Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe 90 still seems to be a hit with todays pre-teen boys
This 'supermarionation' puppet series offers 'Daredevil excitement every young boy dreams of'. Adopted nine year-old Joe McClaine becomes the "Most Special Agent" of the World Intelligence Network thanks to a device called the BIG RAT (Brain Impulse Galvanoscope - Record And Transfer) capable of recording the brain patterns of one person and transferring them to another...
Published on 4 Feb 2006 by Keith_Joseph

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Joe 90
Nice to have the boxed set at a reasonible price. Not as good as Thunderbirds or Stingray.
Published on 3 Jun 2010 by Mr. G. P. Barnett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe 90 still seems to be a hit with todays pre-teen boys, 4 Feb 2006
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
This 'supermarionation' puppet series offers 'Daredevil excitement every young boy dreams of'. Adopted nine year-old Joe McClaine becomes the "Most Special Agent" of the World Intelligence Network thanks to a device called the BIG RAT (Brain Impulse Galvanoscope - Record And Transfer) capable of recording the brain patterns of one person and transferring them to another. The series was first broadcast in 1968/1969, and it's set somewhere in the early 21st century. Unusually for the time, Anderson chose a real English boy, Len Jones, to provide the voice of 9 year old Joe 90 rather than use an actress. Anderson later commented that 'His performance was only adequate as he was got to repeat his lines parrot fashion, but more importantly he sounded authentic' - I would say his voice is definitely an asset to the series. Maigret star Rupert Davies provides the voice of his dad: Professor McClaine, and Sylvia Anderson is the voice of Ada Harris.

The DVD set has all 30 'digitally remastered' episodes. Audio is English only and there are SDH subtitles in English [no other languages]. There's also a few extras: Character Biographies [Joe McClaine, Professor McClaine, Sam Loover, Shane Weston], The W.I.N. Information files [e.g. The Big Rat, Mac's Culver Bay Cottage, W.I.N., Mac's Jet Air Car, Joe's Briefcase], Joe's glasses warning sequence, The unorthodox shepherd location recce, I love the 90s trailers, Original artworks [e.g. A14 tank, World Airforce Bomber, Missile recovery minisub, Presidents mono-train], Merchandise, Original end title sequence and Behind the scenes galleries.

Although nostalgia for lost childhood leads me to rate the series higher 40 years on, I wasn't such a massive fan of Joe 90 as a boy, although I happily watched all the episodes as I loved Gerry Anderson's earlier work [Thunderbirds, Captain Scarlet, and in particular FireBall XL5 and Stingray]. Really I was a bit too old at 12-13 for Joe 90, and at the time was watching the likes of 'Dr Who' and 'Time Tunnel'. Joe 90's script, production values, DVD picture quality and sound are quite good on this nicely presented set, particularly when viewed on the standard 14"/21" 4:3 CRT TV set it was designed for. Plus the `Danger Man' theme to the series is a bit different from GA's other projects [which often drew heavily on Captain Scarlet's plotline]. Captured and digitally remastered from 35mm film, the image colour is also nice and bold - I had to watch the original broadcasts on a B&W TV. The special effects are at least as good as GA's other series. Despite Joe 90 having some violent themes, it is rated U - and it isn't as dark as it's predecessor 'Captain Scarlet'. There was only one season of Joe 90 made (30 half hour episodes).

Anyway, as it was far cheaper than Terrahawks for around the same viewing time, I bought this set for my son (spookily then also 9). He rather liked the series, and busily went through the episodes at one or two before bedtime. I suppose he identified with the young boy lead. However he did lose interest after a (longish) while and so far hasn't got to watch the final DVD - and the same happened with his large Terrahawks DVD set (he has so many other TV/gaming choices, and we probably should have got these sets when he was a bit younger). However he quite enjoyed what he did watch, and for those nostalgic reasons I love the set as well. My daughter has no interest in these puppet series at all, much preferring the likes of The Worst Witch. So, recommended for today's youngsters, particularly pre-teen boys from 6 upwards - and of course any adults who watched this series as children back in the 1960s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a W.I.Nner!, 15 Aug 2005
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
OK, so I'm probably being biased here. As Joe 90 is my favourite Anderson outing, then I'd' award it five stars regardless.
I can understand the point of view of an earlier reviewer; this set does feel like it's a bit of a rush job, which is strange as I don't think they'll be a Hollywood version anytime soon! Again as previously stated, the extras are a bit thin on the ground, but maybe that's due to the age of the product. I'm sure in the 60's when the cost of tape was at a premuim, they didn't tend to save too much extra material, they just wiped it.
Watching a Gerry Anderson production is always a special experience from the excellent Barry Gray soundtrack to the quality of the props and vehicles in the show itself. The BIG RAT looks great.
I did try and watch every episode over a weekend once, but my wife put here foot down after one disc! They don't understand, do they?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars W.I.N.ner!!, 5 Sep 2011
By 
TIV (rhyl, north wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Terri-f-f-ic!!! Was 10 years of age when i first saw it. Terrific purchase price too! Well done Amazon!! Gerry anderson fans ''knock yourself out!!''
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value - but OMG so dated, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Bought this as part of my mid-life crisis "in my day" retro habit.
Every episode is there - but I really dont remember it being THAT rubbish.
But then again aged 6 or 7, genius and top TV are rather prone to subjectivity.
Still think the social services would have one or two words to say about dad and "Uncle Sam's" treatment of a young boy. But the 1970s were just around the corner.
Recommended to show your children just what bizarre TV we used to enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Child Protection Officers - Alert!, 14 July 2011
By 
K. Baty (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Dressing your 9 year-old son up as an angel and dropping him onto a machine-gun-toting money launderer would have Social Services round quicker than it takes an X-Factor winner to be forgotten these days but, back in the 60s, it was completely acceptable. This is only one of many life-endangering scenarios that young Joe McLaine is thrown into by his Dad and his Dad's mates at the World Intelligence Network, each of them ludicrously thrilling! This box-set (and its updated version with more extras and slimmed-down packaging) offers 30 well-crafted, exciting stories, all characterised by magnificent puppetry and model shots. It also offers one of the best TV themes in the history of the genre, as well as clear proof of why contact lenses aren't always the best choice to assist eyesight...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST TAKES ME BACK, 10 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
This has me back when I first saw it in tv , YOU HAVE TO GET IT. Every dics has you going back to after school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic TV, 1 Sep 2010
By 
C. M. Cotton "Chris Cotton" (Europe and USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
I was born in 1970 and as a child I was brought up on some classic TV, made by the genius Gerry Anderson....Thunderbirds, Captain Scarlett, Sting Ray,Secret Service, Space 1999 and Joe 90. All were creatively brilliant. Joe 90 a young boy, who through use of a brainwave machine becomes a secret agent capable of performing any mission.

Whilst I don't think its in the same league as Thunderbirds, as each episode has a run time of around 22 minutes and the characters don't get developed as much as in Thunderbirds, its still a great set of futuristic children's programmes.

The next generation can now enjoy Anderson's genius through these DVD's.

Highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Anderson Nostalgia!, 1 Oct 2002
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Although Joe 90 isn't a patch on Thunderbirds or Captain Scarlet, Carlton DVD have beautifully remastered the complete series of the Sylvia and Gerry Anderson series 'Joe 90': the special boy agent capable of amazing powers thanks to the Big Rat!
The techincal team has spent months removing scratches and errors from the original films and the result is crystal clear picture quality and amazing sound quality.
There are a few extras too including the recent BBC2 I love the 90's trailers and as you'd expect a collection of production photographs. The only disappointment is there are no interviews with the production team to give you further insight into the making of the series.
The packaging is fun and well made too, providing more proof that plenty of care has gone into the release of the set.
If you have young kids, they will love discovering the series...and if you grew up with it, then it's sure to bring back a few memories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thunderbirds for the Younger Set, 23 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
This is fantasy wish-fulfillment for kids. Kids doing the big dangerous jobs, "Thunderbirds" reduced to the scope of a kid. The packaging is lovely too, with the 5 discs presented in a digipak in a fold-out cross formation.

The extras round out the package. If you liked "Thunderbirds", this is also one for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe 90, 22 April 2010
By 
Mr. S. Sampayo - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
This took me firmly back to my childhood and I was not disappointed. My boy loves it too, Joe 90 crosses another generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joe 90: Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] [1968]
13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews