Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we came close to destruction that time
This is a well crafted, true story and Exposition of the cold war submariners' duties. The unusual thing is that the Russians are depicted as the good guys. The editing, as signified by the pace of the film is superbly done. The claustrophobic aspects of the ship could have been boring but it was not the case. The two captains are shown as mutually distrusting at first...
Published on 19 May 2003 by ab..c

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Run-of-the-mill film, ok but not spectacular
Harrison Ford and Liam Neeson wouldn't be the obvious first choices to play Soviet submariners, but despite this they both do a reasonable (but not great) job in this "inspired by a true story" movie about a nuclear submarine in trouble at the height of the cold war. I have no idea how close to the true story the film is, and it doesn't have the gritty, atmospheric...
Published on 29 Nov 2009 by J. S. Hardman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we came close to destruction that time, 19 May 2003
By 
ab..c (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: K-19 : The Widowmaker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a well crafted, true story and Exposition of the cold war submariners' duties. The unusual thing is that the Russians are depicted as the good guys. The editing, as signified by the pace of the film is superbly done. The claustrophobic aspects of the ship could have been boring but it was not the case. The two captains are shown as mutually distrusting at first but under duress begin to see the others point of view under the weight of an unreliable and dangerous vessel. The 'rights and wrongs' of politics are left aside and the crews lives are shown during this catastrophic failure. Both Alice and I enjoyed this film. It was shown to a Russian audience of Sea fairer and had mixed reviews. One reason was the lack of understanding in the script of the importance of 'heavy water' as a moderator in the nuclear reactor and why ordinary water would not work as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated gem from a lovable director who seldom gets it right, 3 Aug 2007
By 
lexo1941 (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: K-19 : The Widowmaker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
K-19 may be historically inaccurate, but show me a military movie that isn't. This film is way more true to life than the idiotic fantasy that was U-571, in which Americans won the second world war by capturing a cipher machine (FYI, it was a British crew who captured the machine and anyway the Brits already had one, reverse-engineered by Polish intelligence and given to them in one of the more stunningly generous acts of wartime cooperation).

The important thing is not so much how doggedly authentic the story is. After all, Wolfgang Petersen's classic 'Das Boot', surely the ultimate sub movie ever in its original miniseries form, is fictional. What matters is the quality of the story, and the story told here in K-19 is profoundly touching. Harrison Ford seems really engaged for the first time in a long time, Liam Neeson is properly cast for a change as a slightly ambiguous figure (instead of just as a nice guy) and Peter Sarsgaard is heartbreaking as the head of the team that attempts to repair K-19's reactor.

Kathryn Bigelow's films have veered between genuinely eerie (Near Dark, The Loveless), silly (Point Break, Blue Steel) and romantic but a bit daft (Strange Days). For my money, this is the first movie she's made that her fans don't have to apologise for. So who cares that the crew all have silly Russian accents? Like you'd prefer that Harrison Ford sounded American and Liam Neeson sounded like he was from Ballymena? The sadness and grimness of life in the USSR have not generally been paid attention to by US filmmakers, who for the most part portrayed Soviets as cannon fodder, but this is a brave effort and a gripping and affecting movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Suspense Throughout The Movie, 10 Jun 2003
By 
A.P. VAN WORT (Capelle a/d IJssel, ZH Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: K-19 : The Widowmaker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
K19, the Widow Maker is a suspense full movie that keeps you guessing the outcome. Your emotions that calls for anger turns into applause and in the final outcome you realize that people, also people that are on the other side are worthy of their courage, their dedication, loyalty and honor to their Nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars K 19, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: K-19 : The Widowmaker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I have watched this film several times and still enjoy watching it, an excellent film with two great actors, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Run-of-the-mill film, ok but not spectacular, 29 Nov 2009
By 
J. S. Hardman "Consultant software developer ... (Near London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: K-19 : The Widowmaker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Harrison Ford and Liam Neeson wouldn't be the obvious first choices to play Soviet submariners, but despite this they both do a reasonable (but not great) job in this "inspired by a true story" movie about a nuclear submarine in trouble at the height of the cold war. I have no idea how close to the true story the film is, and it doesn't have the gritty, atmospheric quality of "Das Boot", but it is a watchable film. Is it the best cold-war related film I've seen even in the last few weeks? Is it the best submarine-related film I've seen? The answer to both is a definite no, but it's still worth a viewing. Just don't approach it with huge expectations - to me it felt like standard, run-of-the-mill stuff, lead actors doing adequate rather than great performances, made more obvious by unimaginative editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars based on true story, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: K-19 : The Widowmaker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
A cursed sub with a monumental disaster in the making, a subs reactor starts
To fail, the ships commander Ford sends men into their deaths to fix the problem
Hampered with wrong radiation kit, many are effected by radiation poisoning also the
Ight officer mutiny, hushed up The facts came out decades later
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rather Slow, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Bonny (South Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: K-19 : The Widowmaker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Should have been more from these two great actors. I had the feeling they were being held back. Too many thoughts and not enough action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than what most will think, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: K-19 : The Widowmaker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Based on similar facts.
I suppose only so much can be made into film.
Books on the incident are well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the time given to view., 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: K-19 : The Widowmaker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Ford and Neeson were excellent in their roles backed by a very adequate cast. Gives a taste of the potential outcome of an accident on a nuclear submarine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars k19, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: K-19 : The Widowmaker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
this was a preasant for my son so i havenot seen it yet. im sure it will be fine as i like liam neeson a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa4ff150)

This product

K-19 : The Widowmaker [DVD] [2002]
K-19 : The Widowmaker [DVD] [2002] by Kathryn Bigelow (DVD - 2003)
4.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews