Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charlatans Live - have some respect!!!!
I have seen The Charlatans Live 3 times and they have never disappointed me! - I know many other die-hard Charlatans fans who think they are the best live act they have ever seen, so i could not disagree more with other reviews in that The Charlatans are rubbish live!!!! - You have been watching the wrong band!! - Anyway, this album is not really a true relection of how...
Published on 9 Nov. 2004 by Mr A J Claydon

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only buy to complete your collection
This is a very poorly produced CD; the sound quality is quite frankly abysmal. Both Universal and The Charlatans should be ashamed of this dire excuse for a CD, a pure money making ploy. I was at this gig in Manchester; it was fantastic but this CD in no way whatsoever does justice to the concert. The motto "if you're going to do something it's worth doing right" rings so...
Published on 14 Feb. 2003 by Flymo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charlatans Live - have some respect!!!!, 9 Nov. 2004
By 
Mr A J Claydon (Ipswich, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I have seen The Charlatans Live 3 times and they have never disappointed me! - I know many other die-hard Charlatans fans who think they are the best live act they have ever seen, so i could not disagree more with other reviews in that The Charlatans are rubbish live!!!! - You have been watching the wrong band!! - Anyway, this album is not really a true relection of how great they are live. Many Songs seem to have been recorded badly and the sound is poor, but it still finishes with the amazing 'Sposten Green'. My final point would be that arguably the greatest band ever, the Stone Roses did so few good live gigs and they were still amazing. See the Charalatans in a small venue and you will be blown away - give the boys the respect they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of The Charlatans - Live!, 22 July 2002
By 
craigk1984 "craigk1984" (Jedburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
It only seems like 5 minutes ago that Songs From The Other Side was released and along comes another Charlatans CD but the close proximity of these two cd's can be forgiven as Live It Like You Love It is great. The CD captures the Charlatans live at the Manchester Arena on the last tour and is really a greatest hits package performed live. The album contains many great numbers including One To Another, How High and of course The Only One I Know as well as newer tracks like A Man Needs To Be Told and the amazing You're So Pretty, We're So Pretty. The CD is classic Charlatans from start to finish and you can hear Tim talk to the crowd which is a welcome addition. Admittedly this album doesn't really offer anything new but it's a great package although a few great songs are missing, namely Just When You're Thinking Things Over but despite these you can't fault the performance and is a great addition to any Charlatans' fans collection if not really attracting any new fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, definitely not just for those who were there, 1 Aug. 2002
By 
Sooty (Crewkerne, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live It Like You Love It (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the back of their stunning performance supporting Oasis at Finsbury Park in 2002 and the quality of 'Melting Pot.' The songs contained in the album are very good indeed, and I can't pick a bad one from the lot. However, as so many bands have failed before, live albums are difficult to produce, and unlike albums such as Oasis's Familiar to Millions, the atmosphere of the crowd and Tim Burgess's relationship with the audience seems to have been lost somewhere. However, don't let this put you off! The album is still outstanding, and tracks like One to Another and Youre so Pretty We're so Pretty don't only just bring back so many brilliant memories from an evening in Finsbury Park but sound exceptional!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only buy to complete your collection, 14 Feb. 2003
This review is from: Live It Like You Love It (Audio CD)
This is a very poorly produced CD; the sound quality is quite frankly abysmal. Both Universal and The Charlatans should be ashamed of this dire excuse for a CD, a pure money making ploy. I was at this gig in Manchester; it was fantastic but this CD in no way whatsoever does justice to the concert. The motto "if you're going to do something it's worth doing right" rings so very true here. This CD should not have been made. The Charlatans are a quality band and their music sounds so much better than this rubbish portrays - buy a studio album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this album, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live It Like You Love It (Audio CD)
one of the best albums in my collection.not a bum track on this album could listen to it over and over.if you like the charlatans then this album is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Won't win them any new fans...., 24 July 2002
BUT WHO CARES!!!
Perennial post-madchester hangers ons, The Charlies somehow survived the hangover of the 90's to make some of the most valuable music of the late 90's and early 00's. Following up from the career peak "Wonderland" opus, this album, recorded on the subsequent tour, "Live It Like You Love It" groups together highlights frm that album, with some all time classic Charlatans songs.
Sure, you will never get the depth from a Charalatans album as you would on a Radiohead or Spiritualized CD, but thats not why you came here. You came here for some huge tunes, for Tim's ridiculous falsetto, and big organ sounds.
You came here because the Charlatans sound like home. They're like your big brothers, always reliable. And always your best mate!
The recording may sound lifeless in places, the performance not always what you'd want - but this is all about atmosphere. And if the hairs on the back of your neck don't stand on edge during the intro to Sproston Green then you're dead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yet another shocking live performance, 10 May 2003
By A Customer
After seeing the Charlatans back in the late nineties at a V festival I vowed never to see them live again - especially as I'd missed Ian brown to stand and watch them. It was quite honestly terrible.
Being a forgiving type of guy I went to this gig and am sad to say that little has changed in the last 5 years or so. The music was ok, but Tim needs to realise his limitations and stop trying to reach those high notes - cos he can't!
To bring an album out of said gig is nothing short of highway robbery - you ought to be ashamed of yourselves.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charlitans live?, 25 July 2002
This review is from: Live It Like You Love It (Audio CD)
I bought this cd after seeing the charlitans live supporting Oasis at Finsbury park in 2002. I already had 'Tellin' Stories' so I had some idea of what they were all about, but was surprised how many tunes I recognized during their performance. This recording is from a gig in Manchester in 2001. It's a very good cd, there are a lot of excellent tracks including 'Tellin Stories', 'One to Another', 'Only One I Know'... where the band excel, although there are times where they don't seem to be able to really pull off all the songs live. the cd will not suit all tastes, but certainly a good buy for fans of the group or anyone who wants something a bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live It Like You Love It
Live It Like You Love It by The Charlatans (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews