Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Beyond All Standards
Every once in a while a video game will come out and change the face of computer gaming. In 1996, the arrival of Super Mario 64 in glorious 3D became the benchmark for all consoles today. Several years later, Rockstar came back with a vengeance with Grand Theft Auto III. Not only did it transform the old Playstation game into 3D, but it gave a much bigger plot and...
Published on 27 Dec 2005 by Chris C

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The game freezes after a few minutes of playing. Won't work any further than the first mission. Disk very scratched.
Published 2 months ago by theresa


‹ Previous | 120 21 22 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Much am I Looking forward th This..., 5 Nov 2002
By 
Mr. J. Clarke (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (PS2) (Video Game)
Well, its almost upon us. When I bought my Playstation 2, I was loking forward to playing Pro Evo., and Metal Gear. But the first Grand Theft was excellent. If you haven't played it, but want to purchase Vice City, then I implore you to get it. It's not that you need to to get to know the story line its just a) you 've missed out in one of the greatest games ever, and b) you'll realise how much they've expanded the game. Come on guys, this is going to be one of the greatest gaming experiences of our lives, plus it's set in my favourite decade, the 80's. Roll on 8/11...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars game did not work,, 18 May 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
looked forward to playing on an old classic and when i received it it didnt even work, crashed straight away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., 27 Jan 2003
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (PS2) (Video Game)
GTA is truely one of the best games ever. Easy to get into, masses of variety of game play, a full 5 star game.
The sequel Vice City is frankly disappointing. It might be just my personal tastes but I just don't like the graphics, they are pink and fuzzy, the controls don't seem as responsive as before, to complete some of the missions you need luck rather than skill, the ruger and rc helicopter spring to mind.
The layout of the city seems un-realistic, dull and over-complex, also the reactions of AI characters is some what bizarre, the police don't appear to be able to climb stairs or walk round walls, yet on the open road 2 stars will get you chased like your a mass murderer. Strange.
The overall idea does seem improved, you have to work for you money in VC amd the idea of buying properties and building your empire is an intersting one. But overall the 70's feel to the game and graphics leaves me wanting to go back to the original GTA, jack the blue and white striped banshee and tear round Chinatown again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vice City- not as good as GTA3, 2 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (PS2) (Video Game)
Vice City is not as good as GTA3. You realise that from the begining. The shooting is not as good . The story is a shade crap. The vehicles handle a bit funny, a lot different from the cars in GTA3.
Rockstar have recruited well known people to voice their characters, at this rate they are going to turn into EA.
The 80's setting is a bit cheesy, i just dont like it.
Even buying properties cant make this not be boring.
San Andreas does not reach the bench mark. If vice city is half way up the bench, Gta3 is at the top. San Andreas is flat at the ground with an anchor.
Buy this if you are a die hard GTA fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good game, had problems though., 9 Aug 2009
By 
M. Slattery - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
When I had bought this game, I had thought it was going to be good. But problems did occur. When I was getting the package, it did feel like it was taking too long to get where I was, and the royal mail in my area had problems sending it, in that they could not find any stamp. When I got the game however, though it worked fine for a couple of minutes, it froze in that the disk had problems. I did ask to send it back, but had completely forgottten, so if reading this reveal, I should be half as complainful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, can get repetitive and boring, 31 Aug 2004
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (PS2) (Video Game)
GTA:Vice City is one of those games that you really want to get as all your friends have got it and because its supposed to be so wonderfully great, then you go and get it and your really excited, as you've finally got the game you've been wanting for ages. At first you can't get enough of it, and are having fun finding out all the different ways to kill the fictional characters, but once you've done that it suddenly doesn't have as much appeal as it did at first then it is a downhill run from then on.

The game somewhat lacks even a touch of realism. Sure you can kill people, so what you can do that in nearly every game now, but to be able to suddenly pull out a rocket launcher or to just happen to find a MP5 lying in some bushes and a couple of grenades down the road is just a bit to over the top in unrealism. If your a person who likes to mess about on it using cheats then you'll be quite pleased as the cheats are probably only one of the good points that this game actually has (DON'T SAVE THE GAME IF YOU HAVE CHEATS ON even if you have found hidden packages or enough money to buy a house it doesn't matter IT WILL UNFORMAT YOUR MEMORY CARD AND YOU WILL LOSE EVERYTHING that it had on it). GTA 3 is by far a lot better game than its sequel,GTA vice city is to brightly coloured and can give you a head ache straining your eyes to try and see what the gun is that your selecting over all the colours.
Other than that the game does have quite a good storyline, if you haven't already got this game then don't buy it and save your money for GTA:SAN ANDREAS as it sounds and looks a much better and superior game to others of its type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To be honest, don't bother., 30 April 2007
By 
Mr. David Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (PS2) (Video Game)
Unless you really want this game, don't bother getting it.

Reason 1: GTA San Andreas is out now? Why not get that or get ready for the PS3, Xbox 360 and PC GTA IV?

Reason 2: I just thought the gameplay was crappy. Sorry.

Anyway, the game is ok overall, but the worst of the three of PS2.

GTA III was the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 52 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ARGHHH MY EYES!, 6 Jan 2003
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (PS2) (Video Game)
PROS:
1. It's GTA - a good start
2. Nice selection of cars to drive - the motorbikes are GREAT!
3. Nice selection of weapons
4. More choice with missions
5. FANTASTIC music!
CONS:
1. The graphics are WAYYYYY to bright. OK so the 80s was the neon age (apparently) but god help me!
2. Confusing map, no obvious landmarks...
3. Very stange obsession with clothing (there's a clothing shop in the town for you to pick up golfing slacks to get into the golf club, party clothes for nightclubs etc... what is that all about?!)
4. YOU STILL DROWN IN FIVE INCHES OF WATER! STUPID, STUPID, STUPID!
5. After playing for a while I noticed that the destination indicators disappeared - bug?!
6. Bikini clad characters walking like they've soiled themselves... I think it's meant to be a sexy walk but it's not...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well its all that can be expected from a ps2, 2 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (PS2) (Video Game)
The graphics are shoddy to say the least and the storyline non-existent this all becomes evermore apparent as you play the game, you start to wonder whether just putting ure money directly down the drain would have been a quicker and more efficient way of wasting ure hard earned funds, but anyway that is enough about how badly you have wasted ure money.
The only thing that amuses me about this game is the fact that you can stab old ladies with screwdrivers oh and the disc is easy to dispose of, which helps a lot when you realised how ashamed you feel to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good game, 20 May 2004
By 
D (Ireland) - See all my reviews
I found this game generally off-putting, with it's over use of fowl language, disgusting metaphors and terrible violence towards all characters in the game.
I disliked this game to the extent that I threw it away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 120 21 22 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (PS2)
Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (PS2) by Rockstar (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews