Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonnes of great singles, and from a band so young
Although only in their twenties, Northern Ireland's Ash have been around for many years, and have survived hard times as well as revelling in real success, including this collection of singles. Their tracks vary quite a bit, ranging from the intense shouty Numbskull to the pop-tastic Wildsurf, the beautifully poignant Sometimes and the exhuberantly orchestral Candy...
Published on 31 Mar 2005 by Martin

versus
0 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is so groovy (not)
I liked Irish music until I heard this. Wonderful to realise there are some Irish people without a single musical note in their entire collective bodies. Tim sings up to standard and you know what that means. Buy this and suffer the pangs of Hades.
Published on 26 July 2006 by Edna Sweetlove


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonnes of great singles, and from a band so young, 31 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: Intergalactic Sonic 7"s: The Best of Ash (Audio CD)
Although only in their twenties, Northern Ireland's Ash have been around for many years, and have survived hard times as well as revelling in real success, including this collection of singles. Their tracks vary quite a bit, ranging from the intense shouty Numbskull to the pop-tastic Wildsurf, the beautifully poignant Sometimes and the exhuberantly orchestral Candy. Essentially they hinge around power-pop, with airy riffs and optimistic lyrics, mostly about love and lust. Anyone who likes Weezer or Fountains Of Wayne will love this.
Most of the tracks on here are extremely impressive - both Shining Light (a melancholic ballad which can be seen as being about love, God or drugs, depending on interpretation) and Burn Baby Burn (the ultimate in singalong rock) having won Single Of the Year awards (for the same year). Sometimes is my absolute favourite though, the sheer beauty has to be heard to be believed.
The earlier hits such as Girl From Mars and Oh Yeah have such wistful innocence and joie de vivre that it's hard not to be impressed, especially as the band wrote them while still at school. Although their Nu-Clear Sounds album wasn't as commercially successful, it supplies three great tracks here - Numbskull, Jesus Says and Wildsurf.
The second disk is superb as well, comprising some of their classic bonus tracks. They've clearly taken a lot of pride in many of these, most would be up to album standard, and several (especially The Sweetness Of Death, Nocturne and 13th Floor) could easily be hts in their own right. The Sweetness of Death is almost certainly the only song ever to make a melody out of the word 'melatonin', which has to be worth something in itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nationality doesnt matter with music, 9 Mar 2007
By 
D. Prieto "dandandan" (Bournemouth,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intergalactic Sonic 7"s: The Best of Ash (Audio CD)
In regards to the review below by Edna Sweetlove - your comments make no sense to me. If you want to criticize Ash for their music then fine, but having a go just because they dont sound "Irish" enough is ludricous and unfair. If they were from England would you be saying that they dont sound "English" enough? Ash have never set out to pander to the kind of faux Irishness that rubbish like the Coors do, and instead sound like their influences which is mainly US punk pop and classic rock.

Now whilst I admit that Ash are not one of the worlds greatest bands by any stretch of the imagination, they have nonetheless produced some corking classic singles - Kung Fu, Girl From Mars, Jack Names The Planets, Angel Interceptor, Goldfinger, Walking Barefoot, Burn Baby Burn - and seeing as this collection contains them all I will happily give this 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Ash collection, 11 May 2003
This review is from: Intergalactic Sonic 7"s: The Best of Ash (Audio CD)
Finally – a chance to have Ash’s best all on one CD! As much as I love their music, there is a tendency for Ash albums to contain a couple of dodgy tracks which always result in you pressing the skip button every so often. But a collection of all their best ends all that – there is not a single track on this album deserving of a skip. With a fantastic opening from their more recent “Burn Baby Burn”, through to the heavy “Numbskull”, this singles compilation is proof of Ash’s talent and range of sounds. The classics “Girl from Mars” and “A Life Less Ordinary” (which incidentally doesn’t feature on any other Ash album) both feature, along with a few of their really early tracks like the fantastic “Uncle Pat”, which you may not have heard if you haven’t heard their demo album. This will add to the collection of any fan and also gain them new fans along the way – if you don’t have any of the band’s material, buy this record because it will introduce you to the musical greatness that is ASH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proving Ash know how to write a great single, 24 Oct 2002
By 
alexliamw (New Haven, CT) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Intergalactic Sonic 7"s: The Best of Ash (Audio CD)
Ash have produced several fine albums now, but ultimately their real strength is singles. Ash are absolute masters at their art of creation 3-and-a-half minute slices of punk pop perfection, and there are 17 here (plus the slightly wayward steps 'Candy' and 'Uncle Pat', but you'd be hard pressed to care with the range of other singles here). From very early tracks like 'Jack Names The Planets' and 'Petrol', through the classic 'Goldfinger' (probably their very best ever) and 'Oh Yeah', right up to 'Burn Baby Burn', 'Shining Light', 'Walking Barefoot' and most recent single 'Envy', Ash have produced total quality, fun, summery tracks. Even the singles from the commercially disappointing 'Nu-Clear Sounds' sound perfect here. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how a singles compilation should be done., 12 Sep 2002
This review is from: Intergalactic Sonic 7"s: The Best of Ash (Audio CD)
I've been an Ash fan since I heard my friends band playing "Season" in high school. They'd just got the Trailer EP and I think it was around the time that Kung Fu had been released on single (the first song I learned to play on guitar) :D
I've bought every album since Trailer and be happy with what I've heard every time. Intergalactic Sonic 7s is a great compilation of each of Ash's singles from all 4 previous albums. The main selling point for me though was the Cosmic Debris bonus CD. I've only bought the odd Ash single and so I've missed out on some of their B-Side tracks. The bonus CD is packed full of 22 b-sides and rareties from their back catalogue.
The album is frankly amazing. Well produced, the songs all well written my Tim Wheeler. One thing I also liked was the fact they've used some US versions of the singles on CD1 which makes listening to old songs a new experience.
Well done Ash. This fan is still happy even after 10 years. Keep it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighting up the rock world..., 29 Sep 2002
This review is from: Intergalactic Sonic 7"s: The Best of Ash (Audio CD)
When I first heard Ash, I was listening to Shining Light on one of the local Hong Kong television stations. At the time, I had just started secondary school and I was lead on by Spice Girls and Britney Spears, but I had to gawp at the band's music. After hearing the single, I immediately became a big fan of Ash. My friends thought I was weird, suddenly transforming from a preppy popster to a rock fan but I didn't care.
A few years later, being thirteen now, I still am a big fan of Ash, who influenced me to pick up the electric guitar and drums and make a rock band. I bought this CD on the day of it's release and listened to it for hours, the fast beat of 'Kung Fu', the soothing 'Candy' and the great 'Girl from Mars' single. I strongly suggest you buy this CD, whether you love rock, pop, R&B or anything else, it's worth it.
Now I'm glad that I was watching television that night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk-pop/ anthemic masterpiece, 21 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Intergalactic Sonic 7"s: The Best of Ash (Audio CD)
There are not many bands who warrant a 'best of' collection at an average age of 25, but for Wheeler and co it seems almost overdue.
Ash's brand of exuberant, melodic punk/pop (its difficult to pigeonhole) makes for an incredible listen. From the feel good rock'n'roll riffage of 'Girl from Mars' to the love lorn splendour of 'Sometimes', the album is never samey. Wheeler pens tunes that creep inside your head and remind you of all things summer, being young and wanting sex.
'Oh Yeah', 'A life Less Ordinary', 'Goldfinger', 'Walking Barefoot' and er, practically every track demonstrates how guitar rock should be, fun and catchy, with dynamite use of the wah wah pedal!
Ash lack the self-conscious misery of so many bands, so get involved with this album, it will transform your life and all for the price of a not very good haircut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone who criticises Ash after hearing this album...., 10 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Intergalactic Sonic 7"s: The Best of Ash (Audio CD)
....cannot possibly have any taste in music.
Most of Ash's singles were excellent, energetic perfoamces, and are examples of songwriting at its best - and all 18 of them are included here (with the excellent Walking Barefoot thrown in for good measure). This definitley includes all of Ash's best songs and is a great introduction to the group for those who only know their recent stuff (it includes a great many of their brilliant early material such as Petrol, Goldfinger and Uncle Pat).
But the thing that really surprised me was the B-sides collection which makes up the second disc. A lot of the tracks can be found on the European tour version of Free All Angels, but there are a great many that have not yet been released as an album. The amazing thing about the collection is that many of these B-sides are about 20 times better than anything currently in the UK Top Twenty singles chart. Songs such as No Place to Hide and the ultimate "unrequited love" song Warmer Than Fire, plus the beautiful Nocturne really deserve a wider audience.
And that's why you should buy this album even if you've already got all of Ash's other albums (like myself).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Greatest Hits Album...and They're Still Only 24!, 15 Sep 2002
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intergalactic Sonic 7"s: The Best of Ash (Audio CD)
Whilst most of the bands of the mid-90s rock explosion seem to have lost their way in recent years (Oasis, Blur, Manic Street Preachers, Supergrass, the Bluetones, etc), Ash have steadfastly continued their tradition of releasing excellent rock/pop songs. This singles collection brings together all of their singles to date, plus excellent album track Walking Barefoot. As a bonus, at least on this initial release, a 22-song B-side collection is also included, subtitled Cosmic Debris. Not having thought of Ash as a good B-sides band before, the quality of many of these songs comes as a surprise. But the main disc is the focus of attention here and it's quality is remarkable, even for a greatest hits collection. Early efforts Jack Names the Planets, Petrol and Uncle Pat (from their first album, 1994's Trailer), though lacking the polish of later work, all show promise, but it's the four songs from the album 1977 which impress immediately (Goldfinger, Kung Fu, Oh Yeah, Girl From Mars and Angel Interceptor). Girl from Mars may be everyone's favourite Ash singalong number, but Oh Yeah is the one that really hits the spot, being Tim Wheeler's wistful yearning for that 1st love from years ago. A Life Less Ordinary follows up the first album tracks and is good, but not remarkable. Then we have the singles from the massively underrated Nu-Clear Sounds album: the US-influenced rock of Jesus Says, straightforward guitar pop of Wildsurf and hard-edged, thrash-riffed Numbskull. A shame the excellent album tracks Folk Song and I'm Gonna Fall weren't released as singles as well. Then finally the singles from last years excellent Free All Angels album: Shining Light, Burn Baby Burn, Candy, Sometimes and There's a Star. The dull Candy aside, there isn't a duff song among them (and Sometimes, Shining Light and Burn Baby Burn are borderline classics). Finally, there is new song Envy (okay, but a bit Ash-by-numbers). With the exception of Candy (a bit boring) and the primitive Uncle Pat and Jack Names the Planet, every song on here is a bona fide classic, proving that Ash know when and how to release a great single. If you are a fan of British guitar music in general, or like Feeder or Blink-182's non-crap songs, then this is simply for you. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is great!!!!, 6 Dec 2004
This review is from: Intergalactic Sonic 7"s: The Best of Ash (Audio CD)
i haven't got this album yet, although i'm hoping to get it for christmas. but i have borrowed it and it's amazing! a couple of my friends like ash and have been to see them so to find out about all the fuss i borrowed this album, and it's great! i love all the songs and it's great value for money cos you get so many tracks. if you love ash you'll love this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews