Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A folk masterpiece
This is a great album. The songs are superb and sensitively interpreted, including the French (Pauvre Ruteboeuf) and German (Sagt Mir Wo Die Blumen Sind) ones. The music is archetypal 1960s folk, whilst Satisfied Mind has a bit of a country feel with its lovely mandolin. There are songs by Dylan, Donovan, Woody Guthrie and Pete Seeger, plus traditionals such as The Wild...
Published on 4 Mar 2005 by Pieter Uys

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Period peice
yes great album and the Dylan covers are exceptional but two songs sung in German spoil it for me (especially 'Where have all the Flowers Gone') still worthwhile!
Published 4 months ago by Richard Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A folk masterpiece, 4 Mar 2005
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Farewell Angelina: Remastered (Audio CD)
This is a great album. The songs are superb and sensitively interpreted, including the French (Pauvre Ruteboeuf) and German (Sagt Mir Wo Die Blumen Sind) ones. The music is archetypal 1960s folk, whilst Satisfied Mind has a bit of a country feel with its lovely mandolin. There are songs by Dylan, Donovan, Woody Guthrie and Pete Seeger, plus traditionals such as The Wild Mountain Thyme and The River In The Pines.
It is interesting that this kind of music flourished alongside the fast permutations of rock in that innovative decade. This album has always been a sheer pleasure to listen to, and now even more so with the addition of three tracks, of which I like One Too Many Mornings the most.
My other favourites include the magnificent Farewell Angelina, Colours, Satisfied Mind, the German version of Where Have All The Flowers Gone? and A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall. In fact this album is more varied and enjoyable than some of her later "art-song" excursions of the 1980s and early 1990s. If you're looking for great songs well-interpreted, you cannot go wrong with this album. It's a folk classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remastered masterpiece!, 17 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Farewell Angelina: Remastered (Audio CD)
A very welcome reissue of the brilliant 1965 album with three 'bonus tracks' - one of which is a real stunner.
There is little I can add to reviews of the original CD - it is of such high and consistent quality that it is actually difficult to pick favourite tracks - the variety of sources (Dylan/Trad./Guthrie/Donovan among others) is a particlur strength.
One of the 3 extra tracks (all recorded at the 'Farewell, Angelina' sessions) is an oustanding early version of Bruce Phillips' 'Rock, Salt and Nails' (a later version appeared on David's Album). Joan's voice is beautifully complemented by superb instrumentals - Langhorne on electric guitar and Rinzler on mandolin.
If you are thinking of replacing some of your old vinyls, or just fancy a fairly early Baez CD, then you can't go wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got to rank as her best ever Album, 22 Feb 2007
By 
Atha Fokias "Athas" (Leuven) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farewell Angelina: Remastered (Audio CD)
I have had this album since its original release and never got tired of its variations of themes and melodies. Some are classics by other song writers.

Listen to 'Hard Rain's are Gonna Fall'. Then listen to Dylan's original. She took an original and made it better. Not many people can do that.

The new cd is better yet. I can program the cd player to play depending mood.

Its got to rank as her best ever album but another favourite is the album 'Joan' if you are in such a protest mood; listen to Saigon Bride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 30 Sep 2008
By 
Hazel (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Farewell Angelina: Remastered (Audio CD)
I've only had this CD for about two weeks and all I can say is that it's simply amazing. It is the first Joan Baez album I've bought and it certainly won't be the last! Baez's voice, in my opinion, is pretty much flawless on all the tracks on this - she hits high notes with ease, her phrasing is wonderful and her vibrato is stunning. Her expression is excellent too, even if she does miss the sarcasm that Bob Dylan intended on songs like, "It's All Over Now, Baby Blue" (which, by the way, is actually one of my favourites on the album so far). She also covers Dylan's "Farewell, Angelina", "Satisfied Mind", "A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall" and "One Too Many Mornings" extremely effectively.

Apart from the Dylan covers, there are also Woody Guthrie, Donovan and Pete Seeger covers, as well as some more traditional folk songs. A particular highlight on the album is a German rendition of "Where Have All The Flowers Gone?" - "Sagt Mir Wo Die Blumen Sind", which is wonderful in every sense of the word. Another of my favourites so far is, "Rock, Salt and Nails", which is sung with breathtaking expression and which has a superb instrumental backing. The other tracks on the album are by no means lacking either... actually, I'd describe them all as being at least very good, if not, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Farewell Angelina, 29 Jun 2011
This review is from: Farewell Angelina: Remastered (Audio CD)
Wonderful cd, very well remastered. I was worried that it would not reflect the original very well, but I'm glad to say - it's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Farewell Angelina by Joan Baez, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farewell Angelina: Remastered (Audio CD)
Though the case was chipped the contents were fine. Superior sleeve notes to the original and three bonus tracks made me glad I have this over the original cassette tape which somehow disappeared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely to hear this again., 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farewell Angelina: Remastered (Audio CD)
I was a child when my dad brought this wonderful album home from America. Joan Baez sings Bob Dylan with what sounds like amplified acoustic guitars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joan Baez - wonderful folk singer, 25 Feb 2010
By 
R. Wood "reader-writer" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farewell Angelina: Remastered (Audio CD)
Farewell Angelina is one of Joan Baez wonderful albums of the 1960s. Don't bother listening if you're gung-ho for our brave boys in Afghanistan. Joan was one of the leader's of the protest movement against the USA's war in Vietnam. Stories of her courage at a time when anti-war protest was not popular are inspiring.
The lyrics for five of the songs on ths album were written by Bob Dylan. Joan is associated with him in many people's minds. He has that unique growly monotonous style. By comparison Joan is up front. She puts her energy into her work. Her voice is sweet and melodious.
So there you have it: songs packed with anti-war symbolism beautifully sung by a militant pacifist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the 60s, 21 April 2009
By 
Puzzler (Shrewsbury, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Farewell Angelina: Remastered (Audio CD)
The tracks on this CD seem like old friends and the sound of Joan Baez conjures up so many memories of events at the time that that I first heard them as a student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baezt, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farewell Angelina: Remastered (Audio CD)
Timeless ,Joan Baez is the coolest thing in the singing world,and this is a album any serious music buff needs in there collection,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Farewell Angelina: Remastered
Farewell Angelina: Remastered by Joan Baez (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews