Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hate it? i loved it
This album was highly anticipated and rightly so. It was worth the wait. Each song is a beautifully created masterpiece and it has to be one of the few albums where you will listen to every track, not even feeling the urge to press the skip button. From the orchestral movements of "The Light Before We Land" to the almost child like intro of "All You Need Is Hate", it gets...
Published on 15 Oct 2002

versus
5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overarranged
How can you ruin a great collection of songs? You drown them in chaos, with noisy strings and overflowed orchestration. The Delgados have written their best and saddest songs ever, full of pure anger and grief, and they manage to deliver them with full impact on occasions when the arrangements stay sparse, like in "Woke from dreaming" (their best song yet) or "Child...
Published on 27 Oct 2002 by Salvatore Patti


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hate it? i loved it, 15 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hate (Audio CD)
This album was highly anticipated and rightly so. It was worth the wait. Each song is a beautifully created masterpiece and it has to be one of the few albums where you will listen to every track, not even feeling the urge to press the skip button. From the orchestral movements of "The Light Before We Land" to the almost child like intro of "All You Need Is Hate", it gets better and better. One ironic thing to point out, despite the last track I mentioned having a name that suggests despair and such things, the track itself if skippy and happy. And a little warning to you friend: The chorus of "If This Is A Plan" is extremely infectious.
So put it in simple words: Hate, prepare to start loving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Few deserve 5, if only there could be 6., 30 April 2003
This review is from: Hate (Audio CD)
Having loved the Delgados for many years I always face a new release with trepidation - will they get happy?, will they mellow with age?, will they morph into the Coors? no no no no no. Hate is a natural progression from 'The Great Eastern' and therefore from 'Peloton', packed full of anger, challenge, humour and as a previous reviewer put it chaos. The lyrics force you to listen and question, the depth of the arrangements give a longevity of listening few others can match and all topped off with catchy, almost singalong, choruses. 'Child Killers', 'Favours' and 'Never Look at the Sun' are all standouts but each track has its own individuality yet manage to weave together a true work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the Delgados, 10 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hate (Audio CD)
Very few albums deserve 5 stars, and this pushes hard for that accolade - it's easily the equal of The Great Eastern, and should last repeated listening like it's predecessor. Opening two tracks 'The Light Before We Land', and 'All You Need Is Hate' are beauties, and show off Dave Fridmann's production well. A couple of tracks could have done with keeping the pace up a bit more than they do, but on the whole, the songs are great. 'Coming In From The Cold' is fantastic, with a verse to die for. The Delgados really drive home their choruses, and there are few bands out there who could write as beatifully orchestrated choruses as those in 'All Rise' and, as one reviewer pointed out, 'If This Is A Plan'. A lovely, accomplished work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blame it on the anime TV series "Gunslinger Girl", 30 Mar 2006
This review is from: Hate (Audio CD)
Yes anime has done it to me again. Opened yet another unknown door to brilliant visual and music treasures. The opening theme of "The Light Before We Land" has blessed my ears with such melancholy richness that I had to buy the album. Though the title "Hate" is a bit grimacing, don't be put off by it. The music is more about being on the receiving end of the emotion than the perpetrator. That's why this music fits so well with the anime. "The girl has a mechanical body, but she is still an adolescent child". Check out both and the door will be opened for you too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan, 31 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hate (Audio CD)
An album that intorduced me to the affects a band can have on a person. 'Peloton' looked at me, 'The Great Eastern' asked me what my favourite song was, and 'Hate' put it on the jukebox. 'Coming In From The Cold' is quite..... (O.E.D.) you will have to come up with a word. At this moment I am listening to 'If this is a Plan' and I'm enjoying it! Roll on the Lyric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 19 Mar 2003
By 
Mr. Paul J. Bradshaw (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hate (Audio CD)
Despite a Mercury Prize nomination way back when, the Delgados have been generally overlooked. But this only makes their work more precious.
'Hate' develops their fragile, often extremely catchy sound further. 'All You Need Is Hate' is that rarity: a funny pop song; Coming In From The Cold is one of their best songs ever; 'Favour' and many others have you singing along from the first listen.
Some of this album takes more than one listen, but still a worthy release from a gem of a band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overarranged, 27 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: Hate (Audio CD)
How can you ruin a great collection of songs? You drown them in chaos, with noisy strings and overflowed orchestration. The Delgados have written their best and saddest songs ever, full of pure anger and grief, and they manage to deliver them with full impact on occasions when the arrangements stay sparse, like in "Woke from dreaming" (their best song yet) or "Child Killers". Elsewhere, it's like looking at a beautiful face filled with scars: you'll just have to imagine the beauty through the stitches. A sonic overload for a full orchestra that seems to be exploding at every second: guess even Fridmann couldn't do much to improve it. Still, "Woke from dreaming" is pure poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hate
Hate by Delgados (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews