Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy this if you're a real BSouth fan
I'm a big fan of everything The Beautiful south and Housemartins have done, so bought this cd curious to hear where Heaton's music was going. It's true there are catchy songs on this album, but if you're expecting it to be another Blue is the colour or Quench, you'll be disappointed. The lyrics are great, very BS-like, as was to be expected but the quality of tune is just...
Published on 11 Mar 2004 by Mitch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
better but still missing some thing
Published 1 month ago by Sam E


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy this if you're a real BSouth fan, 11 Mar 2004
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of everything The Beautiful south and Housemartins have done, so bought this cd curious to hear where Heaton's music was going. It's true there are catchy songs on this album, but if you're expecting it to be another Blue is the colour or Quench, you'll be disappointed. The lyrics are great, very BS-like, as was to be expected but the quality of tune is just not quite the same. Most of the songs are collaberations, the best song Mitch being a Heaton/Rotheray work, just like the BS.
Having said all this the songs really are catchy, with some good rhythms and grow on you a great deal after a few playings. Mitch and Barstool are the highlights for me. I'm not so keen on the Anti- Christian 'If' or 'Poems'. Heaton likes a girl to sing with him and has three in this album, the one on Perfect Couple being very distinctive, but i'm not sure i like it.
The songs Last day blues and Real Blues are very good tracks, with Heatons trademark style. 10 lessons in love is a 'Closer than Most' style song.
Heatons voice is more often than not played through a synthesizer or other electronic device, maybe this was to disgiuse him when the album was originally released under the name Bisciut Boy. However Heatons voice is good enough to not need this treatment.
Only buy this if you're a real fan of BS, you won't be too dissapointed as it grows on you a lot. If you're more of a casual fan, you may want to litsen before buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 18 July 2002
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
The best album I own. And I own lots of albums. PDH's first solo album gets a welcome re-release. After fifteen years and thirty hit singles in the charts, it is perhaps surprising that Paul hasn't really compromised his principles, and still produces the stuff he believes in - just it seems to get better every time. This album is definitely a solo one, not quite Beautiful South and not at all Housemartins, but is a wonderfully bluesy look at everything he is known for - only it's a kind of pop-blues that draws you in and keeps you listening. The NME called Paul "best soul singer in Britain", and it's a name not mistakenly given.
The best track of the disc has been released as a single: "The Perfect Couple", a magnificent look at the life of a couple played by Paul Heaton and Sharon Eusebe as they duet back and forward, reciting many famous song-titles to describe their feelings. "Poems" is a lovely ballad about the songwriter's art, in which Paul laments (quite rightly) that the Beautiful South never quite got the recognition they deserved ("never been classed as a work of art / unlikely with the slowest of starts"). "If" is a splendidly listen to-able guitar-led rant against the vagaries of the modern church ("New roof for church whilst new houses not built / Does it rack you with guilt?"), and "Ten Lessons In Love" is a gloriously punch-the-air happy insight into one-night stands.
I really can't stress how marvellous this album is - you'll be listening to the best tracks again and again, and the very worst one is great. The best album I own - what more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PDH - Carries on Regardless!!!, 8 July 2002
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
This is a re-release. Why? Because this album deserved better than it's low key reception last year (probably because of the Biscuit Boy alias). Now, rightfully released as a Paul (d.) Heaton album, the hope is that it'll receive critical acclaim - and it really should.
One could question whether it's really a solo album - three of the 11 songs are duets! But some of Paul's best work comes out here - especially the incredibly personal POEMS -(don't sit by river, aren't there to be picked up by poets who find them on banks). This song is a real masterpiece!
Other highlights are 10 Lessons in Love, the Christian battering "If" and the catchy pop hook that is Mitch.
That fifth star was held back because the middle of the album could have been arranged better - the most similar songs are bunched together (this doesn't do those songs justice!).
But overall - if you didn't buy Fat Chance last year because you didn't know who Biscuit Boy was - It's Paul Heaton - BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
better but still missing some thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 19 April 2012
By 
Denise "Dee" (Portskewett, Wales. UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
I was looking forward to hearing this CD and I have to say, I was not disappointed. I have to admit that the first time I listened to it, I wasn't too sure, but after the second or third play - I'm hooked. Paul Heaton is very talented and he's original. If you like The Beautiful South, I promise you will love this album. Well Done Paul. You're Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amongst Heaton's best work, and I cannot understand poor reviews., 18 Nov 2009
By 
T. Gomes (Moledo Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of The Beautiful South, but when I took a look at Fat Chance on Amazon I noticed it's average review rating was 3.5. I hesitated and decided not to buy it. In fact I bought Heaton's later album, The Cross Eyed Rambler, instead of Fat Chance.

Well, I actually found The Cross Eyed Rambler reasonable, but short of The Beautiful South stuff. And then I got around to buying Fat Chance, and I found it to be an amazing album. It ranks amongst the best Beautiful South music in my view, and it is certainly superior to The Cross Eyed Rambler.

So, I just cannot understand why there are at least two poor reviews of Fat Chance here. In my view it is well worth 5 stars.

I will not say that the album is shockingly marketable or catchy. But every track is a simple joy, and the lyrics are very thought provoking and also contentious.

An amazing achievement, and I hope Heaton can return to creativity on this level in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Biscuit Boy changes back to Paul...., 4 Sep 2006
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
No surprises here with this accomplished solo effort from Mr Heaton.

Familiar themes tackled with a twist. The musical back-drop is a little more fresh than we come to expect courtesy of the talented Mescaleroes.

Stand-out tracks on here are "The Perfect Couple" which is pop perfection, "Last Day Blues" which is a perfect mid-tempo ballad which Heaton sings so beautifully and "Poems" which is rather charming.

Not a virtuoso effort but a commendale one all the same.

This is not the "difficult solo project" that band members seem to make.

And it does deserve to sell more than the 23 copies it probably sold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'm really sorry but..., 1 Nov 2002
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
For alot of people, Paul Heaton is like marmite, you either love him or you hate him. For me, he's more akin to peanut butter, leaving you incapable of speech for undeterminable periods. So why Fat Chance has ravaged his vocal so incessently is beyond me, yes it's an acquired taste, but most of his target demographic aquired it along with student cards so why the weighty production? It's not without its charm, Perfect Couple is melodious and entertaining if nothing else while 10 Lessons In Love has suspicously more groove than was ever donated by the Fatboy. the edge is still there (When they sang walk on with hope in your heart, how come we were stood on the pier?) but the music's gone to pot. Despite wise-cracking music hacks crying 'Gorillaz for yer dad' this is nothing like a direction change. If you don't already own it, for pete's sake buy 0898 or any pre-1996 Beautiful South, this is them minus Jacqui Abbott, and we all know how tough that'll be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fat Chance
Fat Chance by Paul Heaton (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews