Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JACK ROSENTHAL'S BEST
It would be hard to deny that this is Mr Maureen Lipman's best comedy drama. Every real-life London cabbie has seen this film and knows it off by heart. "Manor House to Gipton Square."
Would-be cabbies recite routes verbatim like children learning their times tables. Grown men are reduced to tears in the interrogation sessions, called...
Published on 14 April 2001 by D. V. GATENBY

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable Viewing
Quite enjoyed the film, although I found the pace a bit slow at times, and the format of going in and out of the examiners office for testing grated a bit after half an hour. I watched it til the end and it was OK, but can't say it will be in my top-50 films of all time.
Published on 17 Oct. 2011 by Mr. P. Fixter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JACK ROSENTHAL'S BEST, 14 April 2001
By 
D. V. GATENBY (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It would be hard to deny that this is Mr Maureen Lipman's best comedy drama. Every real-life London cabbie has seen this film and knows it off by heart. "Manor House to Gipton Square."
Would-be cabbies recite routes verbatim like children learning their times tables. Grown men are reduced to tears in the interrogation sessions, called "appearances." The dry, sardonic humour of Mr Burgess "I won't take offence if anyone here decides to call me 'Sir,'" the examiner, has caused this reader to burst into uncontrolled laughter and replay the appearance scenes over and over again.
This is one film that you will want to watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hawthorne at near his best, 7 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knowledge [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Let's face it, the film is grainy - this 'made for TV' film was filmed a long time ago - but very watchable and certainly most enjoyable. Nigel Hawthorne (Yes, Minister, Yes Prime Minister, The Madness of King George etc) is near his superb best as the head of London's taxi knowledge examiners. The four supporting cast members who sit for The Knowledge execute their roles to a high standard. If you like British comedy/drama - and this film has both - then it's well-worth seeing. Would have gone to 5 stars but the quality could be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mopeds & clipboards, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knowledge [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Bought for nostalgic reasons: I saw this film long before moving to London, then when living in London everytime I saw someone on a moped with a clipboard I thought 'The Knowledge!'. Last time I was in London, this summer, I saw the mopeds with the clipboards again and decided I wanted to revive my memory, so I bought the film. It lived up to my expectations, which can't be said for the cabby whom I once asked to drive me home after a late night at work, only to find out that he did not know the address (in South Ken.).
If you like London, you'll like this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second viewing after many many years!, 21 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. K. V. Hawkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knowledge [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
I watched this film when it first came out over 30 years ago and recently was in London with my 13 year old Grand-daughter and when she asked why people were riding round London on mopeds with big clip-boards on the handlebars, I told her about this film and resolved to get it for her if possible to watch and I'm really pleased I did. Wonderful depiction and I'm sure by the look of the numbers of people doing the "Knowledge" in London to this day, the same applies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigel Hawthorne at his best., 4 Oct. 2000
Essential viewing for the potential "Black Cabbie".So real, a real rollercoaster of life.Comedy, strife and dissappointment.This film has it all.A defininate must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real piece of inspiration, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knowledge [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
A little dated but totally compelling this lovable story about a few characters from various walks of life who decide to become London taxi drivers is a delight to watch and remember. Nigel Hawthorne is at his best as the examiner; it's worth watching the film for his scenes alone. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knowledge [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Great for all cabbies, knowledge boys or the public who need to know what all cabbies go through to get their licence, to ferry you about! Watch it and I'm sure you'll tip your next cab driver very handsomely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great humour and brilliant story, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knowledge [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
no smoking please if you dont mind...lol.what a way to introduce yourself mr burgess, no applause please haha.loved this film from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet but dated., 19 Jan. 2014
By 
--Gene (Somewhere in the USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knowledge [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
I first saw this decades ago when it was broadcast by my local public television station in the USA. I hadn't thought about it for years until I watched the latest '7 Up' installment.
This is a sweet little film, obviously made for tv on a shoestring budget. Most of the humor has aged well, although a few of the character portrayals are a bit overdone. It's nice to see some of the bits of London that are now long gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the knowledge, 29 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Knowledge [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
brilliant film..as i am currently on the knowledge myself it does make me larf..not bad for an old style fim where the haircuts are as old as the mopeds..bit different nowadays though with all those double red lines and bus lane and bus stand cameras and so many restrictions everywhere in london..better in the 70's when people didn't get stung and ripped off for putting their front wheel in a money making box lol..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Knowledge [DVD] [1979]
The Knowledge [DVD] [1979] by Bob Brooks (III) (DVD - 2003)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews