Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let the saga continue...
I managed to get a hold of this game from the states, and there hasn't been a game that has had me this hooked since Halo.
When i bought baldurs gate: dark alliance, i was expecting somrthing like the PC version, but ended up with a gauntlet clone.
this time though, Bioware have done themselves proud. This is Baldurs Gate how it shoud have been, but with...
Published on 14 Aug 2003 by socrates2479

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WARNING 360 owners, read this before you buy!!!
first off i am a huge fan of this game, and its sequel 'KOTOR 2- the sith lords'. so this review isnt about the gameplay (which is brilliant) but the technical issues when playing on an xbox360.
lets get one thing clear, this game is not broken, but it suffers annoying emulation flaws. there are sound issues, like voices overlapping and uneven distance, like when you...
Published on 17 Sep 2012 by James Hadoken


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Xbox) (Video Game)
BOSS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Immersive, a True Gem, 21 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Xbox) (Video Game)
As a hardened Star Wars gamer I was a little daunted by the thought of a game based on "turns". As someone who never got into that type og game in the past I worried I would get bored and it would be a waste of money.....I was wrong.
The game starts with some great cinematics giving you the gist of the story and from that point on you are choosing your path (light side, dark side). Everything you do throughout the game helps to create the story.
The graphics are good and the voice acting better than a lot I have heard in the past but and the music is true to the Star Wars Saga. Also, the character development is entirely in your hands.
The only dissapointment I had was that it only took me 35 Hours to complete, that also included all the sub quests you get from talking to your crew. But saying that, you do get the choice to play again and see what would happen if you chose a different path. I played Jedi first then completed it again following the dark side (this took less time as I didn't care about my crew).
The overall feel of the game is very cinematic with a plot good enough to be a Movie with it's plot twists and even a love interest.
This game is great...Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X Box shifted Gear, 17 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Xbox) (Video Game)
I was prettty much of the opinion that the designers of XBox games had fallen asleep and were awaiting the much publicised and much 'hurry up and get it out' HALO2. I was wrong, Knights of the Old Republic is a fantastic game, filled with everything you need for a realistic playable RPG game. This game is for anyone who wants the story of Harry Potter, the interaction of Lord of the Rings and the 'shot-em up' ability of Halo all into into one. It's also for those of us who got very,very,very bored with Azurik, very, very quickly.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest star wars game ever made, 13 Nov 2003
This review is from: Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Xbox) (Video Game)
Ever played Final fantasy? Well this is that different. Instead it has plenty of action, Videos, teammates to find, Explore new planets and customise your weapons and armor. You must buy this game if you own an Xbox its like having to own Halo. This game is engrossing, it will take over your life. The graphics are excellent and the only drawback i can think of is its only one player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST RPG GAME EVER, 10 Feb 2006
By 
Conor (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Xbox) (Video Game)
OH MY GOD, this is by far one of the top star wars games ever, if you are a star wars fan and you have an Xbox you have to get this game. It has the most brilliant story to it and having the choice of weapons, armour and lightsabers etc... i would rate this ggame a million stars if i could GET THIS GAME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, but story often a little naive and unimaginative, 8 April 2007
By 
Samuel Halliday (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Xbox) (Video Game)
There are no spoilers in this review.

KOTOR is fun and the ability to finally be a Jedi (with a lightsaber!) in an RPG game is a dream come true. The standard Bioware character progression system is one of the best in the business (based on D&D).

The main storyline itself was not groundbreaking, but does have an absolutely fantastic twist in it that you'll never see coming. However, most stories are blatantly based on Star Wars movie subplots and this makes the game feel a little unimaginative in places.

The light/dark side system is very poorly executed with light/dark side points being awarded almost at random: I found myself saving the game before big decisions so that I could pick the resolution that the game deemed to be the "good" one. Checking your stats at the end of the game and seeing your "pure light side" character having maimed and destroyed over 500 people simply screams of hypocrisy. This could have been done much better.

Although the game boasts 9 support characters, only 2 or 3 of them are actually of any use... with the rest simply being comedy sidekicks or characters with only a specific use. Most of the support characters could easily have been NPCs with their missions being optional missions. And I really wish Bioware would stop forcing a romantic relationship between the lead male and female characters... they've been doing it since Baldur's Gate and it only worked there because it was such an epic game. It doesn't work every time!

The gambling mini-game is moderately interesting, but the speeder racing is a complete waste of time... given that almost everyone in the target demographic hated Episode I, especially the racing and the silly floppy water dwelling creatures, this could easily have been omitted. The space fighting mini-game was interesting the first time, but it soon lost its appeal. My conclusion on the mini-games is that they add nothing to the game experience and I can easily live without them, I would prefer that more development time had gone into further story lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essentially a linear role play game, 1 Mar 2004
This review is from: Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Xbox) (Video Game)
Unfortunately, if you are the type of person who gets sucked into hype very easily, there is more than enough hype surrounding this game to make you purchase it. It would be very easy to pick this game apart and expose its rather simple matrix but firstly lets examine what is good about it.
The game does offer an immersive storyline and a fairly expansive universe for you to play your role in. However, if you are an experienced gamer who is older than twenty you need more than this in a game (after all it is supposed to be an interactive experience - even in an RPG). This leads to the first point, the 'game' feels much more like a good star wars novel or at best a short feature film. This is because the interactive aspects of the experience lack any complexity, thought and at times feel 'spoon fed'.
The lightside/darkside element of gameplay is not as it should have been. Whilst, you can do things that will dictate your allegiance, it does not in any real sense affect the game. You just end up feeling guilty and wonderwhat would have been differen if you had chosen the other option; heres the answer: 'nothing'.
In conclusion, this is a good, immersive experience but it is not a good gaming experience; it lacks any RPG originality, any real sense of choice and for the most part feels like another tacky game exploiting the star wars name. If you are over twenty, have played any of the final fantasy series and get annoyed by overhyped games do not buy this one. One more word of advice:wait for Deus Ex: Invisible war, its better in every sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars knights of the old republic, 10 Mar 2006
This review is from: Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Xbox) (Video Game)
this is a great game some of the levels may be a bit difficult but i have this game and it is very good i spent many days on this there are great things to do build up your levels and destroy sith the only thing wrong with this game is that you can not fight u can only choose to use a special move or not.this is a very good game but if you are looking for a different star wars game the i would suggest battlefront 2 which i have also writen a review about so i would recemend that but this still is a good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It will blow you away..., 18 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Xbox) (Video Game)
True, this game will blow you away. Have you ever dreamed of living in the Star Wars universe, of having a direct effect on the galaxy? Well, step right up. This is your chance.
Set 4000 years before the Death Star, the Old Republic is in trouble. The Sith are involved in a war with the Jedi, and only you can save them. You must save the Republic, later progressing to a jedi. Then, you may use the force to aid you in your bids to save the galaxy. But, the time old question remains. Will you follow the path of a hero with the light side? Or will you fall to the dark side's lure?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars overhyped, old fashioned and poor, 4 Nov 2003
This review is from: Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Xbox) (Video Game)
Ok, firstly im big on StarWars.. ask the wife if ya don't believe me and she will give you one of them stares that says "Do not mention that name in this house"
So imagine my face when i finally get my mits on KOTOR, and then imagine my surprise at the GFX. Here i was expecting something momentous when all i got was nice but normal (this is Xbox after all, im used to good gfx)
Ok i say, GFX are not important its gameplay where its at. Im an older gamer, 35, so i know the importance of gameplay.. manic miner had gameplay, mario has gameplay as do lots more games. And i suspect some may think KOTOR has gameplay but i don't expect they will get a medal for that kind of thinking.
It is sooo old fashioned its beyond belief, lets take a battle.. there you go running round corners when all of a sudden !!! The game pauses !!! erm ok, you press a key to continue after its told you that an enemy is near.. annoying? YES! can you turn it off? YES! Thank god.
Ok ya turn that "feature" off, what next?
Well you run into battle, you lock on the nearest "victim" and then what? you turn you lightsaber around in a freestyle arc with the wicked anologue stick? NO
You run in with an amazing freestyle combo button bash? NO
What you do is either press "X" repeatedly until the guy is dead or you "build" attacks using one of the other buttons.. BUT the best bit is next, Once you have "built" your attack moves and the guy falls over in panic at your resounding attack you lock on too the guy next to him and because you've "built" up attacks it carrys the spare ones over onto him and kills him.. then the next guy.. fade to titles.
And what do you do while all this is happenning? Nothing, Squat, Squit, Zero and Zilch.. NADA!
Interesting fighting this isnt it? In a game where everyone wants to kill some rogue Darth Wannabee with his lightsaber we instead get to watch it all on our tellys.
Now i know this is an RPG, but lets face it we all want to wander round the StarWars universe then slice some wookie up and jump over to the darkside don't we? well wander you can do, the game is very big.. very very very big. But slice and Dice? No, press buttons and watch while falling asleep? YES.
The GFX jerk too, makes ya feel all PS2'y inside <groan>
If you like old fashioned RPG's then you will love this, but don't believe the hype. This game is old and its wasted on the Xbox.
Id be very surprised if most of the other "RAVE" reviews have actualy played this game and not just copied it from some magazine somewhere.
My game went back to the shop,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Xbox)
Used & New from: £10.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews