Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Breed of Secret Agent
I loved this film when it first came out and I love it still to this day, 10 years after it was first released.

xXx focuses on renegade Xander Cage, a carefree hellraiser who is thrown into the world of international espionage and terrorism "overnight", to use the term. It isn't long before the NSA recruit him and send him to Prague in the Czech Republic to...
Published on 6 Nov 2012 by Fox in the Box

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Noisy video game style fun
What exactly do you want here? Shakespeare? Vin Diesel plays a video game style action hero/antihero who lives life for driving sports cars off bridges. Like a certain substance I could mention it does exactly what it says on the tin. If this kind of movie is not your bag, well so be it, but if it is then this is high octane fun with some good stunts, some good one...
Published on 16 Jan 2008 by Sarah J. Marquis


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double-0 who?, 23 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: xXx [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
From start to finish xXx is a rip-roaring roller coaster of action and superb stunts. Vin Diesel as the reluctant spy is highly entertaining and for anyone who needs to compare the movie to any James Bond film, all I can say is: You've missed the point!
The film opens in Prague and a amazing scene involving a dead body crowd surfing during a Rammstein concert. The pyrotechnics performed during the Band's concert serve as a taster of the myriad of explosions and special pyro-effects to come. Samuel L Jackson is class and the whole movie is played tongue-in-cheek, which is not meant as any criticism to the storyline, in fact director Rob Cohen hit the right note with the humour.
So cue Martin Csoskas as the evil Russian baddie and his dastardly plan to unleash his secret chemical weapon 'silent night' on unsuspecting cities around the world. After fighting a Colombian drug gang (just as a test!) and snowboarding down a mountain on an avalanche what else is left for our intrepid hero Agent xXx or Xander Cage (Vin Diesel) to give him his full name, to do? Well there's paragliding onto a runaway bomb and riding it at full speed on the Vitava River into the centre of Prague! Its' real edge-of-the-seat stuff with a superb soundtrack too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: xXx [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Not bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars blue collar bond?, 15 Jan 2005
Fast paced , some nice bond riffs with tongue firmly in cheek of course and some humour too. Great for a boys in with beer and curry..21 century culture!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars diesel powered is best., 15 Aug 2003
This review is from: xXx [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I saw xxx at the movie theatre when it first came out ,with a group of friends. We came out of that movie feeling full of adrenaline from the stunts that we had seen.It was fantastic! I have now brought it on dvd and the extras you get on it make you realise just how much of a brave and strong person vin diesel is to be able to do most of his own stunts like he does. plus, he is the best to watch. I would just adviser anyone who likes action movies to watch it... asia argento did a fabulous performance also as the other starring role,and Martin Csortas is a fantastic new comer from New Zealand. M y advice is to buy it because to watch the xxx experience once is never enough.(EVEN MY 4 YEAR OLD LOVES IT!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubish, Dire, Terrible, 1 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: xXx [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I've seen my fair share of bad films in my time but this one takes the cake. Its ninety minutes of video game type stunts strung together with what was apparently a story line. So i sugest you save your money go buy yourself a tin of paint apply it to the wall then sit and watch it dry for ninety minutes, it'll be a lot more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars for script, but 5 for the DVD "experience", 4 Feb 2003
By 
A. J. Kirke "alexis kirke" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: xXx [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Wow! What a great sonic experience, and what a grim script and disappointing ending. If you like extreme sports perhaps this is worth buying. Similarly if you like Vin Diesal or you want a demo disk for you system, you may want to purchase it. Otherwise... Well you'll see below.
Basically the US want their own James Bond - and XXX is their first real try. His stunt with a stars and stripes parachute makes it clear what this movie is trying to emulate. The twist in this is XXX himself is anything but a "gentleman" like Bond. He is an anti-establishment extreme sports enthusiast who has done one illegal stunt too many. He has a choice from the US government of either becoming an agent, or going to jail. Guess which he chooses?
Scriptwise, I enjoyed the "tests" in the first quarter of the movie where suitable agents were being identified by the government. I also liked some of the filming techniques, and it was generally a great soundtrack. The movie is overstylish and the surround sound field overdone. But these two things work together to create a fun audio-visual experience.O yes - I almost forgot - the plot. XXX has to stop some anarchists from mass slaughter in multiple cities round the globe, and he gets off with a cute, if dilapedated, looking "anti-Bond" girl while it all happens.
I must take a paragraph to mention the stunts. Me and my mates were cracking up at the ridiculous size of the bike jumps and explosions that XXX was involved in. They were so silly they were fun! However, there was one stunt towards the end involving snowboarding which was cool beyond words! And it was followed by one of the best layer changes I ever seen on a DVD.
Although it's a fun experience, if you're an average Bond fan like me you'll probably want to rent this one, but not buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's similar to Bond..but Bond in a completely different way, 3 Mar 2003
This review is from: xXx [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Let me make this clear to start with, I do like Bond and I do notice that this is an American 'counterpart' trying to be the new-age. But I have to say I loved it. Yes, the stunts are outrageously over the top, but that's what this film is all about. Even the humour mocks the 'typical' Bond-style acceptance that we have and we begin to realise that it is no more outrageously false than the classic 007 films are; BUT NOT TO SAY EITHER OF THEM ARE RUBBISH.
The first thing I noticed when I saw this film at the cinema was "wow...this is loud". It certainly isn't a film you want to put on and watch with your grandparents, although at least they won't need the volume switching up! Even the most sceptical of this film in my family came out of the cinema liking it. The action never stops as Vin Diesel (X (or xXx)) runs into one excuse to perform extreme sports-style stunts and play the cat and mouse game of secret agent, all be it reluctantly. Vin Diesel fans will love this film, most Bond fans will love this film, and certainly extreme sports fans will love this film. If you want to get away from the strains of your life for a couple of hours, buy this and experience the life of xXx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Triple X, 23 Feb 2003
This review is from: xXx [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I went to see this film at the cinema on the basis that it had made a massive i,pact in America and that people were calling it the new James Bond. Pah! Find out for yourself and watch this if you feel the need and curiousity, but this film is VERY bad. The stunts are too over the top (yes, even more than Bond's - and then some more), the camera work is dire, the editing is very patchy (and there are many shot-to-shot flaws with regards to continuity), and s a final note, I cannot see what all the fussis about with Vin Diesel. I guess to be fair on the guy, the plot requires him to have an over-the-top character, but some of his lines are just too punny and false for my liking.
Overall, I really hated this movie. Further to the above points, the plot is non-existant (again even more so than ib Bond films), and in general, I think this film is aimed at the American market and the American market only. Although the title is fitting - Xtremely bad, Xtremely weak, and Xtremely boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So AWFUL that you have to watch it for fun!, 14 Feb 2005
This review is from: xXx [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Vin Deisel is so bad he will successfully entertain you throughout. The script is a joke. The storyline is the usual rubbish but without good stuff to save it from getting laughed at for being so poor. The stunts are ridiculous, but so ridiculous you will laugh at the film and everyone involved with making it. Watch it with a few people to get the full effect and get ready to hate Vin Deisel's annoyingly predictable face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars nonsense, 11 Sep 2003
This review is from: xXx [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
do not waste time on this film. There is little positive to say about it. Vin Diesel should stick to being a bouncer because he certainly cannot act. A film full of cliche and useless script writing- it barely deserves one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

xXx [DVD] [2002]
xXx [DVD] [2002] by Rob Cohen (DVD - 2003)
£1.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews