Customer Reviews


305 Reviews
5 star:
 (245)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restored my faith in SF cinema
SF Movies have suffered from a lack of style in recent years. There's only so many times you can see Bladerunner or Alien ripped off cheaply before you start to get jaded. And it doesn't help that they keep casting muscular dolts with the intellect of a plank in violent revenge fantasies that do little more than ape the "Death Wish" movies.
So it's three cheers for...
Published on 24 Feb 2003 by William Meikle

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray version is tinted green - beware.
Obviously The Matrix is a fantastic film, but this version of the film is not strictly the original - it is the version from the DVD boxed set that was released a few years ago, and all scenes set within the Matrix have been tinted green, to keep in line with the production design of the sequels.

If you were familiar with the film (i.e, you watched it many...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. L. J. O'Neill


‹ Previous | 129 30 31 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype, 13 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I came out of the cinema and demanded my money back. For me, watching Joel Silver's lame attempt to go alternative was a simple waste of money. Mind blowing FX don't convince me, neither does that same expression which Keanu Reeves has worn since 'Bill and Ted'. All in all, a disappointing film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM AND GREAT KUNG FU TOO, 30 Dec 2001
By 
Mr. J. M. Noble (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoy watching martial arts films. I have seen a lot, some poor and some good. I think this 1 is great, with 4 and a half fight scenes which are directed by Yuen-Woo Ping. The film alone is good with a complicated story about 2 different worlds. Great shhoting, great acting and great fighting. GREAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The hero all teenagers want to be, 26 Feb 2014
By 
James McDermott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Matrix (Amazon Instant Video)
Great concept, executed with quite bottom-clenchingly,juvenile plotting. A fantasizing fourteen year old's wish-list of super hero encounters, all realised with superbly wooden acting..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SFX aplenty but not much else, 'HA' the chosen one., 25 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
Action packed special effects extravaganza from the directors of 'Bound', the Wachowski brothers delivering us this, a disturbing vision of a world we either don't want too, or simply can't bare to witness. Despite the films cracking twist! the film is spoilt by what is perfect Sci-fi acting, slipping away to dire hilarity along with the films crass screenplay letting it's real stars! off course, the breakthrough visual effects and impressive cinematography steal the show. The Wachowski brothers have bombed with what is a viciouse yet dour piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, 24 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
I fell asleep the first two times I watched this film. Determined to see it properly, I forced myself to watch it all the way through the third time, and I think it is the most over-hyped film ever made. The special effects aren't really that great, merely a distraction from the terrible storyline. The kung fu may have been directed by Yuen Woo Ping, but it is still obvious that these are just actors who have never done kung fu before in their lives. The film tries to look on life in a deep, meaningful way, using Buddhist references, but it cannot disguise the thin plot and the terrible acting.
If you want to see a typical American action film with lots of guns and explosions, but no story, then this is the film for you. But if you can see past the gimmicks, you will see what a boring film this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Rubbish, 8 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
Clever special effects and stylish camera work doth not a classic make. You expect Keanu Reeves to be as wooden as a forest, capable actors such as Laurence Fishburn seem unable to do any better. The only thing worse than the acing is the dire script. This film does indeed deserve its one star: The special effects are very neat and the camera work during the action scenes is fantastic. Unfortunately it fails to be anywhere near enough to save this turkey from the slaughtering it so richly deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars l used to like it..but then l relaised how bad it is, 30 May 2010
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The Matrix has to be the biggest rip off in film-making history, their is no originality at all in this film (even Bullet Time is stupid enough to be original). They took the visual presentation of Dark City and replicated some scenes and story similarities from Mamoru Oshii's Ghost in The Shell.

The Matrix tries so hard to be philosophical and thought provoking but it fails, so what you end up with is a two hour long movie of terrible acting (how the hell does Keanu Reeves find work), crazy John woo action and movie mistakes(there is one scene where you can see the freaking camera!!)

however, l did like this film back in 1999 but when you come across some of the most understated masterpieces of sci-fi/cyberpunk movies such as Ghost in The Shell, AVALON and Dark City and then watch The Matrix you will realise how much of a joke this movie is.

if you did enjoy this film l highly reccomend Oshii's Ghost in The Shell and AVALON because The Matrix is them two films, they have something that the matrix does not have and that is soul & feeling..........and most of all no Keanu Reeves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars stylish trash, 3 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
Personally, I was deeply insulted by watching this cliched rubbish.
Basically, it's your usual moron-fodder action film, but with a token pretentious plot.
The 'trendy' music on the soundtrack, and the 'cool' clothes and plot, make it suitable for impressionable teens, but if your over the age of 19 (or have a brain) you will most likely hate this.
I feel that once the 'trecnhcoats and dark sunglasses' phase is replaced with the next short-lived fad, most will agree too.
And since when did special-effects make a film worth seeing ? I find this kind of flashy content extremely boring, myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial and unengaging, 20 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
Prepared to find this thrilling, stupifying and truly boggling, what did I get? Nada. Dull, derivative and about as exciting as watching my little brother play an arcade game. Sorry to spoil the show, wanted to be swept away by the matrix. No chance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human cattle reduced to vital energy batteries, 15 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The film is science fiction. We know every thing anbout this. The principle is simple. What we think is reality, real life, is a world of flesh and bone that is entirely controled by some matrix, some entirely mechanical principle and intelligence. Human beings are nothing but some species of mammals that are raised like cattle but they have no freedom, no control over their life, nothing at all, not even the freedom to breathe that can be denied any time without any possible protest. Against this totally inhuman world there is a resistance, a resistance of super machines that are controlled by men, of super heros and supermen who are faster than the lightning, and even the light itself, not a new species of human beings, just the good old stock that modern life and consumerism had killed. They are ready to sacrifice everything for the freedom of their human brothers and sisters. To achieve this they have special powers that have been worked into them through some mechanical procedure and mechanical device. They are human beings in feelings and courage made machine in power and velocity. Then there must be transportation channels between this resistance and the real world controlled by the machines. These transportation avenues are the information highways of the telephone and computers, in other words the Internet. And that's where the film becomes more interesting. We do not know after a while where real reality is and where virtual reality starts and ends. We have to believe that we can retain in real reality some of the capabilities we have in virtual reality, and in virtual reality some of the human sentiments and feelings we can only experience in real reality. Then the film becomes an imbroglio of various realities that are so entertwined and interlaced that we do not know any more which one has spliced into the other and which one has been spliced onto another. If you get lost in this interwoven splicing, it is the proof that this film is disquieting and should be shown to all kids in the world for them to maybe realize that the world is not what it looks like nor life what it tastes or smells like. It may stink at times, and yet that stench is just the beauty of life because if there were not bad smells we would not even know what a perfume may be.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University of Paris Dauphine & University of Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 31 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Matrix / The Matrix Revisited (Gold Edition) [DVD]
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews