Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe 90 still seems to be a hit with todays pre-teen boys
This 'supermarionation' puppet series offers 'Daredevil excitement every young boy dreams of'. Adopted nine year-old Joe McClaine becomes the "Most Special Agent" of the World Intelligence Network thanks to a device called the BIG RAT (Brain Impulse Galvanoscope - Record And Transfer) capable of recording the brain patterns of one person and transferring them to another...
Published on 4 Feb 2006 by Keith_Joseph

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Joe 90
Nice to have the boxed set at a reasonible price. Not as good as Thunderbirds or Stingray.
Published on 3 Jun 2010 by Mr. G. P. Barnett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as it might be, 19 Feb 2003
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
I'm a dyed in the wool Anderson fan, and I was in the target audience when this was first made. Watching it now, I still get the same childish buzz that I used to back then. It appeals to the action hero in every little boy, and as a programme has aged remarkably well (as have most of Anderson's post-Fireball XL5 offerings).
Unfortunately, the DVD set as a product is not quite so hot. The re-mastering has been performed adequately well, and the pictures are largely crisp and steady. But there are a couple of instances where they are positively gloomy. Maybe the video or film stock they were lifted from was in poor condition. Even more of a let-down are the menus and extras. The menus clearly haven't been properly debugged and sometimes do some odd things. The text of the various information panels has not been quality checked with odd spelling and editing mistakes. Spread across the 5 disks are character biogs and equipment information dossiers, and one other feature which varies from disk to disk. All in all this comes across as a "bare minimum" with hints of it having been rushed out.
Even as a fanatically regressive kid I can't bring myself to award this set the final star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane, 27 Oct 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
This set brought back a lot of memories for my sister and me. Even 30 years on, Gerry Anderson's masterpieces of puppetry are still incredible.
Buy it for yourself. buy it for your children or grandchildren. Joe 90 is good, clean, honest, timeless fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING !!, 6 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
A wonderfull classic 1960s series at its very best !!
You dont need me to tell you how special and special this is - just read the other reviews.
If you got as far as reading this review, then what are you waiting for !! you should of bought it by now - this really is so good.
So go on buy it, put your feet up , get yourself a nice beer, even invite the kids, and if you have blu ray player even better, as the upscale is really amazing ! and enjoy this top quality DVD. HAPPY DAYS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as any other, 14 Oct 2003
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Just to start things off i only bought this series because it interested me. I must say Captain Scarlet is my favourite Gerry Anderson series, but Joe 90 is now close second. Made just after Captain Scarlet, Joe 90 set in the now modern day (2003)and tells the story of a professor Mclaine and his son joe. With the aid of the 'BIG RAT' joe is able to recieve peoples brain patturns and take on tasks for the world intelligence network (W.I.N). The music for the episode 'Hi-Jacked' shows barry greys genious when composing music.
This is a must buy for any gerry anderson fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If only it was all true..., 13 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Loved this as a child and how wonderfully far thinking it was in retrospect.

If you remember it as warmly as I do...Go on treat yourself.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JOE 90, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Loved watching the series when i was young, Recommend to those who remembers another Gerry Anderson original, Enjoyed the music sad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still fun after all these years, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Firstly hats off to the people who had the courage to keep the original TV picture format and not crop to widescreen. Secondly, yes, as with all Gerry Anderson programs the music still sounds brilliant. I forgot how short the episodes were but my 5 year old is enthralled, it's still good. The dream sequence with the photo montage in the first episode is a master class in film making 'puppets getting angry' who'd have thought? Oh, just buy it, if your kids don't like it then tough you still will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Joe 90, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
What can I say an old classic really brought up with this,brings back great memories,delivered quickly,good service,now I am off to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joe90, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
my husband loved Joe 90 as a kid and gave good come back enjoyment so glad i found it on line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars back to childhood, 1 Jan 2014
By 
B. C. Webb "broken toy" (midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
fantastic series, great action for kids of all ages, perhaps a little sedate by today's standards I would have paid much more to be able to relive those old Saturday mornings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968]
14.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews