Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD set
I too agree that the 'one star' reviews are very unfair. Most fans would not expect this set to have included the 68 special and therefore would not have found the wording on the packaging in the least bit misleading. This is worth adding to the collection not for Elvis performances, but for the huge wealth of information presented on the man from those close to him...
Published on 9 Mar 2004 by ajpinuk

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intersting
If you are after elvis' friends and family talking about the kings life from birth to death then this is your dvd, but if you are after perfomances from the king him self then don't buy it because the perfomances are few and far between. I gave this dvd 3 stars because the information you get from elvis' friends and family is at times interesting, but don't get your hopes...
Published on 10 Sep 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intersting, 10 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis Presley - Elvis: The Ultimate Collection (2 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
If you are after elvis' friends and family talking about the kings life from birth to death then this is your dvd, but if you are after perfomances from the king him self then don't buy it because the perfomances are few and far between. I gave this dvd 3 stars because the information you get from elvis' friends and family is at times interesting, but don't get your hopes up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money on this, 18 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis Presley - Elvis: The Ultimate Collection (2 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The write up on the box of this DVD is totally misleading, it is merely a collection of stills and short clips, all narrated over. There is virtually nothing of the music of Elvis, just voice overs from the same old cast of old girlfriends, band members etc. Such a dissappointment I returned it to the shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD set, 9 Mar 2004
This review is from: Elvis Presley - Elvis: The Ultimate Collection (2 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I too agree that the 'one star' reviews are very unfair. Most fans would not expect this set to have included the 68 special and therefore would not have found the wording on the packaging in the least bit misleading. This is worth adding to the collection not for Elvis performances, but for the huge wealth of information presented on the man from those close to him. Sure, some of this is well trodden ground, but there are some very interesting insights from people that are rarely heard from, such as Steve Binder (68 special director) and Dixie Locke (early girlfriend). Fans will also appreciate that the tone is generally positive - steering clear of the sensationalist angle. If you are a big Elvis fan, I would definitely recommend this as a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS - THE ULTIMATE COLLECTION, 27 Dec 2003
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST VIDEOS THAT YOU WILL EVER OWN ABOUT ELVIS PRESLEY NOT ONLY DOES IT TAKE YOU THOUGTH STAGES OF HIS LIFE AND CAREER BUT YOU ALSO GET TO KNOW ALL OF HIS FRIENDS THIS WAS MY VERY FIRST VIDEO THAT I BOUGHT ON THE KING AND I NEVER TIRE OF IT I GOT TO KNOW WHO WAS WHO AND FIND OUT THINGS ABOUT THEM AND YOU CAN SEE WHY ELVIS BEFRIENDED THEM AND KEPT THEM AROUND HIM THERE IS SO MUCH MORE TO THIS VIDEO THAT I HAVENT MENTIONED BUT YOU HAVE TO KNOW WHO SURROUNDED ELVIS TO KNOW WHAT HE WAS LIKE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this DVD, 23 Aug 2002
By 
Mrs. J. Costin (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis Presley - Elvis: The Ultimate Collection (2 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
If after reading the blub you think, as I did, that you were going to see Elvis is some of his most memorable shows, you will be bitterly disapointed. It is a monologue of some of his so called "best friends" and "ex-girlfriends" tedious memories of him, you even get exactly the same stories by the same friends a little later in the DVD, I think you probably here about two lines of a couple of songs by Elvis, the rest is boring chit chat that is not at all interesting... Do not be fooled as I was. I have only given it one star because there is no option to put nil in!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous insight, 6 Jan 2003
By 
Susie (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis Presley - Elvis: The Ultimate Collection (2 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I am a dyed in the wool Elvis fan, however by (poor long-suffering) boyfriend is not. I really enjoyed this DVD set - there are clips of Elvis's early TV appearances which I'd never seen before, and relevant interviews with the people who were around Elvis during his rise and his fame.
I found particularly interesting the Memphis Mafia interviews, a group who I'd previously considered to be nothing but hangers-on to Elvis' fame. His friends and his girlfriends all spoke of him in warm and friendly terms but gave insight to a complex, insecure, shy and conflicted individual who loved to entertain.
The renewed 'Elvis: That's the way it is' is a good contemporary view of Elvis and follows his concert preparation and performances. It complements this DVD set well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ALL TALK NO MUSIC, 30 Aug 2002
By 
ANDREW ROBINSON (BUCKLEY, FLINSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis Presley - Elvis: The Ultimate Collection (2 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
when you first read the title of this dvd i bet you'd think great i'll buy this and i'll sit in looking forward to a geat night of the best of Elvis in concert including T.V appearances and of course the famous Comeback Special which i have never seen and was one of the main reasons i bought the dvd, what a load of rubbish this dvd turned out to be 2 discs of documenteries and not one single song on any of them , a total waste of money and will not be watching it again,save your money (please someone put the COMEBACK SPECIAL ON DVD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well presented set of documentaries, 7 Sep 2002
By 
K. L. Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis Presley - Elvis: The Ultimate Collection (2 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Previous reviews I consider way unfair...this is a great set of programs, 5 in all, over 5 hours long!!!...I beleive that fans will enjoy this collection, I know I did and I'm a critical sort of guy. Sure you dont complete performances, but ELVIS fans have them all in their collection anyway, and would not want to sit through them all again this time around, instead enjoy plenty of interesting new photos, facts, interviews etc. all rounded up to make a really enjoyable two disc set, THE MEMPHIS YEARS & THE TELEVISION YEARS are a real joy. Dont be put off, if you are a real fan or a curious newcomer,this is a real bargain...the cover artwork is nicely understated and way cool!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Elvis Presley - Elvis: The Ultimate Collection (2 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
great gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not seen, 9 May 2013
By 
Lesley Hayes (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Presley - Elvis: The Ultimate Collection (2 Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
no idea what this is like - bought it for my 89 year mother and I will not be watching it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis Presley - Elvis: The Ultimate Collection (2 Disc Set) [DVD]
£3.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews