Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, compelling debut
Popular wisdom says that Interpol are a bunch of Joy Division copyists. Popular wisdom is wrong. If we're talking influences, yes, Joy Division are there - but so are Echo and the Bunnymen, the Chameleons, Teardrop Explodes, Bauhaus and perhaps most neglected of all Magazine. These guys know their New Wave. But they haven't given us a preserved tribute - they've taken the...
Published on 11 Nov 2002 by Peter Fenelon

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And prepare to be dazzled
Forget the misleading Joy Divison comparisons, the '80s band that Interpol most closely resemble in their sound is underrated Mancunians,The Chameleons. Chilly, stabbing guitars? Check. Huge, rumbling basslines? Yep. Subtle use of synths? You got it.

The only thing missing is a really commanding vocal presence, which would make these songs even more arresting...
Published on 19 Dec 2003 by Kevin Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, compelling debut, 11 Nov 2002
By 
Peter Fenelon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turn On The Bright Lights (Audio CD)
Popular wisdom says that Interpol are a bunch of Joy Division copyists. Popular wisdom is wrong. If we're talking influences, yes, Joy Division are there - but so are Echo and the Bunnymen, the Chameleons, Teardrop Explodes, Bauhaus and perhaps most neglected of all Magazine. These guys know their New Wave. But they haven't given us a preserved tribute - they've taken the bleak, bracing vision, the wordy and intelligent lyrics and the fusion of electronics and conventional instruments in a distinctive direction themselves. Everything has been assimilated, processed, filtered through a distinctive attitude - and the result is as fresh and compelling an album as I've heard this year. Interpol conjure vast space inside their music, marrying epic guitar to rigorous, almost stifling percussion and keyboards. In the dramatic space between these, twisted lyrics have room to slide into your head.
This is powerful stuff. Occasionally, yes, I'll admit it, I find myself thinking that the ghosts of Martin Hannett and Ian Curtis must've been somewhere near the studio, but think of this as a beginning - a jumping-off point from whence Interpol will start producing music of unprecedented subtlety and power.
Low spots.... none.
High spots... "Obstacle 2" followed immediately by "Stella Was A Diver and She Was Always Down". If ever an album had a perceptible heart of darkness, these two tracks constitute one.
Remarkable, addictive, shiny, deadly, and unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interpol -, 11 Nov 2002
This review is from: Turn On The Bright Lights (Audio CD)
Interpol are at the very fore-front of the recent New York musical upsurge. With bands like the Strokes outlining their punk and new wave influences emphatically, Interpol offer a more laid back, melancholy take on this style. Filled with tuneful, brooding and stirring pieces of music, often bordering on anthemic, like 'NYC', and 'Leif Erikson' showing the spine tingling melodies that this fantastic new band are capable of producing.
As well as a definate 'new-wave' sound, Interpol recall the sound of early Suede records, and a style unarguably influenced by David Bowie. Often, especially in some of the guitar sounds, they do not sound unlike The Smiths, and with these fantastic influences, they couldn't fail to produce one of the most interesting and unique albums of the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s doom pop the way you remember it (or not), 13 Jan 2003
By 
Anthony Lynas (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turn On The Bright Lights (Audio CD)
So the New Rock Revolution, which has so far managed to effectively recycle late '60s psychedelia and blues, early '70s metal, late '70s punk and early '80s air guitar rock finally reaches the mid '80s and Joy Division, The Psychedelic Furs and Echo & the Bunnymen. Of all the UK-influenced US bands who have crashed our shores in the last 2 years, Interpol are the most English sounding and the ones with the greatest musical depth.
In terms of sound, they're closest to the Furs - although the occasional moments of light that cascaded through the Bunnymen's work are present here too, and there are nods back to the grandaddy of them all, Television as well. Yet, for all their repeated chords, strangled vocals, cymbal crashes and sudden silences, Interpol are very much their own band. They manage to sound very much like you imagined your favourite 80s bands sounded before you go back and listen to them again - only to find out that they didn't sound as good as this band do now. Their music is dynamic, heavily layered, and has genuine intelligence and depth and, like many of the best Pavement and Television tracks, their's often have occasional sounds or chords that chime through the darkness and provide a clear focal point for the apparent confusion and fear that reigns elsewhere.
The standout tracks are the opener, Untitled, with it's occasional power chord chopping through the gloom, NYC, and Stella was a diver and she was always down - but the whole album is very strong and focussed and works much better as a whole than as individual tracks. It's just a shame the excellent Specialist doesn't appear here.
Interpol are as relevant and important to the return of rock as The Strokes and The White Stripes and will be huge in the next two years - buy this record and you'll see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's up to you now, turn on the bright lights, 31 Dec 2002
This review is from: Turn On The Bright Lights (Audio CD)
The "New Rock Revolution" has brought with it no little energy, blood, sweat and toil. What it has lacked has been music of real depth. Sure, the 3 minute thrills of many of the "The" bands are exciting. But they smack you in the face. There's no follow through - nothing new to discover beyond the initial jaws dropped wow-factor. Then we have Interpol.
Interpol are a 4 piece from New York. However, they are not a garage rock band. They play music of a far more subtle nature; possibly bridging the gap between the likes of The Strokes and the Radiohead-influenced likes of Elbow and Leaves.
The opening track, Untitled, showcases their rather unique talents. A gentle lead riff plays out persuasively, before big, pounding, ponderous bass drums kick in. Over this singer Paul Banks insists "I will surprise you sometime". He already has.
Banks' voice is undeniably similar to Joy Division's Ian Curtis. It is a deep baritone, infused with longing, vulnerability and sadness. It provides the fulcrum upon which Interpol are balanced - whether during their more up-tempo moments, or their softer musings. Throughout his voice implies that there is something he's not telling us, and possibly himself.
Banks' lyrics are distinctly left-field, and full of odd obsessions ("You'll go stabbing yourself in the neck again", "The subway is a porno", "You're so cute when you're frustrated, dear. You're so cute when you're sedated"). At their best though, Banks touches on Curtis territory, and, unlike many others who have tried, doesn't get lost in self-pitying sludge. Lines such as "I can't pretend, I need to defend some part of me from you", "Heaven is never enough" and "Her rabid glow is like Braille to the night" are often lifted beyond what might be mere cliché, into something oddly moving and touching, due to the power of Banks' voice.
Bass and drums provide the music with a constant kicking, whilst the lead guitar is used to provide a warmer counter-point, in a kind of chiming Edge fuzzed-up way. If Joy Division made glacial music, then Interpol's is far less sparse and desolate, and is melting at the edges. It is also lovingly created. Parts of music which really should be choruses turn out to be simply verses, before another dazzling change happens in the music, and we're suddenly into eyes open wide, arms flung out, gorgeous choral confirmations.

Say Hello to the Angels bounces along like The Smiths on jangle-drugs. Obstacle 1 can't decide whether to be a slow, sad song, or a fast, bitter one, so it does both and then some. PDA rattles out of the cages, barely able to keep up with itself, before taking a breather and then rallying for the chorus. Obstacle 2 sways giddily along, oblivious to anyone or anything.
There are many moments of beauty that emerge gradually after repeated listens. Songs such as NYC, The New and Hands Away, which were originally lost amongst the head-down and charge nature of a lot of the album, begin to peak above the parapets, revealing themselves as tender, fragile confused moments.
The album is by no means perfect - you often get the sense of tricks being repeated towards the end of the album, no matter how good those tricks are. Yet, this still stands as perhaps the most exciting debut album of 2002. It is so far removed from its contemporaries, and the quality of the song-writing points to a very bright future for Interpol. Most importantly it contains songs that will not only punch you in the face, but will then coax you back up for more. That's what sets it apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Obstacles Here, 1 Aug 2007
By 
R. O'loghlen "Ryzla" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turn On The Bright Lights (Audio CD)
This is one of the greatest albums of the decade so far and possibly the best debut album that we will ever have the pleasure of listening to. I'm sure people have heard of Interpol by now giving their recent album 'Our love to admire' and the critically acclaimed antics.
Not to say the others aren't good(antics is a great album, and our love to admire is shaping up to be a an album of the year contender with so much advertising and uproar.) But turn on the bright lights is an album with no faults at all every song is strong and completely different.
The darkest interpol ever were and i must say more depressing than joy division and the smiths put together, but with more angst and lyrics that stay with you non stop.
I can't pick out a song that stands out as a great one as they are all great, but certain ones will really strike you hard.
Obstacle 1 has a rift you cannot forget and lyrics that make your heart break. NYC a love poem to new york about getting back on track(turning on the bright lights) but this goes further than NY city this song reaches out to anyone in the world. Say hello to the angels is their fastier rockier song with a massive bass line that hooks you into a frenzy. Roland is the rawest song on here and possibly the most simplest yet the repeated verses work so well with the tone of the music and paul banks heartbreaking voice. The darkest song on here and possibly the most depressing is The New Starting off as a droning plea to believe everything will be alright which halfway through turns into the darkest instrumental to ever be heard and lyrics that you can feel grabbing your throat that leave you speachless to how any band could've came up with such a great album not just debut.
Buy this if you appreciate great music and if you don't mind releasing a darker side to your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing debut from NY quartet, 11 Jun 2003
By 
Jay M "jay_mc" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Turn On The Bright Lights (Audio CD)
I wasn't expecting such a superb album when I bought this. All I was going on was the track 'NYC' which in my view is the weakest on the album. So, I was pleasantly surprised when I listened to it in full.
For me, this was the best album of 2002. I had been going through somewhat of an 'off' period with music, until I stumbled across this gem. Interpol are from New York, and England. Their influences can be seen through their music, Joy Division, Talking Heads, Gang of Four and a bit of Television too. But please don't let that make you think that they are just another one of these US bands who are currently ripping off past musical trends, Interpol are above all that. Whereas the likes of The Strokes, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and Scandinavians', The Hives prefer to just recycle their influences again and again, and in truth they all sound the same in the end. But Interpol sound so different to all of the other groups from the US, and Europe, out there at the moment. That's why sold this album to me the most.
The album itself is a beautifully crafted mix of powerful drums, melodic, chiming guitar lines and wonderfully deep bass playing. These are all held together magnificently by lead singer Paul Bank's great voice (a little similar to Ian Curtis too). The lyrics on certain songs are rather basic and maybe a bit silly, but for a debut album you can forgive them that.
Standout tracks include the single 'Obstacle 1' and 'Say Hello to the Angels' . I went to see them live on their first ever visit here and they played brilliantly and entertained the small but appreciative crowd. They are coming back here in August so I'll be there again, along with a bigger crowd I would imagine!
Give this a spin on your stereo, it hasn't stopped on mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year, 14 Feb 2003
This review is from: Turn On The Bright Lights (Audio CD)
This album is astounding. It's magnificent. It deserves medals. If I could have it's children I would.
I believe that this is the only album in a collection of 250 strong, which doesn't have any weak tracks. There isn't one of the 11 tracks that I would describe as merely very good. They are all fantastic. They show a musical sophistication which is extremely rare in this style of music. The rapidly developing harmonies are full of surprises, the drumming is excellent in it's subtlety, especially in 'Hands Away', the bass playing is regularly inspired and the singing is spot on.
This album needs time, however; the attraction isn't instant. I personally listened to this album a good half dozen times before I fell in love with it, so bare this in mind - give it a chance to grow.
I'm not gonna bother with comparisons as they've all been mentioned in the other reviews. It's also tricky to pick out high lights, but if pushed I'd say Obstacle 1 (tense, desperate, a stonking great chorus); PDA (see description of Obstacle 1 and add to it an absolutely gorgeous, ecstatic moment in the middle as all instruments begin to play again after all dropping out); Obstacle 2 (see Obstacle 1 and PDA (they're not samey, honest - they've just got a very distinct style)); Roland (see others); The New (calmer, slow moving, builds gradually into something magnificent); and all the other tracks too.
I'm telling you, this album is practically perfect - it's sophisticated, but still great to dance to and great to sing along to. I have listened to this album practically every day for the last four months... AND I'M STILL NOT SICK TO DEATH WITH IT, IN FACT I LOVE IT AS MUCH STILL! It's positively addictive!
Buy this album! This band deserve to be huge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing debut, 24 April 2004
This review is from: Turn On The Bright Lights (Audio CD)
This album is an incredible piece of work. I first got interested in thisband when I heard the numerous comparisons with Joy Division and they arecertainly not unwarranted. The band have a very similar sound to JoyDivision but I would say they are even better than Ian Curtis' lot! What Ialways found was lacking in Joy Division was really good melody and thatis what Interpol provide so well on tracks like NYC and Untitled. This isdefinitly a very down beat album but at the same time can be veryuplifting (the line in NYC 'It's up to me now, turn on the bright lights'is simply incredible) and this is also another bonus over Joy Division whonever really left their bleak and depressing style.
In short, if you want a simply incredible album that not only providespowerfully haunting melodies but also an amazing sense of hope, whilststill carrying the odd 'rock-out' moment, then buy this album now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what a great debut, 29 July 2005
This review is from: Turn On The Bright Lights (Audio CD)
Interpol could be well be called a "love em or hate them" band and i certainly love them.Depressing, gloomy rock yes but fantastic all the same.The sound is magnificent,the guitar playing especially.The album is very together,like all these songs are meant for this album and nothing sounds out of place.
The standouts include "untitled", "obstacle 1",the slow "nyc" and the marvellous "stella was a diver and was always down", one of the best intros ever.
The thing is you either get into this album or you don't, it's really an acquired taste but there is no denying like musically they sound fantastic, with some of the songs twisting and turning so much at times i felt like they were just showing off.
So all you can do is buy this and decide this for yourself but in my opinion they are one of the greatest bands in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing I have heard for ages.., 4 Sep 2002
By 
A. Chivers (Bexley, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turn On The Bright Lights (Audio CD)
Sounding like a refreshing dose of New York old school new wave.. this will keep the alternative fans happy for hours in their bedsits as guitars melodically sore into the world of Wire meeting Television and saying hello to Joy Division along the way..
And track 5, 'Say hello to the Angels'.. sounds like the Smiths 'this Charming Man' in parts..
Now thats high praise indeed. It's an essential album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turn On The Bright Lights
Turn On The Bright Lights by Interpol (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews