Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did I overlook this?
OK, I admit it, I was woefully late coming to this offering from Beck. His first few albums were in the collection, and then for some reason I stopped buying them when Midnight Vultures came out, don't know why. It was only with the release of Guero that interest was rekindled , and I started to look backwards again at what I'd missed.
Beck really is an artist to be...
Published on 22 Oct 2006 by John Tree

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, but likeable all the same
That just about sums it up. It's kind of a shame because it's clear from Beck's unusual focus in this album that this style of broken-hearted acoustic songs is what he most wants to do. However, it is wrong to think that just because this is Beck, renowned for his surreal but poignant lyrics, he can get away with wheeling out the old break-up cliches. What I really...
Published on 28 Feb 2003 by parsefone


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did I overlook this?, 22 Oct 2006
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
OK, I admit it, I was woefully late coming to this offering from Beck. His first few albums were in the collection, and then for some reason I stopped buying them when Midnight Vultures came out, don't know why. It was only with the release of Guero that interest was rekindled , and I started to look backwards again at what I'd missed.
Beck really is an artist to be treasured.
Sea change is an intimate, heartfelt record, and it's touch is light but it runs very deep. After the first listen, I felt it was OK...but as soon as it finished I thought I'd put it on one more time...and again....and again. It's one of those albums which just grows and gets better with repeat listens.
Criticisms? OK you can spot the wholesale lifting on a couple of songs: Paper Tiger is L'histoire de Melody Nelson by Gainsbourgh...and Round the Bend is almost identical in arrangement to River Man by Nick Drake...but you can forgive him ... if you're going to steal, make it from royalty. This is an album born of heartbreak that will heal the soul. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Late Night/Sunday Morning Classic, 30 Sep 2002
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Dont even bother reading this review - just go and buy Sea Change....it is an absolute master of an album.
Do you know when you stumble across an under-promoted album and you've got to tell everybody about it because you want to share a little bit of treasure with all your friends?
I had ignored Beck (Mutations/Midnite Vultures) after his Odelay album, which was enjoyable on its release but seemed to date pretty quickly. Imagine then, the sheer delight of hearing an album end-to-end that doesnt contain a bum track and makes you want to play it over and over again (just to check it really is THAT good).
Beck has stripped right down to melancholy and deep songs with an evocative early 70's folk style throughout. If you love the dreaminess of Nick Drake, John Martyn, Tim Buckley (Happy Sad) and Joni Mitchell's style, Beck has adopted all their highest moments and delivered an album that evokes the "floating comfort" which is called for late at night or on a Sunday morning. Listen to how stark and open it is when driving in the dark too!!
Stand out track for me is Round the Bend - an orchestrated masterpiece very similar to the beautiful River Man by Nick Drake.
As a result, I'm going back to the Beck albums I've missed in the hope that there is more of the same.....don't allow yourself to miss this one - you wont be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Eyed Dog, 12 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
A beautiful, delicate, sad album that evokes the haunted, slow, rhythmic sway of some of Nick Drake's best music (I'm thinking Riverman in particular). Laden with swooshing, deep, warm strings and strummed guitar Sea Change is not for the Beck fans who don't like him to be unhappy. If you don't mind what mood he's in as long as he's still recording superb music, you'll love this. An absolute stunner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, no need to pay 100s for the SACD, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With DVD-A and SACD fading away, HD audio fans are having a hard time getting hold of quality music, particularly in the UK where little HD audio is available for download. The SACD of this album was exchanging hands for silly money on a certain auction site. So, this Blu Ray Audio release, which includes a 5.1 PCM 24/bit 192KHz, is very welcome and quite stunning - particularly for the 11.80 paid at the time of purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Summer, 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Music - just as summer is coming round the corner it's a great album to stick on your ipod and wander round a park.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take a trip, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Rw Stringer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This disc is somewhat amazing in places. I felt like I was surrounded by sounds whilst spinning on the spot. It draws you in and never lets go. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate break up album!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 8 Oct 2002
By 
C. Jose "CJv2" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Having been a Beck fan from early '94 and having seen him on several occasions (as well as doing human beatbox onstage at Kings college in 96 with him) I've got just about all of his music to date. Beck was seen as a quirky comedic muscician when he first hit the scene with the genration x anthem Loser. In reality he is farther from that than many would belive. Mellow Gold was experimental, Odelay a polished masterpiece, whilst mutations should never have been released by geffen, it was meant to be an indie realease, but a fantastic album all the same. Beck then changed route again with Midnite Vultures and has now gone full circle and has returned to what I believe he loves best, the accoustic guitar and simple melodic songs that pull on the heart strings. For the first time in his career Beck actually puts together lyrics that make sense. And how. This is Beck's finest work to date without doubt, beautiful string arrangements, fantastic lyrics, haunting melodies, and thought provoking to the end. From the first chords of The Golden age you get the idea what type of album you are in for but nothing prepares you for what is to come. Lyrics such as "Maybe you're a lost cause" "How can this love ever change inside of me" and "Already dead" let you know just how much of a break-up album this is. Favourites from the album, well, to many to chose but Lost Cause, Round the Bend and the spine chilling Lonsesome Tears are the real highlights, Little One is slightly heavier than the rest of the album as is Sunday Sun, but by no means out of place. If you enjoyed songs like "Nobodys Fault but my own, We Sing Again, Brother and One Of these days" you will love this album. There's even a version of the 7" classic "It's all in your mind" (although i prefer the simplicity of the original)
It will be interesting to see how he tours this seeing as Beck is seen as the ultimate showman.... He delivers big style here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly Beautiful, 1 Oct 2002
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Beck has done it again and created an album that differs immensely from his previous work. If anything, it bears a vague resemblance to the more sombre moments in "Mutations". Sea Changes contains very conventional guitars and strings and most surprisingly, comprehensible lyrics. All are delivered in despairing but beautiful manner reminiscent of artists like Nick Drake. In fact the backing to "Round The Bend" sounds like a reworked "River Man" from Nick Drakes album "Five Leaves Left". A blissfully sweet album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 21 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Beck's a genius. I don't think i've ever played an album so many times over and over, night after night and i'm not even beginning to get bored of it after about 8 months. It's beautiful, it tugs at your soul, you feel it move though you. Possibly my favourite all-round album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Sea Change, 24 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Only Beck could follow the upbeat disco style of his last album 'Midnite Vultures' with such a contrasting sound!
'Sea Change' finds Beck with a bleak outlook - the songs are very slow - and although being compared with his earlier album 'Mutations', don't expect to hear any upbeat fast numbers such as 'Tropicalia'; for more of an idea of the sound of this offering it's probably best to compare it with songs such as 'Static' from the same album.
Having said that, this album still showcases some of Becks great traits, just when a song appears to be going nowhere a new instrument or chord change is thrown in, engaging the listener a while longer. Tracks like 'The Golden Age', 'Guess I'm Doing Fine' and 'Sunday Sun' will be ideal listening on a lazy sunny day.
For a Beck album it's very consistant in sound, there aren't the outrageous changes in style from song to song or diverse track changes like in earlier effort 'Odelay' (there's no 'Jackass' followed by 'Where It's At' here!), it's also by far the darkest album he's recorded....as ever with this guy though - who without fail surprises with each album, it's still well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0bd16c0)

This product

Sea Change
Sea Change by Beck (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews