Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars13
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 19 January 2004
I have a little bit of a soft spot for this film. It's one of the first gay-themed films I saw and yes, I will agree with other reviewers that it's not exactly the deepest film ever - it's light, fluffy, and utterly inconsequential, and not without its flaws, but its heart is in the right place and I can't help liking it...
One thing to note about "It's In The Water" was that it was made for a very small budget. That's why there are no big or even half well-known names in the cast, and yes there is some quite dodgy acting in places! It's also why, well, not to put too fine a point on it, it's also why everything looks so cheap...
There are also a few other problems: a man dying in an Aids hospice who barely looks ill at all; occasional bad editing and camera angles; a few of the "punchlines" falling decidedly flat; a few lines that are just plain embarrassing and that will make you squirm!
Despite all this, there are some positives to this film. As I say, it has a good little heart: there's a lot of positivity here, mixed in with just a bit of angst. And the film has parallel love stories between two lesbians, and two gay men (although the lesbian storyline very much conforms to type, with one previously heterosexual woman being "converted" by her lesbian friend, blah blah blah, you know the drill), rather than being a strictly "lesbian" or "gay" film.
All in all, no, it won't change the world, but it's an entertaining little flick - quite flawed, but I like it, all the same - it has a sense of fun.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2003
Bought this DVD a few months ago, not knowing if the film was even "watchable".
It was a surprise, the film is really OK!!!
I can't tell you how many of my friends have borrowed the DVD from me and it is a MUST in all our parties.
Of course you can't expect it to be an Oscar winner but the characters are well built and the stereotypes are fab: Americans joking about American conservative stupidity - ABS FAB!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Me and my girlfriend both thought the film was great, it was lighthearted as well as dealing with gay issues. We both found it funny as and it dealt with narrow minded people really well. This film was just what we needed!
Identifying with the characters was easy as they were lovable (we both thought Alex was hot!) and I think every gay woman should have a mate like Spencer! Fab! :-) x
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2003
An endearing tale of two women who awake to one another: and two men who come to accept themselves. The humor is wrapped in the witty writing of Kelly Herd, who spares nothing in poking fun of the stereotypical American southern. Being one, I related to the characters and found myself chucking aloud. I have met so many of the movies personas in my little backwards southern hometown that I need only change the names and I would be home.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
Alex (Keri Jo Chapman) lives a privileged life in Azalea Springs, Texas working in the local AIDS Hospice. When recently divorced old school friend, Grace (Teresa Garrett) returns to town and confesses that she is a lesbian, Alex is initially shocked. After re-assessing her own life, Alex discovers that she has more than just friendly feelings for Grace. When Grace and Alex are 'outed' prematurely by another resident, it is jokingly noted that it must be something 'in the water' that is contributing to the rising number of homosexuals in the town. A funny, light-hearted film about being gay, coming out and being yourself.

Chris Alderson
Author of the 2013 Lesbian Film Guide
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2006
this is a deliciously gentle and pretty film which just doesn't deserve the heavy critique laid upon it by a couple of previous reviewers. Just chill and enjoy this gem - the main female star is utterly beautiful by the way
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
I found this film on YouTube and absolutely love it. Yes it has its issues as previously stated by others, but the one thing i love is that the two main characters - Alex and Grace - don't die at the end. And you have to remember it was made in 1997 so for its time its a great film. It has your typical homophobic people, but i just cant take them seriously. There's the typical Pastor who is in the closet and homophobic but... (don't want to spoil it for you) , there's the typical small town gossip who just cracks me up and then there's the gay friend. You even have a drag queen/ If you want an hour and half of just a fun film then this one is for you. Alex (Keri Jo Chapman) and Grace (Teresa Garrett) are both hot and the chemistry is there on screen. LOVE IT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2002
Anyone expecting this to be an in-depth analysis of gay life is gonna be disappointed but then thats not what It's in the Water is trying to be. Its light-hearted fun and I find it refreshing that it doesn't aim any higher than that. Most of the time straight comedies don't try to do anything but make you laugh and I don't see any reason why gay ones should have a different agenda. Put your feet up for a couple of hours and just be grateful you don't live in Azalea Springs - the women may be gorgeous but those people are crazy!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2007
I watched this film twice. And I have to be honest and say that the second time round it ranked higher. Now I was reading from a previous reviewer that this film was done on a low budget.
Well they did a good job. At first it may seem a so sweetishly fairy-like film but if you pay attention there are a few messages underneath it all. They may not have represented actual real life situations (at least one presumes) but some of the situations described in the film are not so far away from everyday life and people's misconceptions.
Maybe in real life people are harsher and circumstances can have a sourer aftertaste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2001
this could have been a great film but it takes time to get into it there are no real storie lines starting till about halfway through...
when alex starts to feel somthing for grace an old school friend she starts to deal with mayby being gay but this all takes place in the space of two days...
but there is a lot of humor in it which makes it more enjoyable....its a mixture of humor and sadness and coming to terms with things
to complicated to really judge...
the only way you'll know for sure what it like is if you watch it..
even with the slow then fast moving storielines i would still recomend it to anyone out there who's looking for a bit of a love storie
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)