Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPACE 1999 AS IT SHOULD BE SEEN by Mark Hevingham
This highly ambitious - if scientifically implausible -series has blasted onto DVD in three volumes - also collected as a box set - from Carlton video. Each disc carries four remastered episodes in production order.
I am hard to impress, but, having viewed the discs, I am literally stunned. The prints are faultless, bursting with a vibrancy unseen since the original...
Published on 30 April 2001

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent science fiction!!!
I think that this is been science finction's starting since 1970!!! A very good show. Kind regards, Marco Pieretti
Published on 18 April 2001 by m_pieretti@yahoo.it


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPACE 1999 AS IT SHOULD BE SEEN by Mark Hevingham, 30 April 2001
By A Customer
This highly ambitious - if scientifically implausible -series has blasted onto DVD in three volumes - also collected as a box set - from Carlton video. Each disc carries four remastered episodes in production order.
I am hard to impress, but, having viewed the discs, I am literally stunned. The prints are faultless, bursting with a vibrancy unseen since the original transmissions. Colours are solid and natural, and it is now time to burn those shoddy drop out ridden VHS copies that we all bought in the 90's! This is Space 1999 as it should be seen.
Not even the BBC's remastered prints can hold a candle to these newly refurbished copies - which could have been filmed last week, let alone over a quarter of a century ago!
Obvious love and attention has gone into all three volumes and whilst brief the extras are worth a look too. Be prepared for nifty animated menus and a fantastic "this disc" parody of the "this episode" title cards.
If I could I would give these discs - Carlton's best yet - six stars!Buy these discs immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science fiction at its best..., 17 Sep 2001
By 
Luca Iaboni (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Ratings are always personal, but objectively Space 1999 has represented one of the greatest (and sadly enough, less imitated) science fiction series of all time.
Some episodes may now seem a bit dated, but this does not render things less fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly under-estimated series, 17 Nov 2001
I remembered Space 1999 from when I was a kid, specifically the music to series 2. After the BBC screened the series in it's entirety a few years ago I was hooked. The quality of the DVD is excellent - no doubt helped by the fact the original series was recorded on film. Stories such as 'Breakaway' and 'Earthbound' are classic examples of TV Sci-Fi. If only I could find a model of those wonderful Eagle spacecraft !Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space 1999 knocks the socks off any Star Trek series!, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
Carlton have done a terrific job of transfering Space 1999 to DVD. The quality of each of the twelve episodes in the box-set is quite simply exilent, far better than the previously released VHS versions from a few years ago. The opening menu and "This Disc" brought a smile to this fans face. The extras are informative but a behind-the-scenes feature would have been a welcome addition. I look forward to volumes 4,5&6 of season one. For me, Space 1999 was always better than any Star Trek series and far more exiting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staple guns for 'stun guns' and lovin it !, 13 Oct 2009
Takes me back to Sundays, sure it was a Sunday, about midday when this used to be shown on mainstream telly.
Really enjoying it all over again !..lovin' the stun guns - they do look like staple guns from a D.I.Y. shop, and those Eagle spaceships..I remember I had a toy one as a kid :) Yeah, bring it on at..It's all at Moonbase Alpha.. Space 1999 for us oldies who want to be kids again..I always remember Barbara Bain as she spun round in the credits and her hair-that never moved ! and am really looking forward to seeing Maya again as the camera zooms into her eyes - YIKES !!what's she gonna be this time ? ! Courageous Commander Koenig and Barry Morse as the man with the frizzy professor like hair..all of them, the whole gang sticking together as the Moon travels the universe hoping to find it's way back home..ahhhh....
This is the mentality of all this and I'm laughing at what I've just written and yes, I'm guarding my newly arrived boxset, and no one can borrow it, it's mine !!! coz I've waited over 30 years for this to arrive in the post!!
I'm collecting DVD's of telly progs I watched when I was a kid and Gerry Anderson shows are top of my list. Watching Space 1999 back to back with 'Secret service'(another classic with a secret agent clergyman !), I must take my hat off to Mr Anderson and to his creative vision which made kids tv before teatime and on a Sunday so interesting and exciting during my childhood. Thanks again :) 10/10 Gerry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat for you alphans, 9 July 2003
This review is from: Space - 1999: Volumes 1-6 (Box Set) [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Space 1999 was one of those shows I remembered from my childhood, particularly the opening theme tune and the montage of images, my favourite being the eagle spinning round and slamming into the moon's surface.
I bought this box set even though I had every episode on video from the time ITC released it originally, needless to say those videos have gone because the DVD releases are superb!
From the moment the eagle does a fly by you know you are in for something special and Carlton have done a masterful job of remastering the series. Each episode looks fantastic, colour and sound is superb and the special effects somehow look better.
The special features are also high quality and I would urge any fan of Space 1999 to go out and buy this now! You won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four of the Best, 18 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This is probably the best DVD of the 12, featuring 4 excellent episodes (all from the first season). The Infernal Machine features Leo McKern as both Companion and the voice of Gwent, the ship/computer which arrives on the Moon searching for supplies and more companions.
The second episode features the Alphans attending to a distress call from a giant ship adrift in space. What they find there is something far more horrifying than mutated survivors of a nuclear blast. Joan Collins guests as one of the Darians.
The third episode, arguably the series' finest hour, is Dragon's Domain. It tells the story of one of the Alphan crew and his earlier, horrifying encounter with a creature which killed the crew of his exploration ship. No-one ever believed him but now as the Moon drifts near a spaceship graveyard the question arises as to how much truth there is in his story.
The fourth episode, entitled Testament of Arkadia consolidates the idea that their is a higher purpose involved in the Moon's odyssey. Nearing a planet, the Moon is brought to an abrupt halt. As their power is being drained it looks as if their only option is to try and settle on the planet. Initially finding it barren, the Alphans all but give up on the planet only to discover that it hides a great secret.
Four of the finest episodes, great picture quality and sound quality, this DVD also includes the writer's guide for the series. However, there is one flaw which spoils the DVD - the colour for Dragon's Domain is wrong. Everything that is meant to look yellow is orange. Such a shame, since all the other Carlton DVDs are close to perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do not pay attention to reviews, 7 Jun 2009
The episodes are presented in EXACT production order. As the series was syndicated, that is the only way to provide a definative order. Over all not a bad collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future is still fantastic!!!!, 21 Nov 2001
By 
Victor Marino Jr. "VICTORWHO" (Keansburg, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Twenty-five years after they were first transmitted, Space: 1999 year two episodes look better than ever. The quality of the prints is outstanding with the mono soundtrack sounding wonderful. Derek Wadsworth's jazzy music is still fun to hear. Here is a show that dispite it's title is not as dated as I thought it would be. The special effects by wizard Brian Johnson are still fun to watch and Moonbase Alpha interiors are very realistic. The extras on the discs are alot of fun with many stills featured that I had never seen before. Overall a great buy for fans of the series and science fiction fans in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Koenig to Moonbase Alpha!", 14 Sep 2008
By 
Sheryl Jackman "Wildstar" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After the sombre and gritty feel of season one, season two of Space: 1999 feels almost light and fluffy in comparason. Boasting flashy new credits, a smaller Mission Control and redesigned costumes, the season two opening episode, The Metamorph, also introduced us to two new characters - the dashing Security Chief Tony Verdeschi, played by Tony Anholt, and the shape shifting Psychon, Maya, played by Catherine Schell. Most of the season one major characters return, with the exception of Paul Morrow and Victor Bergman who, I think, is the most sadly missed. His solid performance as the elderly Professor lent a steadying edge to the rest of the cast and he had a wonderful easy and natural acting style that no one else mastered. However, the two newcomers fill his absence nicely, displaying great chemistry in all their scenes together, and hinting at a possible off-screen romance!

Season one was often quite neutral in colour, but in season two colour abounds, both in the sets and the Moonbase uniforms, with the cast now sporting flashy new jackets. Storylines also take a gigantic leap forward, gifting us with action packed episodes and aliens that often pop in and out of Moonbase with alarming regularity and little regard for security! Some fans have argued that the second season loses the plot a little and goes over the top - as a fan I enjoy both seasons for different reasons - season one for its grittiness, excellent storylines and classic look, and season two for its pace, humour and characterisation.

Favourite episodes include The Metamorph, New Adam New Eve, The Beta Cloud, Dorzak and The Immunity Syndrome, but I guess this is because Verdeschi features quite heavily in most of them! Okay, I admit it - I'm shallow!

Space: 1999 didn't receive the recognition it deserved back in the '70's, due primarily to being bounced around the TV networks without adequate promotion. Now it has a following of dedicated fans and the two seasons have achieved cult status. As a fan of both seasons, I have no hesitation in recommending Space: 1999 to any new viewer. For its age, the effects are groundbreaking, particularly the beautiful backdrops of space, although admittedly some of the alien effects are quite laughable and often a little repetitive. But the series hasn't achieved cult status for nothing. I'll leave it up to you to decided which season is your favourite - have fun finding out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Space - 1999: Volumes 1-6 (Box Set) [DVD] [1975]
99.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews