Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars28
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2003
I have never seen such a magnificent piece of filming of such spectacular landscape explored in such detail by the liitle steam trains of india, combined with the timeless tranquility of a period almost forgotten, you actually feel as though you could smell the smells and touch the images for yourself.
For any of us train fanatics here is a director who has got the vision for such an outstanding documentary film.
To view this film sat in your armchair is an absolute delight.Every second holds your interest seeing the train travel up the mountains through the villages sampling many of the diferent kinds of people and spectacular terain and to reach what seems to be the top of the world and view the sunrise from above the clouds looking across to one of the higest peeks in the Himalayas.
A must see film. 10 out of 10.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2011
Spectacular photography combines with an insight into the lives of those who work on the railway. Steam enthusiasts and lovers of India and its variety will be fascinated by this.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
I really enjoyed this DVD, which adds to my library of Indian Railways. There is so much colour and enjoyment from these DVDs and it makes one wonder how such rail systems have survived without the modern workshops which once existed in the West. These little railways are a credit to the men and women who keep the systems running. The colour of the surrounding countryside and the little villages are, for my wife and I, fantastic viewing. Not just an interest to rail fans but prospective travellers can possibly plan a holiday to such regions and I'm sure they would not be disappointed. To late for me now, but I would love to experience these railways first hand, maybe in another life.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
You have to see it to really appreciate it. If you are interested in the world of Railways and in worldly history and geography you will enjoy this DVD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
I brought this as a present for my father and he loved it. The footage is shows the trains and the landscape around the railway which is spectactular. Even if you aren't interested in trains there is alot to see in this DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
Delivered promptly and well packed. Most enjoyable viewing - its already on its third run !
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
Fascinating to watch this DVD. It's impossible not to wonder at the engineering of this railway, nor at the kindliness of the Indian people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Anyone who enjoys railway journeys will love thie dvd.A pleasure to watch and would recommend this purchase. A dvd to watch over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
Brought back memories of holidaying in the Himalayas and riding on the Toy Train, great to see it again and a very informative DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
This is the most amazing train journey that I have ever seen. The photography is excellent and the scenery stunning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)