Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The surprisingly good Stargate series continues with style.
This disc contains the first four episodes from the second series of sg1. The first thing that grabbed my attention was that the episodes are all presented in anamorphic widescreen. The picture is not going to win any awards though. It is variable in quality but this is due to the lower production values of TV, rather than a poor transfer. Indeed, it far surpasses the...
Published on 22 Mar 2000 by Michael Dale

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two good episodes - but not the best
"The Nox" is a well written, thoughtful episode which nonetheless almost falls in to the realms of sci-fi cliche. It is still a good episode though, if only for the discovery of the Goa'uld energy shield and the moments of tension between Teal'c and the Jaffa warrior he used to train...
"Bloodlines" again investigates Teal'c's past. This episode...
Published on 27 Feb 2001


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The surprisingly good Stargate series continues with style., 22 Mar 2000
By 
Michael Dale (Banbury, Oxon England) - See all my reviews
This disc contains the first four episodes from the second series of sg1. The first thing that grabbed my attention was that the episodes are all presented in anamorphic widescreen. The picture is not going to win any awards though. It is variable in quality but this is due to the lower production values of TV, rather than a poor transfer. Indeed, it far surpasses the apalling video picture, as it should. The sound is also not as expansive as you'd expect from a new film. But unlike videotape you can crank up the volume without any distortion and enjoy a more film-like experience. The first episode continues directly on from the cliffhanger left at the end of the first series. The SG1 team are stuck on a Goa'uld warship headed for Earth. They are captured and have to race against time to save the entire planet. The second episode finds our heroes back on stargate duty and right in the thick of the action. Carter is infected with a Goa'uld with unexpected results. This and the third episode are great examples of how SG1 is different from many other TV shows. "In the line of duty" and "Prisoners", where the team are banished to a penal colony, result in unexpected and not always postive outcomes. The fourth is the weakest of the lot but still has plenty to offer. In "The gamekeeper" they are trapped in a virtual world where Daniel and O'neill are forced to relive pivotal moments in their lives.
All the actors are clearly comfortable in their roles and the willingness to show the heroes as less than perfect shines through in all the episodes. As long as they can keep this standard up we have a lot to look forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great episodes, 18 Sep 2001
By A Customer
All the latest Stargate DVD's have great extras, and this is no different. Lots of great extra material to sink your teeth into ! The episodes themselves aren't among Stargate's best, but are definitely good. Scorched Earth has Daniel showing off his superior intellect, Beneath the Surface is a great ep to see the actors out of character, Point of No Return is plain hilarious and Tangent reintroduces us to Major Davis, which can't be a bad thing. Definitely a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four solid episodes, 5 Mar 2002
By A Customer
A must-buy DVD. It opens with The Serpent's Lair, a taut actioner that opens the season - and the DVD - with a bang. The sfx are outstanding and the ending, with a reunion between the believed-to-be-dead Daniel and his friends is uplifting and satisfying. Prisoners is standard fair. Marred only by the plot-device stupidity of allowing the villain of the piece access to base computers, it has some interesting moments and a fitting claustrophobia that makes the prison scenes particular effective. The Gamekeeper has a terrific guest appearance by Dwight Schultz as a leader who seems reluctant to let go of those in his care. The scenes in which O'Neill relives a mission gone wrong become tedious very quickly but are made up by the scenes of emotional trauma for Daniel, who must relive a tragic moment from his childhood with Carter there as support. A fun episode despite the angst and it features one of those Daniel and O'Neill talking-at-the-same-time moments that are always fun to see and a surprisingly playful scene with Daniel teasing O'Neill. In the Line of Duty is a strong episode for Carter and sees events that alter the character forever, introducing the Jolinar storyline that is explored later. Overall, an excellent bunch of episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three goodies and one a little wishy-washy, 28 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Stargate SG-1 is a worthy successor to the Star Trek series, more reminiscent of the old Star Trek rather than The Next Generation. There is an emphasis on humor, action, optimism, and scientific consistency.
This disk contains three excellent episodes ("Secrets," "Bane" and "The Tok'Ra (Part I)"), and the mystic-primitives-know-best "Spirits". I personally grow a little weary of the Romantic Savage storyline that comes out of Hollywood--you know the one: the people living in simplicity are much happier and living in tune with their environment until some modern people turn up with our evil technology. I just wish the writers would forget Rousseau and remember Hobbes. Most people in our modern society live longer, healthier lives than ever, thanks to our technology.
Despite this handicap, "Spirits" has redeeming features that make it worth watching, and it becomes important in several later episodes, so it is a must watch for those hooked on the series.
Enjoy! I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful end to an amazing season, 20 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stargate S.G -1: Season 5 (Vol. 25) [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I usually feel slightly peeved at paying full price for a dvd when you get half the number of episodes, but not in this case. The 2 episodes are brilliant. The acting is superb, dealing with tragedy in one, and the aftermath of that tragedy in the second while trying to continue with the mission. These are characters fans have come to love, and their portrayal remains consistent throughout. The episodes are well paced, and they even find time to poke fun at themselves in the second one when Jack asks 'Is that it?'(if you see it, you'll understand why!). Added to this, there are some directors' viewpoint looks ahead at some of the first episodes of series 6, which tease and tantalise as well as offer an insight into the creation of the Stargate series.
Sad though I am at certain events on this disc, it only makes me look forward to the next one even more! Buy it - you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but could have been better, 24 Aug 2001
By 
M. Thomas Hesse (Marseille, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I own every Stargate sg-1 dvd and I'm sure that this one is definately worth buying.
The first episode is Divide and Conquer, it's the 3rd episode of the "S&J episode arc". Its plot is simple: A summit between humans and Tok'ra + a few people brainwashed by the Goa'uld who want that summit to fail. Weak plot but good show anyway.
The second one is the best sg-1 episode ever: Window of opportunity. Jack and Teal'c are caught in a time loop. great plot and funny show.
The third one is the reason why I only rated this dvd 4 stars. Watergate is quite stupid, involving Russians who can't close the gate they opened. Stupid plot but good acting.
The fourth one is the second best episode ever. The first ones involves Daniel, meeting an Unas and trying to communicate with him. This episode has a very good sequel in season 5, Beast Of Burden. Great episode overall.
In a nutshell, this dvd contains very good episodes and is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This series just gets more and more interesting, 25 May 2001
Just when you think that they must soon run out of ideas, the writers of this series comes up with a few more new spins on this ever more thrilling series. The DVD contains 4 new episodes, it starts of with the episode called "The Devil You Know", the great conclusion to the episode on the previous DVD called "Jolinar's Memories". It has some great surprises, and carries on the ever expanding story of the battle between the Goa'uld and the allience of SGC and the Tok'ra. The next episode brings back a old character to the show, more exactly the kid called Skaara, this goes on to a kind of court where it is to be decided who has the right to possesion of the kids body, the Goa'uld host or the original owner Skaara himself. We now go on to the episode called "Foothold", but i don't want to reveal much about this one because it would ruin the surprises in it, i can only say that it puts up a new spin on the overall story in the whole series. And now on to one of the more different episodes in this whole series, "Urgo" is probaly the episode with the most funny oneliners in it, Dom DeLuise just brings a whole different look to the series in this episode, i hope that they will try their luck with more episodes with as many laughs as this one. All together another great DVD in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Nov 2000
By 
MRS R.S. HOLLAND (ELGIN, MORAYSHIRE Scotland) - See all my reviews
After watching this DVD, I was thrilled because it was alot better than watching all four episodes on the television without the adverts. Serpent's Song was a very good episode where the team came face to face with Apophis again, but this episode was very well written as it showed the more Humane aspect of the team when pulled into that kind of situation. Holiday was another good episode with Michael Shanks playing two different characters (Daniel Jackson and Ma'chello), an old and dying man. The funniest part of the episode was when Teal'c and Jack actually changed personalities (I was in stitches). The other two episodes One False Step and Show and Tell were also enjoyable to watch. If you haven't brought this DVD yet, go out and buy it aswell as all the other DVD's of Stargate SG-1. It really was good with funny and powerful storylines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must see for any stargate fan! ('',), 26 Mar 2002
This video contains two of THE best episodes of the fourth season.
'Divide and Conquer' is rather sad but don't let it put you off.In a way it is kind of a romantic episode with secrets and feelings finally being shared.It is quite an important episode I feel but I won't ruin it by telling you what happens!
'Window of Opportunity' is so funny that it gets rid of your unhappy mood after watching 'Divide and Conquer'.I know you probably think I'm strange but I couldn't stop laughing all the way through the episode!One of the funniest parts has to be when Teal'c gets hit in the face with a door - it's a classic!! Well that's my review,I hope it helped!If you're going to buy any of the fourth season stargate videos make it this one.You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nemisis is wicked :) When is the release of dvd 14 ?, 12 Jun 2001
By A Customer
On this dvd, there are only two episodes. These episodes are also the last one of the third season.
The first episode is: Chrystal Skull. They discover a piramide and within it a huge cave with a crystal skull. Daniel recognizes this skull, because his grandfather Nick has found a simular skull in 1971 on Earth. Nick claimed that the cave was build by aliens, but nobody believed him. Daniel disappeares in front of SG1 and Jack O'Niell and his team go to Nick to ask for advice. This episode isn't full of action, but it's a good story which won't bore you.
The second episode, Nemises, is great! Jack O'Niell is kidnapped by the Asgards. Thor needs his help with the fight they have with the replicators (replicators are a kind of nasty little intelligent mechanical bugs, just think of our own bugs and then remember how hard it is to get rid of them, I think you get the point here). The special effects are great. The story is exciting, it will keep you sitting on the egde of your seat from the beginning and beyound the end of this episode.
Besides the two episode there's also a Behind the scenes called "Timeline to the future". It gives you an inside story about the characters and everbody involved in making this great series. This feature is 60 minutes long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate S.G -1: Season 5 (Vol. 25)  [DVD] [1998]
Stargate S.G -1: Season 5 (Vol. 25) [DVD] [1998] by Richard Dean Anderson (DVD - 2002)
4.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews