Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jedi Knight 2: Jedi Outcast - A masterpeice
Now id like to say that allthough I did give this game five stars and called it a master peice, i do have a few arguments...
1. The gameplay doesnt really pick up until you get your lightsaber, which is an imediate and noticable improvement.
2. The cutscens are, in a nutshell... crud... sorry guys, but theres always gotta be something wrong....
3. Too many...
Published on 11 Sept. 2003 by korn-dude

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast.
Bought to play and as a collectors item, the game is playable and works fine, but i payed quite enough for this game and it did not even come with a cover on the case, as it was also bought as a collectors item.
Published 12 months ago by Sophie Montgomery


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jedi Knight 2: Jedi Outcast - A masterpeice, 11 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast (GameCube) (Video Game)
Now id like to say that allthough I did give this game five stars and called it a master peice, i do have a few arguments...
1. The gameplay doesnt really pick up until you get your lightsaber, which is an imediate and noticable improvement.
2. The cutscens are, in a nutshell... crud... sorry guys, but theres always gotta be something wrong....
3. Too many Puzzles, allthough its EXTREMLY fun if you find a good Walfthrough, to shed light on otherwise long and boring paths... but remember, you should always see if YOU can finish the level before turning to a walkthrough.
Well, those are the bad points, heres a good pointor two...
1.The lightsaber makes this great game an AWESOME game, now, i used to have this on computer (till one of my ex-freinds decided to steal it and run off to britan), and i was amazed at the coolness of lighsaber and force powers in this game,(my trademark move, infact is chokeing an enemy then throwing a lightsaber at him while hes still in mid-air - v. cool)and i must say that this game continues on in that spirit, im impressed at how easy to use the controlls are on this game, Gamecube usually isnt the Best console for shooters (except for Metroid prime, duh!) but these ones tsake the cake.
3. Graphics (allthough, addmitably not excellent) are v. good, and the worlds are xcellent.... Allthough the game drops a frame or two in H U G E fights, the game useually hold together.
4. A HUGE variaty of different moves (too rival the collosal 3,000 of Enter the matrix), for instance, if there is an enemy behide you, snap back on the control stick and press attack at the same time and Kyle will stab backwards... The moves vary (once again as in ETM) with the position of you, your enemies, or your controll stick.
5. THE FORCE... Ahh, is there anything better that killing a whole room of storm troopersin one HUGE force move? Or in sending a rocket back at its originator with a flick of a wrist? pppprobably not! The Jedi fights are wonderfull to play, slowing down time to attack dark jedi with a huge jump finishing in a downward swing to cleave them in two... ahh, pinnicall gameing.
6.Authenticity. Allthough Luke and Lando havent seemed to have aged in nine years, we can overlook that, because E-V-E-R-Y Single model in this game... ahem... ROCKS!!! storm troopers rock, swamp troopers rock... to name a few...
hope you liked my review, cya!
-Haldir
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent Star Wars title, 21 Mar. 2003
By 
Richard (Wellingborough, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast (GameCube) (Video Game)
When i first started this agme i thought, what have i done, but then with more playing and fianlly getting my Jedi powers the game opened up.
It is brillent fun to have a lightsaber out fightning one person while death gripping another or fighting a proper lightsaber battle with another jedi, or even in two player.
The stroyline is good and follows on well from the one previous. The graphics are good and show the world of star wars wells, if not that the cut scenes are a bit shakey and sometimes annoying.
If you like star wars then i would buy this if not concider it but it is not a must have for all gamecube owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget poor prequels, this is how it should be done, 24 Aug. 2002
By 
K. Bourouba (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast (GameCube) (Video Game)
Right, anyone who saw the Epsiode 1 and 2 and thought, Hmmm, appears to be quite linear and boring. This game isnt. You dont need to have played the other 3 titles in the series (I know, it says Jedi Knight 2, but there are others, trust me). The force powers arent as good as before, but you get shed loads more in multiplayer. The plot is intersting, not like in Episode 2 - which was boring. Characters have depth, graphics and sound is amazing. The quality of the stormtroopers especially. Also, you will LOVE lightsabre dualling, as you attack you pull off mad combos with out any stupid button combinations, you get to cut off limbs and you sabre leaves burn mark on things like walls. As you get more powerful as a Jedi, you can do matrix style stuff like running up walls and metal flips too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games ever, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast (GameCube) (Video Game)
I have to say the gamecube has probably the greatest games in creation on it, this is one of them. Great multiplayer, amazing story. Me and my brother have played this for hours upon hours since it first came out. In fact I still play it because games today are rubbish, all they care about is the graphics.

Our favourite thing is when you push/throw beedo's off ledges into a never-ending casm, the scream they make is hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast (GameCube) (Video Game)
Bought to play and as a collectors item, the game is playable and works fine, but i payed quite enough for this game and it did not even come with a cover on the case, as it was also bought as a collectors item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Being a jedi on the gamecube., 21 Dec. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast (GameCube) (Video Game)
Ill be honest, I was properly bored a few times playing story mode on this game. If I were you i'd get Bounty hunter instead, thats amazing. Mind you, the multiplayer option on this is good so, maybe get both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So much fun!, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast (GameCube) (Video Game)
one of the best star war games, up there with battlefront, the old republic games ect. I love the lightsaber combat and as a FPS it is pretty cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast (GameCube) (Video Game)
Great game, I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jaded and Outdated would be a better sub-title, 29 Aug. 2002
By 
A. Dean - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast (GameCube) (Video Game)
I am not the hugest Star Wars fan in the world, but I enjoy its special universe enough to have really looked forward to playing this. The original Jedi Knight (itself a sequel to an ageing P.C. game entitled 'Dark Forces') was an interesting and at the time innovative adventure that filled me with confidence for this. I was to be sadly disappointed, however.
This is, to put it bluntly, a generic first-person shooter, the kind that are ten-a-penny these days. The only differences are the Star Wars setting and the small variations in play that come through use of your light saber and 'force powers'; you may for instance, come across a crate that is blocking your path. Using one of your force powers you can move it out of the way - at least, in theory. However, this only works on certain pre-designated objects and often you'll find yourself glaring with frustration at puzzles which could and should be easily solved using one of your powers.
This is one of the reasons that your progress throughout is extremely linear, having to follow but one path through the levels, usually annoyedly trying to find that one switch you missed far back. The game maps are generally very large, and are a credit to their deigners. They are, however, largely very empty and instant-death voids are prevalent, meaning that the vastness of the maps is really just an illusion. Your actual progress is very limiting.
It's not all bad, though. The stormtroopers for instance, are excellent modelled and you'll have much glee as you mow them down with your saber, and send them scattering in fear with a few well-placed explosives. Unfortunately, after you have just slaughtered your millionth stormtrooper you realise just what little variation there is in both gameplay and adversaries. Your enemies are excelellently modelled, for sure, but the more interesting ones are used far too sparingly. The weapons at your disposal are unfortunately rather boring, also; your lightsaber is tremendously good fun, this is true, but you do not obtain it until you have already ploughed through a great number of increasingly dull and samey levels.
To put it succinctly, Jedi Outcast suffers from being far too long and stretched out. The developers should be thanked for trying to provide a lasting experience, but when the gameplay is as repetitive and often simply frustrating (After your millionth find-the-door, find-the-switch, find-the-next-door puzzle, you'll really start to wonder about playing something else instead) as this is, they perhaps should not be thanked in too kindly a voice.
If you're a die-hard Star Wars fan then you'll probably be getting this anyway. For the rest of us, there are far better games of this type out there, on any system. On the Gamecube, I suggest you purchase Timesplitters 2 or wait for the forthcoming Metroid game. Unlike the excellent Rogue Leader, for instance, this is nothing but a Star Bore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JK2, 10 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast (GameCube) (Video Game)
This game is a Spectacular game, but it doesnt come without shortcomings, The first few levels are quite slow and involve a large amount of puzzle solving to get through, but once you get through these first levels and get your lightsaber and force moves, you be amazed at the gameplay.
Those of you that have played the game on PC will notice a slight change for the worse in grafics (in cutscenes and in gameplay) but other then that, there is no game like it on gamecube (except mabey Metroid Prime - Arguably the best game on GameCube to date) It boast rufly 25 levels over 8 inviroments (includeing the level from the PC demo, that was not in the PC full version)
Stunning game play but all-right graphics make this a 4 star game, note to developers - keep the cutscens the way they were in the PC version.
-Haldir
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast (GameCube)
Used & New from: £10.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews