is quality. To me it is very moving to see a living legend playing stuff that we all know & love without all the lazer beams & lights etc..that we are used to seeing at a Floyd Concert (not that i dont like that)..This DVD is more personal, simple and in some ways more beautiful. You can see DG is enjoying every minute of it. He is still a fantastic singer and can still play the mean guitar. Shame that Roger Walters wasn't there for a track!!! but hey we cant get everything in life. I was a bit disapointed with Robert Wyatt & Bob Geldof reading the words off a piece of paper whilst contributing to Confortably Numb...Couldnt they remember the words!!!? The Syd Barrett tracks are great, ive never heard them played live by anyone before.
If you get a chance buy it!!!!!Ozric Tentacles live at the Pongmasters ball DVD is out soon now that should be good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Rock God shines like a 21st century Folk Hero"- The Times, 16 May 2003
By 
This review is from: David Gilmour In Concert [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
From the flamboyant to the humble; from the extravagant to the simplistic; from the unreachable to the intimate. Who would have thought Pink Floyd would translate so beautifully into accoustic? It's quite surreal to see Gilmour performing Shine on You Crazy Diamond on his own and an accoustic guitar: an epic successfully transformed into a sweet lulaby. Even weirder is a comely performed aria from one of Bizet's operas. Gilmour's vocals are delicate and suave. I'd say they're amongst his finest. Just like a good wine that matures with time, his music is more exquisite than ever. I recommend very highly this DVD to anyone who loves art and good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 7 Feb 2003
By 
E. Schilling (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Gilmour In Concert [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I was looking for a Pink Floyd's live performance on DVD, just to find out that there is no one released yet. So I bought this Gilmour's live performance, with any expectation at all.
Great was my surprise from the beginning, with the acoustic version of "Shine on...", and a mature but yet precise and confident David Gilmour alone on stage.
Since then, the temperature only could rise, till the last song,the second version of "Comfortably Numb", with Bob Geldorf as guest performer who did it much better than Robert Wyatt on the first version, although both "played the guest" reading their part, but that's just a fuzzy detail.
An special mention to the band, who did it brilliant. Caroline Dale has a great soul and tempo, a delightful cello performer.
If you like Pink Floyd, or if you lived those good times of Symphonic Rock, this is a must-have, for sure. Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When's the next Floyd album, Dave?, 30 July 2006
By 
J. D. Atkinson (Halifax, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Gilmour In Concert [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I was fortunate enough to be at the first Meltdown show that forms the bulk of the DVD, and the DVD captures the quality of the performance beautifully. Both stereo and surround soundtracks are immaculate.

Sadly, they, erm, omitted a couple of highly amusing moments. Firstly, a heckler shouted out "When's the next Floyd album, Dave?" between songs, to which Gilmour replied instantly to much applause, "Who gives a f***?". Secondly, a heckler (possibly the same one) shouted, "Where's Roger?", which brought the response, "If you want him you can have him!".

This DVD is a great record of a great show, and I hope there will be a release from the "On an Island" tour in due course. If I could give it six stars, I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Floyd? Love this DVD..., 15 Mar 2006
This review is from: David Gilmour In Concert [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I have to say that on paper a reworking of a selection of Pink Floyd classics played mostly on acoustic guitars, lots of percussion, muted drums and even a 'cello(!) sounds like a recipe for an embarrassing self indulgent effort from an old rocker way past his sell by date. In fact, Gilmour successfully confounds everyone and underlines his enduring ability to effortlessly transform an illustrious back catalogue into something completely new and rather wonderful - all with the graceful ease one expects from this most reserved and revered of axemen.
The intimate mood is set from the opening track, a reworking of Shine On You Crazy Diamond, with Gilmour striding out onto the stage alone and conjuring up the familiar opening notes out of a couple of lazy blues licks before being joined by the rest of his band for a journey through Floyd ('Fat Old Sun' and a selection from 'Division Bell' alongside the usual mid-70s canon) Syd Barrett ('Dominoes' and 'Terrapin' are included) and even a reworking of Bizet's 'Je Crois Entendre Encore' (ambitious and interesting - but doesn't really work). Also worthy of note is the Rick Wright track ('Breakthrough') which is a great teaser for his under-rated solo material.
If you didn't manage to attend these concerts ("I did" he says smugly) then this is a great way to indulge your Floyd fetish until next time....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilmour - electric or acoustic shows his class, 25 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: David Gilmour In Concert [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
For any fan of Pink Floyd or Dave Gilmour this DVD is a real treat. It strips some of his best works down to just Dave Gilmour performing solo on his acoustic guitar,then other musicians,all of whom are of the highest quality, take it in turn to join in with him. The choir he uses in accompaniment are also excellent and at one stage are invited to perform a short piece on their own in testimony to their skill at delivering absolutely wonderful vocal harmonies with such a beautiful blend of voices.
This DVD captures every second of this concert in excellent detail, at certain points you can hear a pin drop between each note as a gripped audience show their respect for the quality of the numbers being performed before them.A particular joy is the special features section of this DVD which include clips of a rehearsal taking place in David Gilmour's home and for those who love David's renouned guitar solos the best of these are captured in wonderful close up as a seperate feature in their own right, a fitting tribute and real unexpected treat.
The quality of picture,sound and especially the content of this DVD make this an absolute must have for any genuine Gilmour/Floyd fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9896fa4)

This product

David Gilmour In Concert [DVD] [2002]
David Gilmour In Concert [DVD] [2002] by David Mallet (DVD - 2002)
15.95
In stock but may require up to 2 additional days to deliver
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews