Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Vampire Movies EVER!
I saw this years ago late one night as a teen and absolutely loved it. Up until then I had thought The Lost Boys was one the gems of 80s vampire flicks but when I saw this I realised how wrong I was.

Don't get me wrong Lost Boys is great but Near Dark is exactly that, dark. It doesn't have any of the hollywood gloss that some movies have, it strips the genre...
Published on 5 Jun 2009 by Bookmyster81

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine, if you just want the film.
As much as I love this film, and considered the transfer to be excellent, this disc seriously lacks special features, and even subtitles.

My DVD copy has:-
Living in Darkness' - a 47 minute documentary featuring interviews with the stars and the producers and director
Deleted scene with commentary, Theatrical trailers, Original storyboards, Poster and...
Published 18 months ago by R. J. Seeley


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Vampire Movies EVER!, 5 Jun 2009
By 
Bookmyster81 (london, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Dark [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I saw this years ago late one night as a teen and absolutely loved it. Up until then I had thought The Lost Boys was one the gems of 80s vampire flicks but when I saw this I realised how wrong I was.

Don't get me wrong Lost Boys is great but Near Dark is exactly that, dark. It doesn't have any of the hollywood gloss that some movies have, it strips the genre down to it's bare bones and shows a brutal but still likeable side of life as a vampire. It isnt some big budget affair with tons of effects but that's what makes it so great. It has humour, atmosphere and a good dose of violence for good measure but it isn't over the top and fits in with who the characters are. The scene in the bar is one of my favourites...If you love vampires you will love this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine, if you just want the film., 21 Mar 2013
By 
R. J. Seeley "nephilimbabe" (Luton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Near Dark [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As much as I love this film, and considered the transfer to be excellent, this disc seriously lacks special features, and even subtitles.

My DVD copy has:-
Living in Darkness' - a 47 minute documentary featuring interviews with the stars and the producers and director
Deleted scene with commentary, Theatrical trailers, Original storyboards, Poster and still gallery, Behind-the-scenes still gallery, Talent bios and DVD ROM: original screenplay and screen savers.

So why were these not available via the new edition?

Luckily I purchased my copy very cheaply via eBay, and that's where its going straight back on! Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to the night, 7 Jun 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Near Dark [DVD] (DVD)
Katherine Bigelow reportedly wanted to create an old-fashioned Western movie... mixed with a vampire romance. The result was something that could have been a disaster.

Instead "Near Dark" is a deeply underappreciated little cult movie, which demonstrates that talent and originality in vampire movies isn't quite gone. Bigelow smoothly intertwines eerie otherworldliness with a grimy, gritty Western flavour, and spreads the resulting atmosphere over a clever, tightly-written script and some solid acting from Adrian Pasdar and Jenny Wright.

Small-town boy Caleb (Pasdar) encounters an ethereal young woman named Mae (Wright) on the street one night. They seem to be shyly hitting it off... until she bites him and leaves.

Before Caleb knows it, the sun literally causes his skin to burn, and he's been yanked into the RV of a gang of vampire drifters -- Mae among them. They're a pretty mean bunch, and even their leader Jessie Hooker (Lance Henriksen) gives him only one week to prove himself. But Caleb refuses to give in to "instinct" by drinking blood and killing his victims, which causes some problems.

Meanwhile, Caleb's father (Tim Thomerson) and the local police are searching for the missing young man -- and when Caleb manages to save the vampires from the cops, they finally accept him. But then one of them develops a crush on Caleb's kid sister Sarah, and Caleb finds himself torn between his strange new life and his family's safety. Even if he can somehow be cured of his vampirism, can he hope to destroy an entire bloodsucker gang out to kill him?

"Near Dark" is one of those cult movies that doesn't have a big enough cult -- it gets overshadowed by other 1980s vampire movies like "Interview with the Vampire" and "The Lost Boys," despite having little in common with them. The vampires in it are dirty, amoral, trashy and casually cruel as only human beings freed from mortality and law can be ("Remember that fire we started in Chicago?") -- which is an all-too-probable result if someone were to become a vampire.

And Bigelow gives the movie a unique atmosphere, setting it in the grimy, dusty small towns of Oklahoma and filling it with blood, guns and nighttime streets -- in fact if it didn't have vampires, you'd think it was a coming-of-age tale about falling in with a bad crowd. But there are also a number of sweet romantic scenes, which are all the more striking because they don't get over-the-top or cheesy.

And there's a quiet, understated visual power to Bigelow's directing style, whether it's Caleb tottering across a field with smoke pouring from his clothes, or an erotic blood-drink against a pumping oil rig on a lightning-filled night. And her script is a pretty solid one as well, with excellent dialogue ranging from the quietly beautiful ("... I'll still be here when the light from that star gets down here to earth...") to macabrely funny ("It's finger-lickin' GOOD!").

Pasdar is intense and gutsy as a nice young country boy who has the misfortune to get turned into a vampire against his will, and Wright is wispily endearing as the only vampire who sympathizes with him. Some of the supporting vampires get kind of 2-D and over-the-top at times, but Henriksen does an outstanding job as their weary, battle-scarred leader, and Joshua John Miller does a good job as a vampire trapped in a little boy's body.

"Near Dark" is a darker, grittier brand of vampire movie, and while it's blessed with solid acting, brilliant direction and snappy script, the unique slant on vampires is one of the best parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Twilight rip off the boxart makes it look.. Thank god!, 26 Dec 2012
This review is from: Near Dark [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For many this will be the perfect antidote to a certain major franchise built around vampires of the modern day. Don't be deceived by the box art, rather cynically designed to make it seem as though bears some similarities to the Twilight movies. Thankfully it does not. The vampires in this movie do not have red eyes as the box shows, neither do they twinkle in sunlight - rather they burn in a graphic and horrific fashion. As it should be. Perhaps the most important distinction is the vampires are vicious and sadistic killers worthy of the terror they have inspired down through the centuries. A fair more compelling plot in which to place a dangerous romance wouldn't you agree?

But enough of my yakkin', how about I review the movie.

The film is a simple story about a farm boy, Caleb, on the verge of manhood who meets a beautiful, mysterious girl one night. A beautiful, mysterious girl who is strangely stronger than he is and has striking fear of sunrise. A girl who bit him on the neck when they kissed... Before he knows what is happening to him, Caleb is abducted by the strange and violent family of the girl in full sight of his father and sister. What follows is a disturbing rampage across America, as the family give Caleb just five days to kill and feed on humans or die. This is one of the many clevernesses laid into the film's plot. Caleb's inability to feed on humans could read as pathetic, especially as he begins to feel ill of failing to do so very quickly. Instead it ensures our rooting interest remains with him, as more horrors unfold we feel his despair with him. The film moves at a fair pace without ever feeling too fast. I enjoyed especially the excellent make up effects and the stand out performances of pretty much the entire cast.

I was surprised by the depth of performances from Caleb's father and the great character actor Troy Evans (who sadly only has one scene). But the real stars are the menacing cast of vampires. Bill Paxton is always great, as is Lance Henriksson, and Jenette Goldstein is particularly frightening as the malicious and maternal matriarch of their peculiar family. Joshua John Miller is also noteworthy as a particularly strong performer at only 13. I thought the film was well directed especially considering the budget it was produced for. Kathryn Bigelow is known these days as action's great lady director. You can certainly see that on display here in the climax in particular. I thought the film's other real action scene was a little uninspired, but contained some great visuals all the same. Overall the script is fantastically neat, with some great dialogue and a phenomenal sense of dread as the inevitable climax builds to its suspense filled conclusion. The plot has some clever twists (I genuinely don't get to say "I didn't see that coming" much these days, but here I did). There is even some play with the vampire mythos that is actually quite intelligent. I felt the ending few minutes were a little rushed, with some characters accepting death perhaps a touch too easily. Also I felt much of the action is quite big, but the plot always feels quite small. Not a big problem though as the intimacy and claustrophobia lend the film much of its integrity, and I found the whole thing immensely satisfying. An experience I would not hesitate to recommend.

As for this blu ray. Thankfully considering Optimum couldn't really have a worse record when it comes to blu rays, they have a good transfer on show here. It's a 1080p picture with great inky blacks and vivid primary colours. Try to remember however the film is a low budget 1980's thriller set mostly at night. Eye watering detail is not abundant, and some errant DNR is present. But the detail is still leaps and bounds stronger than previous home video releases and there's a lovely, healthy layer of grain throughout the film. The DTS HD Master Audio is superb, though like most films from this era lacks much directionality, but is astonishingly clear and precise all the same. Worth the upgrade all on its own. This blu ray would make an excellent addition to any collection and one I would highly recommend to anyone who has or has not seen it. But is an essential for fans of action, horror, the 80's, film, vampires and for human beings living, dead or undead everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, yet cunningly planned edition from producers :], 31 July 2011
By 
Mr. J. M. Zielinski "Cabal" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I mean - title says "2 disc special edition". Yet, nothing really special here. Just one 47 minutes documentary, one deleted scene, trailer - all stretched on 2nd DVD. With good compression, they'd be able to get it on one disc (as it appeared recently in Poland). Regardless, great movie, with unique atmosphere and lots of climatic scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Contender for Best Vampire Movie of All time, 10 Sep 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Near Dark [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is an extremely stylish, gripping and involving vampire/western hybrid, but it is also a romance between the two central characters, Caleb and Mae. The tale is set in the arid lands of the American Southwest. Caleb is a handsome and charming young fellow, and out on the town with his friends one night, he meets a girl named Mae. He does not know that she is a vampire, a member of a group of bloodsuckers, and that her job is to entrap men through seduction. However, Mae is actually attracted to Caleb and not faking her interest, and wounds him with a bite instead of killing him. He manages to stumble home, knowing that he is very ill, but not knowing what is wrong with him. Mae can't forget him, and despite opposition from some of her clan, the vampires admit Caleb into their ranks. They travel in a mobile home, the windows spray painted black or taped up, to protect them from sunlight. There are five vampires in the group, their leader is played by Lance Henrikson, and you get to know the characters of each of them. Each vampire has their own particular method of seduction, which is revealed as the film progresses. To test Caleb's commitment to the cause, the vampires press him to kill a victim, and this is where the film rises to a breath-taking level. There is a brilliantly staged bar scene, where the vampires attack the patrons, the style is very reminiscent of a Walter Hill movie. I won't reveal what Caleb does next, but the attraction between him and Mae burns fiercely and complicates everything. The closing sequence, when the vampires lose the protection of their mobile home, and find themselves in a final desperate attempt to escape, is beautifully shot and choreographed. This film simply oozes style, it has the feel of a Luc Besson thriller, but is in the horror genre. Each individual character is well drawn. The pacing is perfect. The film score is masterful. The scenes of horror are appropriately graphic without being gratuitous or offensive. I've enjoyed watching this movie several times over the years, and the Blu Ray transfer is a good one. When I think of other vampire films, whether it be the Blade series, or the Twilight movies, etc, none of them can hold a candle to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unnatural Born Killers, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Jack Heslop - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Dark [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
A strange, sombre film, there's a reason why Kathryn Bigelow's Near Dark has a cult following. It tells its linear story with strict fidelity, mixing horror, western and romantic tragedy to haunted effect. You may be surprised by how moving it is. It's not a typical 80s horror film - there's no real jump scares or busty teenagers - aiming instead for a more emotional tale which, like some of Wes Craven's best work, explores family dynamics, juxtaposing a savage, murderous unit against a traditional one.
Adrian Pasdar plays Caleb Colton, a small town farmer's son. One night he meets Mae (Jenny Wright), a young woman who claims to come from a local trailer park. She's really a vampire, and in a moment of passion bites him. As he begins to lose his humanity Mae begs her "family", a gang of fellow vampires, to let him join them. The gang's led by Jesse Hooker (Lance Henrikson) and includes his wife Diamondback (Jenette Goldstein), psychopath Severen (Bill Paxton) and Homer (Joshua Miller), a child with an older soul. Meanwhile, Caleb's dad (Tim Thomerson) and sister (Marcie Leeds) go looking for him.
What's interesting about Near Dark is that it needn't be about vampires, necessarily. It plays like a serial killer film along the lines of Badlands and Natural Born Killers, where disaffected psychos roam across a lonely world. Caleb's reluctance to kill for sustenance threatens his life while the family, except besotted Mae, tire of him. The gang, particularly its male members, are characterised as heartless sadists. Jesse's a Charles Manson-like figure and Severen's an obnoxious nutter, a role Paxton seemed to specialise in during this phase of his career (see also: Aliens and Predator 2). The most intriguing character is Homer, whose torment is that he's a boy with a man's needs. Diamondback serves as his mother, but what he desperately wants isn't a parent but a mate. The idea that while physically you don't age your personality does is one I hadn't seen before in vampire films. It's a Dorian Gray-ish conundrum. Diamondback isn't greatly distinguished, existing mostly, I think, to provide a matriarchal figure, but she still serves that purpose well.
The acting's uniformly excellent, especially from Wright and Miller. Miller makes you believe he's a man inside as opposed to just a child talking tough, while Wright is a deeply sympathetic heroine. She's sad, lost and lonely, not quite sure of herself in a life she doesn't enjoy. Caleb's clearly her salvation. Their love story's touching in a way which recent supernatural romances don't understand. They're not wealthy, beautiful, priviliged mopers who scowl and whine; they're people adrift in a strange, barbaric world, bound together by chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Near dark blu-ray : worst blu-ray I ever bought., 19 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Dark [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This blu-ray is the worst blu-ray I ever bought, and I deeply regret having bought it. Mostly all the details are blurry, even in the scenes brightly lit. All the night scenes (and there are many) are heavily posterized, like a .jpg compressed far beyond reason. Skin tones are melting before your eyes and not because of the fx, making the movie simply unwatchable because of the distraction. In comparison, the DVD picture looks grainy and slightly less detailed and contrasted on an HD screen (without any upscaling), but the skins or the shadows never show heavy posterization. The blu-ray does not include any bonuses nor even subtitles. Looks like Studio Canal Plus and Optimum (!) Home indulged themselves the luxury to disgust blu-ray buyers and missing watching their favourite movie back on a dvd-player. This is wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films Ive ever seen., 5 Mar 2007
In 1987, two vampire movies were realesed head to head. The hollywoodish, teenage-orientated Lost Boys, and the dark, romantic and scary Near Dark. In terms of box office records, The Lost Boys was the winner of the two, but to this day, Near Dark stands out as the triumphant film, becoming a horror classic that is considered one of the best horror movies ever made.

Farm boy Caleb (Adrian Pasdar) is out one night trying to get rid of his bordem where he sees and is captivated by mysterious beauty Mae (Jenny Wright). Caleb takes Jenny for a ride and when the two share a passinoate kiss, Mae bites Caleb on the neck before running off into the night. In the day, Caleb finds himself burning in the sunlight before Maes "family" of vampires appear and take Caleb hostage. Caleb, now a vampire himself, is forced into a world of violence as he tries to earn the respect of the vampires in order to be with Mae.

Near Dark boasts very fine performances. Unusally for a horror movie, the entire cast is top notch in terms of acting. Pasdar and Wright are charming in their roles of star crossed lovers Mae and Caleb, Jenette Goldstein and Lance Henriksen shine in their roles as immortal vampires, but the film belongs to Bill Paxton whose performace as sadistic vampire killer Severen is funny, scary and brutal.

Kathryn Bigelow became the first woman to ever direct a horror movie with Near Dark and although she would go on blockbusters like Point Break and K19: the Widdowmaker, Near Dark remains her finest movie, boasting a great stroyline and a refreshing revival of the vampire sub-genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 'Vampire' Movie, 2 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Near Dark [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I first heard of this movie in Empire magazine in around august and being intrigued by the excellent cast (Paxton, Henriksen, Goldstein) members from the best action movie ever, Aliens, decided to find out more.
I eventually bought it after reading many mixed Internet reviews and boy am i glad i did. This is a fantastic movie in all senses of the word. Combining action, romance and horror, as well as the western genre thrown in for good measure this movie is a pleasure to watch. Paxton and Henriksen especially, are excellent in their respective roles of Severin and Jesse, surely two of the best on screen 'vampires' ever. Paxton is hilarious and menacing and Henriksen is just utterley watchable.
The story goes as follows; Farm Boy Caleb(Adrian Pasdar), seeming fed up with countru life goes into town one night and meets up with some 'friends,' his life then changes when he sees a gorgeus girl down the street 'innocently' licking an ice cream. He approaches her and they seem to get on well, until Mae's (Jenny Wright) intentions are made clear. The dawn is rising and Caleb is refusing to take Mae home unless she kisses him, which she does as well as give him a bite on the neck. On the way home (his truck broken down) Caleb mysteriously starts burning when the sun comes up. Plus, just before he reached home he is kidnapped and subsequently meets Mae's 'family.' There the leader Jesse, his girl Diamondback, The sadistic Severin, the lovely Mae, and the childlike in appearence but very old Homer. Caleb is taken along with them and struggles to earn their trust as he wont kill people to feed, and what follows is just an excellent and intriguing journey of a movie.
Released at the same time as Lost Boys in 1987, this movie flopped, despite being the better movie. It has since become a cult classic however and thoroughly derserves its status. I hugely recommen this movie to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Near Dark [DVD] [1988] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £0.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews