Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did I overlook this?
OK, I admit it, I was woefully late coming to this offering from Beck. His first few albums were in the collection, and then for some reason I stopped buying them when Midnight Vultures came out, don't know why. It was only with the release of Guero that interest was rekindled , and I started to look backwards again at what I'd missed.
Beck really is an artist to be...
Published on 22 Oct 2006 by John Tree

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great album, but a victim of ''the loudness war''
Beck returned to grace with this album.

If you enjoyed the early genius of albums such as Odelay, you will enjoy Sea Change. It has some truly memorable moments in it.

Where as the previous experimental albums showed creativity and imaginativity, here we have a more contemplative Beck. Dare I say it, the album sounds more ''grown up''. Beck...
Published on 22 Aug 2011 by Chekov


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 21 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Beck's a genius. I don't think i've ever played an album so many times over and over, night after night and i'm not even beginning to get bored of it after about 8 months. It's beautiful, it tugs at your soul, you feel it move though you. Possibly my favourite all-round album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Sea Change, 24 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Only Beck could follow the upbeat disco style of his last album 'Midnite Vultures' with such a contrasting sound!
'Sea Change' finds Beck with a bleak outlook - the songs are very slow - and although being compared with his earlier album 'Mutations', don't expect to hear any upbeat fast numbers such as 'Tropicalia'; for more of an idea of the sound of this offering it's probably best to compare it with songs such as 'Static' from the same album.
Having said that, this album still showcases some of Becks great traits, just when a song appears to be going nowhere a new instrument or chord change is thrown in, engaging the listener a while longer. Tracks like 'The Golden Age', 'Guess I'm Doing Fine' and 'Sunday Sun' will be ideal listening on a lazy sunny day.
For a Beck album it's very consistant in sound, there aren't the outrageous changes in style from song to song or diverse track changes like in earlier effort 'Odelay' (there's no 'Jackass' followed by 'Where It's At' here!), it's also by far the darkest album he's recorded....as ever with this guy though - who without fail surprises with each album, it's still well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beck's finest, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
O.K - this is about his relationship break-up, so it's not jolly happy songs, but it sure was a
big inspiration to write and play some great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good demo of Bluray Audio done well..., 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've known this album very well having liked the CD for many years. The Bluray Audio was worth the purchase though. Unlike some Bluray Audios, this disc includes 2-channel and 5.1 mixes. The 5.1 mix is outstanding and uses all channels creatively. It's a shame this now long-existing format hasn't been more fully exploited by other labels.

I've noticed a lot of nuances to the recording that are lost completely on CD.
As much as I like the original album, if I'm honest it does tail off slightly toward the end, but curiously the sparkling quality held my attention throughout and I couldn't bring myself to stop the album before the end, which I tend to do with the CD.

Come on Universal (& Sony etc etc) pleeeeeeease release more 5.1 modern recordings on BD Audio not just classical, 60's jazz and 70's rock which may have had pretty dodgy masters in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Morning Phase you'll love this., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Having bought Beck's new album Morning Phase, I was advised it was a companion for Sea Change, which I thought was rather odd as there is a twelve year gap between the two albums, and Beck has covered many styles since 2002. But the two albums really do go together, in fact I almost consider the two to be a double album a bit like Talk Talk's Spirit of Eden and Laughing Stock. I can't believe I missed this one all those years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good sound, 11 Mar 2014
By 
nacho (Hove, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Won't write about the music itself, plenty of reviews elsewhere - just wanted to say it sounds really, really nice. Playing on a cheapo blu-ray player (good amp+speakers) and still sounds very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums, 8 April 2013
A very good and relaxing album with very good melodies. When I hear the album if sets me at ease in a mediative way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Machinehead (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Having not heard any new Beck since I bought Odelay on release, Sea Change was a surprise, a pleasant one. Much calmer than Loser or Odelay, and they are amongst my favourite music but still very much Beck. It presents another side of the artist, yet another layer to his talent and so evocative. Whereas Loser demands reaction and response, Sea Change is more like a persuasive proposition, leaving the listener floating until they orientate, until they establish the new perspective.
If you like Beck you won't be disappointed with Sea Change, it's like finding him again. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shuffly wonderfulness, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Gorgeous. Shuffly. Orchestral. Heartfelt. Only good when your in the right mood. As is every album I ever loved. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sea Change is the reason you need SACD, 21 Aug 2011
This review is from: Sea Change [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Beck's brake up with Wynona Rider spawned a pearl.

If you really just need to chill-out; become part of your Sunday sofa, keep the curtains closed, let Sea Change's surround mix wash over you.
The space around the acoustic guitars and vocals allows strings, loops and wisps of analogue synth to drift around you. A vast and involving sound stage.

Beck at his most fragile (married with Nigel Godrich's production) created a collection of modern folk songs that really deserve to be heard on SACD.
I don't need to tell what each song sounds like, you only need to know that it is so badly worth upgrading to SACD if you can find a copy that you can afford.
This version won't play on a regular CD player, so if you don't have the hardware, know this...
Sea Change is the reason you need SACD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sea Change
Sea Change by Beck (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews