Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
this is a film unlike any other i've seen... the title is misleading as it makes it seem like a porn film! there are a couple of sex scenes, nothing too graphic, but the main focus of the film is on the emotional relationships between the three main characters. the film is on the whole, a touching yet humourous slice of fun. and did i mention its really funny?!
Published on 17 May 2003 by doobylou

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So dated
I bought this film based on the excellent reviews I read. All I can imagine is that the reviewers must come from another era, if not another planet. This is a thoroughly dated film, and its handling of being gay trite. For its time (1994), I guess that this is all you could expect from a main stream film producer, but as such "threesome" is a mere historical curiosity,...
Published on 31 Dec 2010 by Gay Londoner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 17 May 2003
This review is from: Threesome [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
this is a film unlike any other i've seen... the title is misleading as it makes it seem like a porn film! there are a couple of sex scenes, nothing too graphic, but the main focus of the film is on the emotional relationships between the three main characters. the film is on the whole, a touching yet humourous slice of fun. and did i mention its really funny?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely funny and serious, 12 July 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Threesome [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I have seen this movie 4 times already and everytime I have a great and genuine good time, laughing out at all the great lines and scenes in this movie. This is a great movie. Tha actors are great in it, especially Lara Flynn Boyle. All of it, exceptionally funny, and melancholic, because their story has to end sometime....
You won't regret buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good film. At first it took me a while ..., 15 Oct 2014
This review is from: Threesome (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a very good film. At first it took me a while to get into, it felt hard to immediately warm to the characters, however, al most like it was the character's experience themselves, it grew and grew into a unusual, emotional, exotic and fun relationship between the three of them. The narration had some insightful commentary into the relationships coming from a intelligent and obviously 'gay' perspective.

Lara Flynn Boule is fantastic in the film and I was very surprised because to be honest all I had seen her in was Men In Black 2. However, I didn't give it 4 stars because of the initial time it took to get into the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a comedy, 14 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Threesome [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I first saw this film on television and I have to admit that I was really suprised. I expected a stereotypical, comic piece. What I did not expect was the subtle portrayal of love and seduction. I thoroughly enjoyed the film.
It calls itself a comedy though I think it was more than that, it was a moral work and a gripping drama set against the often confusing time between childhood and adulthood. I recommend this film to anyone, it was witty, thought provoking and in places quite tragic. A roller coaster of emotion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars threesome.., 24 May 2010
By 
D. Taylor "at home" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Threesome [DVD] (DVD)
...a brilliant little film. Love love this film, have had it on VHS for years and finally got it on DVD. It's very warm and funny and pretty believable. Josh Charles, one of the 'three' narrates while the story covers a year in halls at Uni/college for the threesome, who have been accidentally bunked together in the same suite of rooms. Not to give too much away, though we're not talking overly deep and meaningful here, it's a love triangle with twists. The leads skillfully suck you into the moment, playing their parts well, dealing with some dodgy sexual issues that arise in the trio's merry band. Just get it, you wont regret it, I've watched it several times and love it still, there's also some banging tunes in the score, that will have you singing along. Happy happy happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and funny, 20 Sep 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Threesome [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
The title notwithstanding, this is a sweet, funny romantic comedy; Josh Charles is superb as sexually confused Eddie, Stephen Baldwin somehow manages to be both obnoxious and vulnerable, and Lara Flynn Boyle sparks off both men. My one complaint is that, having established that Eddie is (mostly) gay, it would have been nice to have seen that side of his character develop, rather than focus as the film does on his heterosexual relationship. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and heart warming coming of age story, 27 July 2014
This review is from: Threesome (Amazon Instant Video)
Really thought provoking film that is way less about sex than the title would have you believe. Great film about growing up, relationships, and learning who you really are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool 90s movie, 3 Dec 2005
This review is from: Threesome [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. Its ironic, unusual, unexpected, real in a way some films on a similar topic fail to be.
The representation of university life and their experiences are so true and clear, the portrayal is as close to reality as you could get. There's a sense, I think, that none of the characters are particularly high flyers, none of them really have a clue what they want to do, none of them really understands themselves as much as they think they do and none of them really stops to consider the cocoon they create for themselves.
A cocoon because they're isolated from their fellow students within their own friendship. At the same time, you get the feeling that they're just happy to have something secure. I think I understand, as I'm a student, the feeling of dread about 'what comes next?' Within the film, the three characters just don't need to consider this because why does it matter?
Of course, for the film to progress, what comes next does matter. I think everything builds on everything else and the characters exploration together naturally builds to a climax.
Charles' reflections on this climax, the relationship and its nature after is particularly poignant. As is the meeting up of all three, years later when they're secure, successful, happy etc...
I think for me the film represented the sort of security of people you trust and with whom you don't have to face your fears and, at the same time, it represents the oddity of needing something so much one minute and spending so much time considering it, only to find the next minute it doesn't matter at all. I found it moving, eery and poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The characters... what characters?, 6 Dec 2011
This review is from: Threesome [DVD] (DVD)
There may be something I am missing, some emotional chord I am not able to touch, or depths I am unable to fathom, but I found this film dreary and rather vulgar. The first and foremost problem for me is that I was unable to feel much empathy for the characters, and, in the case of Stuart, none whatsoever. Then the way they expressed and experienced their friendship and love was just banal and boring. They seemed to spend most of their time lounging around their rooms or lying on a bed eating pizza. Even some of the scenes outside their college dorm has one or more of them eating something rather dumpy looking. Not one of the characters appeared to have a mental age much above fourteen. Yes, adults can have pillow fights and enjoy them, but their games never go beyond such fun and games.

I suppose I should have been put off by the cover picture of one of the characters wearing a back-to-front baseball cap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So dated, 31 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Threesome [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film based on the excellent reviews I read. All I can imagine is that the reviewers must come from another era, if not another planet. This is a thoroughly dated film, and its handling of being gay trite. For its time (1994), I guess that this is all you could expect from a main stream film producer, but as such "threesome" is a mere historical curiosity, and little more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Threesome [DVD] [1994]
Threesome [DVD] [1994] by Andrew Fleming (DVD - 2002)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews