Customer Reviews


347 Reviews
5 star:
 (278)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restored my faith in SF cinema
SF Movies have suffered from a lack of style in recent years. There's only so many times you can see Bladerunner or Alien ripped off cheaply before you start to get jaded. And it doesn't help that they keep casting muscular dolts with the intellect of a plank in violent revenge fantasies that do little more than ape the "Death Wish" movies.
So it's three cheers for...
Published on 24 Feb. 2003 by William Meikle

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray version is tinted green - beware.
Obviously The Matrix is a fantastic film, but this version of the film is not strictly the original - it is the version from the DVD boxed set that was released a few years ago, and all scenes set within the Matrix have been tinted green, to keep in line with the production design of the sequels.

If you were familiar with the film (i.e, you watched it many...
Published on 5 April 2013 by Mr. L. J. O'Neill


‹ Previous | 1 2 335 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Sci-fi carrying a powerful metaphor, 24 Nov. 2007
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The Matrix Trilogy, and especially the first installment, must be one of the most significant films of our time, and is likely to go down as an all time sci-fi classic along with the likes of Blade Runner. It is obviously laden with symbology fished from a variety of sources, but I wonder if the Watchowski brothers realised just exactly how powerful a metaphor for our reality they were creating.

The central premise that our lives are not 'real' but are steeped in illusion in order that our life force may be fed upon whilst we are enfenced unwittingly like cattle - this is a relevant and powerful message on many levels. It can easily be seen that this is true on a superficial level, with the rampant rise of ultra-aggressive capitalist consumerism, whereby everyone is 'sold a dream' in order to siphon off all income to profit the few, but it goes deeper than that, and can be used to catch a glimpse of some ideas on the true nature of reality. The overlap with material such as Castaneda is remarkable, with stories about the archetypal predator who is invisible, and feeds on us because he has 'given us his mind'. In all, it is a striking metaphor for the human condition.

Of course the great thing is that, even if you don't want to explore things to those levels, taken at surface value as a piece of entertainment, the Matrix is still a fantastic sci-fi/action film, with colourful characters, awesome visuals, and a solid original plotline. Taken as a trilogy, this is a fantastic piece of film-making artwork, but the first episode definitely has the lead for sheer impact and originality. Recommended to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Matrix, 16 May 2004
By 
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is successful by itself and can be viewed without the necessity to watch the whole trilogy.
The Matrix is basically a dream world, (explained in much better detail by Morpheus (Fishburne)) created by machines to control the human race. Morpheus finds what he believes is a special being, that he calls The One (Reeves). Mr Anderson or Neo as he becomes more popularly known as is stuck in the Matrix and Morpheus wants to free him. The One supposedly has the ability to change anything within the Matrix and remould it as he sees fit. The Matrix world is bound by rules but those who become 'free' are able to bend these rules if they know how much like a computer game.
The Matrix is guarded by Agents and the real world is guarded by Sentinels. The film shows the struggle between a few 'free' humans and the machines.
I have personally watched this film over 170 times (counted them and yes i'm sad but hey, it was fun ;)) and i have to say it is one of the greatest films i have ever seen. It makes you think, has a great story, doesn't have pointless sex and swearing and has some great special effects which aren't over the top, well not until the very last scene anyway ;)
The downside is that the ending feels a little rushed; the story can be very confusing if 100% of your attention isn't paid to the film and i firmly believe that Reeves wasn't the right guy to play Neo but he still does a good job, all things considered.
If you like the sci-fi genre then you'll be in for some great fun watching this title. You can follow up by watching the whole trilogy but be prepared to fix your attention to the screen if you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue purchase...., 19 Oct. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
When I finally got around to getting a DVD drive in my computer there was not question what the first DVD I was going to buy was. It's over 4 years since this film was unveiled yet I have not found a film to beat it yet, and probably won't until The Matrix - Reloaded and - Revolutions are relesed in 2003.
The special effects changed film making forever, the story, although nothing sparklingly original in sci-fi and cyberpunk circles, was carried off in such a brilliant manner it is the most convincing sci-fi film I've seen since Dune (1984, David Lynch) and the original Terminator film.
As far as the actual acting goes it did suit Keanu Reeves pretty well, although his dialog does let him down on occasions but in some ways it reflects the 'panic - I'm feeling a little lost' element of his character Neo/Thomas Anderson. The support is fantastic, Laurence Fishburne as Neo's mentor, Morpheus, and Hugo Weaving as the insidious and evil Agent Smith are supreme in their roles carrying off their dialog with great aplomb and really adding atmosphere for the film. Carrie-Anne Moss carries off her part well, being a good balance of looks and brawn. The sets and cinematography are also fantastic as are the cityscapes, provided by The City of Sydney Australia.
The choreography and action in the film is unparalleled and helped widen the appeal of what might have been a slightly cliquey film had it not been carried off right. As it is the mix of cyberpunk style black clothes, cool sunglasses (I especially liked Morpheus's clip-on-the-nose ones) and huge black boots and the Kung-Fu fighting, gun totting fight scenes as well as the now legendary bullet-time effects really make this film scream to lovers of action and sci-fi alike.
All this is capped by, one might say most importantly, a great dramatic score by Don Davis (which I have just bought the CD of) and punchy metal/punk/techo soundtrack (which I have also just bought the CD of) that really conveys the mood excellently.
All in all it is, in the truest sense, a great film. If you've got the money and you love the film buy one of the special edition double-packs with the 'Matrix - Revisited' documentary DVD in. I have not seen the documentary personally but have it on good authority that it is a really nice addition. If you have not seen the film yet and like the sound of it prepare for stomach churning edge-of-the-seat action that will have you sweating right until the final scenes.
Can't fail to get 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 10 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
If you took a film from the Terminator series and combine it with any sci-fi film you care to mention the result would be The Matrix. Not only are the special effects and direction of the action scenes stunning, but the film is bolstered with a solid script. Okay, so some of the ideas have been used before (machines taking over the world, ring any bells?) but there are some original concepts in the film, such as the spiritual element. This would normally be the kind of film that I would avoid (the prospect of Keanu Reaves and lots of senseless violence is not something that attracts me to see a movie) but it is surprisingly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, moody, gripping, questioning reality, and above all totally watchable, 15 Feb. 2015
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Now regarded as a classic SF film, and at the time it used revolutionary shooting techniques to capture the real action in multi angle ultra slow motion mingled with state-of-the-art CGI, this is one of those dark, moody, gripping, questioning-reality epics that should be a part of every SF enthusiasts collection, because most unusually Hollywood actually got it right; this is a genuine "What If?" followed through lots of twists to a believable conclusion without any silly 'get out cheats' along the way.

The acting is excellent with the characters taking on convincing lives of their own such that one forgets any previous roles or typecasting the actors might have enjoyed. The cinematography, lighting and special effects are all superb in this 2.35:1 wide-screen presentation and best seen on a larger screen, and these are fully complemented by the stunning surround sound. This film was one of the reasons I bought a 5.1 surround system, and then later upgraded to a really good system.

The extras on the DVD are excellent value and include details on the making of the film, as well as additional CDROM material for the PC.

And then while this film stands on its own as being a whole story, one needs to buy the two subsequent films (which should really be seen together, neither being a complete story) to finish the trilogy to find out what was really going on...

The Matrix Reloaded
Matrix Revolutions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP movie on many levels!, 18 Nov. 2007
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This is still my favourite movie and one that I have seen more than 10 times, as I went out and got the VHS edition back then before DVD's were in. It is a movie that can be seen on many levels. Some will see it just as a great action movie which it is, but there is so much more to this film. It is a fantastic depiction of the journey of the spiritual seeker and the difficulties that he encounters within himself as he starts pushing against the prisons of his own mind and the multitude of programs that operates and which keep us small.

It also neatly depicts the way humans are kept as 'food for the moon' in Gurdjieff's words or simply food for ultra terrestrials. In the film this is depicted as humans, being little less than cultivated biological batteries for the machines.

The story is part of a trilogy and all three parts are worth watching more than once, as you will undoubtedly see new things each time. Things that start making sense only after some time of reflection and reading. In this regard I can recommend reading the book by Ouspensky called "In Search of the Miraculous", and the book by Laura Knight-Jadczyk called "The Secret History of the World".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Movie, great features, an underground beats., 20 May 2011
By 
THIS IS A REVIEW FOR JUST THE BLURAY DISC. NO BOX SET.
NOT A REVIEW OF THE MOVIE BUT THE DISC AND ITS FEATURES.

Gonna keep this simple. An awesome buy. The movie looks killer in HD.

In terms of extra features the people behind the scenes did a great job of not only explaining HOW things were done but also WHY. Its a thoroughly interesting movie to watch with all the different commentaries. Some behind-the-scenes footage and interviews are bound to be reused but such issues are kept to a minimum on this disc. Loved listening to Don Davis (the composer) do a commentary between his instrumentals! Very impressed with that and would like to see this done more often to be honest.

The music supplied in the "MUSIC PLAYER" section was mostly enjoyable in its dark, brooding, underground kinda way. It doesn't have all the tracks from the soundtrack unfortunately (I noticed that Spybreak'd and another favourite track were missing). I'm slightly disappointed that a separate data disk with the tracks in mp3 format was not provided. Failing that at least an opportunity to download the tracks in some way would have been a sensible proposition. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome quality, 14 April 2009
This blu ray disc is great... I didn't ordered the complete package because I liked only the first movie.
The quality of the image is awesome and the sound is great.
Buy this blu ray... you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 2 July 2009
Upgrading my old DVDs to Blu-Ray is proving to be an expensive task...however thoroughly worth it for the Matrix and I'd recommend it to anyone also going through this "refresh" of the classics.

The quality totally blew me away - it felt like watching it for the first time all over again. The action scenes were very crisp and I was pleased to find that the special effects still stood up under the blu-ray magnifying glass. Great price too - highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 out of 100!, 7 Dec. 2003
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Someone once asked me how I could watch The Matrix so many times and why I haven't got bored of it.
She couldn't understand, mainly because she has only seen about 3 min of the film but my answer was "It'll never bore me because everytime you watch it you learn or notice something new". That is it.
The Matrix is such a delicious movie that leaves you wanting more and more and the more you get the more you love it. I have probably seen the film about 20 times since watching it for the first time last May. The special effects are mind blowing (and in my opinion better that Reloaded and Revolutions), the story is unforgetable, the outfits are cool as ice, and the music rocks (I've also got the soundtrack).
My fave character has to be Trinity because she is so independant and single minded. She is also so bloody lucky to snog Keanu.
They can make as many sequels as they want but nothing can compare to The Matrix chapter 1. It is The One movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 335 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Matrix / The Matrix Revisited (Gold Edition) [DVD]
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews